Customer Reviews for

Smashed: Story of a Drunken Girlhood

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A SMASHING FEAT

What a breth of fresh air! There is nothing like the feeling of being ripped out of your day to experience a story like this. I couldn't put it down (I got caught reading at work, hunched over my desk), the writing sucks you in like a twister.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What's the big deal?

I was disappointed with this book mainly because the only consequences noted by the author are black outs no real legal, social, occupational or family consequences were experienced. In other words, nothing out of the ordinary happened to this substance abuser. I've tr...
I was disappointed with this book mainly because the only consequences noted by the author are black outs no real legal, social, occupational or family consequences were experienced. In other words, nothing out of the ordinary happened to this substance abuser. I've treated substance abusers as a professional for close to twenty years. I've seen prison, divorce, job loss, mental institutions and death. The main character in this book graduates college in four years and gets a good job in Manhattan. If the purpose of the book is to let people know that there are a lot of young people drinking and using drugs out there, then I guess it has served its purpose, but I hardly think that's news to anybody. There are a lot worse things that can happen to someone than drinking herself through college and deciding at the age of 23 that enough is enough. And the main character points out that she is not even alcoholic, so what's the point? I apologize for the apparent shoddy punctuation, but the edit feature on this program is not working correctly.

posted by Anonymous on July 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    Total denial

    Koren does a great job showing us exactly what mental and physical addiction is - and then denies she has it. What??? She researched a great deal - but included only those facts that supported her contention that she is not alcoholic. That equals bad research. She talks about her cravings and getting the shakes, but never mentions these are clear signs of physical addiction. If she took the 20 question alcoholism test HONESTLY she would have passed with flying colors!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    What's the big deal?

    I was disappointed with this book mainly because the only consequences noted by the author are black outs no real legal, social, occupational or family consequences were experienced. In other words, nothing out of the ordinary happened to this substance abuser. I've treated substance abusers as a professional for close to twenty years. I've seen prison, divorce, job loss, mental institutions and death. The main character in this book graduates college in four years and gets a good job in Manhattan. If the purpose of the book is to let people know that there are a lot of young people drinking and using drugs out there, then I guess it has served its purpose, but I hardly think that's news to anybody. There are a lot worse things that can happen to someone than drinking herself through college and deciding at the age of 23 that enough is enough. And the main character points out that she is not even alcoholic, so what's the point? I apologize for the apparent shoddy punctuation, but the edit feature on this program is not working correctly.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    I purchased this book expecting much more from the story.  From

    I purchased this book expecting much more from the story.  From the information I had heard, it was a memoir of alcoholism and the struggle to overcome addiction.  However, what I actually read was a memoir of a girl drinking in high school and college.  There was hardly any substance to the story as it simply spoke of her being drunk. While not poorly written, the book lacks the intriguing pieces necessary to keep a reader interested. Unlike what you expect from a memoir, the story did not contain any thrilling, heartbreaking, or horrifying details.  I would not recommend this book because I was completely disappointed as soon as I started it.  If you are expecting an interesting or inspirational story of a woman overcoming addiction, you will be sorely disappointed with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Ok. Not what I was expecting

    Basically just a drunk-a-log.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Okay

    I read lots of memoirs and this is nowhere close to one of the best. The author has a nice writing style and great, colorful vocabulary, but many of her stories go on too much, sometimes it seems, just so she can continue using her expansive vocab. I found it odd that she uses so much detail to explain her drunken escapades, but each time references her many blackouts...maybe she took too much liberty in adding some fictional details for dramatic effect. And many times, she would cut some of the most interesting stories short without enough detail. Odd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    eh

    Extremely uninteresting, especially as a 22 year old who has experienced a similar lifestyle. The author is not using this book to deter young girls from binge drinking (which she could never hope to accomplish anyway), but instead is attempting to brag. Her actions are unimpressive and cannot serve as an excuse for the person she is today. This book could possibly be used by parents to see what their little girls are really doing away at college.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    not worth the time or money

    She writes bits and pieces about her abuse, nothing deep, no story line, with boring experiences and then just ends the book. She's either in denial or these experiences are exaggerated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    It wasnt so good

    I thought that the main idea was good. BUt there was barely enough dialouge between other people in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    A Rich Girl's Drunkalogue

    Very disappointing - The author simply gives us an example of what can happen if you send your kid to college with too large of an expense account. Her denial of her own disease is quite disturbing I have a hard time believing that even five years from now that she will still be abstinent. A very immature, undeveloped memoir with no message of recovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    Smashed: Story of a Drunken Girlhood

    I was very excited to finally see a book out on the market that addresses alcoholism, then I read the book. Very disappointing. The author denies being an alcoholic and is quite negative about alcoholics anonymous. I consider this irresponsible to her audience, some of which may be reading her book to gain some insight and may need help. Her story is honest to a point.however I doubt the author is being honest with herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    Smashed: Story of a Drunken Girlhood

    this book reads like one big long drunkalog only there is no strength or hope. in aa we tell our stories to share our experience, strength and hope. this young lady sounds like she is in a great deal of denial. if her purpose was to help others it was not responsible to have such a negative attitude towards aa and other programs that help alcoholics get sober. I dont think she is brave at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1