Customer Reviews for

Smart and Sexy (Sky High Air Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Fast-Paced Romance!

I think every reader has authors whose books they really enjoy. One of those authors for me is Jill Shalvis. Not surprisingly, I read and loved her latest book, Smart and Sexy. The tone of the back cover suggested Smart and Sexy would be a light-hearted romp. It isn'...
I think every reader has authors whose books they really enjoy. One of those authors for me is Jill Shalvis. Not surprisingly, I read and loved her latest book, Smart and Sexy. The tone of the back cover suggested Smart and Sexy would be a light-hearted romp. It isn't. Instead, it's a gripping romantic suspense novel with characters who lingered in my mind long after I finished the book. Speaking of the characters, the way Shalvis sets up the situation is perfect. Noah and Bailey aren't strangers--in fact, Noah's had a weak spot for Bailey for some time. This makes it all the more believable that he would want to help with her quest. Bailey is equally drawn to Noah it is no accident that she tags along on a flight where he is the pilot. I loved Noah. He's a well-rounded character with strengths and insecurities. His connection with and protection of Bailey is wonderful to watch. Bailey is initially secretive trust comes slowly for her. The way her trust grows is realistic and compelling. These two characters generate a lot of heat together. This book includes some of the best love scenes Shalvis has written. The mystery is also excellent, and I loved that it complemented rather than overshadowed the romance. Smart and Sexy is the start of a series, and I can't wait to read the next one!

posted by Anonymous on April 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Boring

Not worth buying or even renting. I mostly just skimmed the book because it was boring and didn't interest me. I liked the idea of the plot but it just didn't connect. Also, Linda Howard's Up Close and Dangerous is a much better pilot/crash story than this. The second ...
Not worth buying or even renting. I mostly just skimmed the book because it was boring and didn't interest me. I liked the idea of the plot but it just didn't connect. Also, Linda Howard's Up Close and Dangerous is a much better pilot/crash story than this. The second one in the series is much better.

posted by 1420737 on October 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    Fun, Fast-Paced Romance!

    I think every reader has authors whose books they really enjoy. One of those authors for me is Jill Shalvis. Not surprisingly, I read and loved her latest book, Smart and Sexy. The tone of the back cover suggested Smart and Sexy would be a light-hearted romp. It isn't. Instead, it's a gripping romantic suspense novel with characters who lingered in my mind long after I finished the book. Speaking of the characters, the way Shalvis sets up the situation is perfect. Noah and Bailey aren't strangers--in fact, Noah's had a weak spot for Bailey for some time. This makes it all the more believable that he would want to help with her quest. Bailey is equally drawn to Noah it is no accident that she tags along on a flight where he is the pilot. I loved Noah. He's a well-rounded character with strengths and insecurities. His connection with and protection of Bailey is wonderful to watch. Bailey is initially secretive trust comes slowly for her. The way her trust grows is realistic and compelling. These two characters generate a lot of heat together. This book includes some of the best love scenes Shalvis has written. The mystery is also excellent, and I loved that it complemented rather than overshadowed the romance. Smart and Sexy is the start of a series, and I can't wait to read the next one!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Boring and stupid

    Sorry I wasted the money

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    Boring

    Not worth buying or even renting. I mostly just skimmed the book because it was boring and didn't interest me. I liked the idea of the plot but it just didn't connect. Also, Linda Howard's Up Close and Dangerous is a much better pilot/crash story than this. The second one in the series is much better.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a reprint of the first in the Sky High series by Jill Sh

    This is a reprint of the first in the Sky High series by Jill Shalvis which originally came out in 2007. And while you can get echoes of her now distinctive (and hilarious) voice in it, it does not come close to her more recent works in either characterization or charm.

    Part of the problem is that this is an attempt to be both a romantic suspense book and a contemporary romance. Something it doesn't quite accomplish with any real skill. In a series of madcap episodes, the hero and heroine hop in planes and fly hither and yon trying to find hidden money at the heroine's deceased husband's unfinished resort properties.

    I found the whole plot a little weird, really. Nothing made sense to me, the motivations and actions of the characters didn't match with who they were supposed to be, and other than an attraction, there didn't seem to be a lot of basis for a relationship between our hero and heroine.

    As always, I liked the secondary characters, and the potential is there for the rest of the series (which I have not yet read). This one just didn't gel for me, but given how excellent Jill's recent books have been, she may have set the bar too high.

    Review copy courtesy of the publisher

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Smart and sexy

    215 pages of hot romance. Good story and lots of laughs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Smart and Sexy by Jill SHalvis Sky High air charter company: pil

    Smart and Sexy by Jill SHalvis
    Sky High air charter company: pilots Noah Fisher, Shayne and Brody.
    Noah is just back after a 6 month hiatus and he's being held hostage and told to fly the plane to Mammoth Mountain.
    He's gotten himself into a hot sticky mess, very dangerous with the sex and the people who are chasing them to get their money from her.
    Noah tries to keep his mind on the case, not the woman who's got curves he enjoys touching and rubbing up against.
    Love the travel in this book and why they have to go to so many places.
    SO many mysteries as where things are hidden, love it! Like this series, only a few books in it and about the 3 guys life's.
    Excerpt from the next book is included.
    I received this book from The Kennsington Books in exchange for my honest review

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    A very SMART and SEXY read!

    Truly enjoyed it! I am sort of new to reading Jill Shalvis, but she hasn't let me down yet! Fun...with just that little bit of mystery to keep you reading and wanting more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    Highly Recommeded- you will enjoy

    This book is a quick read with humor as well as a fast pass.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Jill does it again!

    Smart and Sexy is hot, hot, hot. Noah and Bailey find passion in the skies. In spite of the danger following Bailey, sparks fly high. These two characters are a great love match and the secondary characters will keep you wanting more. I can't wait for their stories to unfold in the next of the series. Do yourself a favor and pick up this book today. A great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Suziewinnc

    I am about half way thur and they could have put all 100pages in 25 i dont usely stop reading a book after i start it but i believe this will be the first no story to this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    so so

    Too much lust and not enough plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    M

    Too many plot spoilers, including harriet klausner, who always ruins books with her overly excessive plot spoiler. Bn, when will you EVER get rid of this poster and delete her spoilers? She ruins every book she supposedly reviews. Please delete her posts. I am sick of her ruining books.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Another Shalvis winner

    Smart and Sexy by Jill Shalvis is all that and more. It¿s a sexy, funny and moving story that will keep you entertained. -------- Noah Fisher is finally back in the air after a tragic plane crash months ago. He is on his way to some much-needed R & R, when suddenly a gun is poking him in the back. He can¿t believe he is being highjacked. Imagine his shock when it¿s his crush Bailey Sinclair. _______ Bailey Sinclair is one desperate woman. When her no good husband gets himself killed a few months ago, he left her world in shambles. The money, everything is gone. Try telling that to his ¿investors.¿ When these goons threaten the children she teaches, Bailey will do anything even highjack a plane to find the missing money. She trusts Noah and after a bumpy start slowly tells him the truth. ________ Trying to stay one step ahead of the bad guys keeps these two on their toes. As the danger increases so does the all out chemistry between Bailey and Noah. They both have some deep trust issues from the past but what they have found is a once in a lifetime romance. _______ Smart and Sexy is a pleasure from page one. The characters feel like someone you would like to get to know. They are funny, sad, and all out hot. The romance between these two is top notch and burns up every page they are on. I couldn¿t put this book down once I started it. I can¿t wait for the other partners in Sky High Air to get their stories.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Another great read by Jill Shalvis

    It's hot, hot, hot. You can't help but love these two characters. Bailey and Noah will not disappoint you. Danger follows but love prevails. As always, her quirky characters will keep you entertained. I can't wait to follow the stories of the secondary characters in her upcoming series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    203pgs

    Enjoyed the adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Jess

    She waits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Brenda

    I got something to tell you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Anika

    Good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    To 21

    Just do it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Slave market at

    Auction res. 2!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6