Customer Reviews for

Smashed: Story of a Drunken Girlhood

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A SMASHING FEAT

What a breth of fresh air! There is nothing like the feeling of being ripped out of your day to experience a story like this. I couldn't put it down (I got caught reading at work, hunched over my desk), the writing sucks you in like a twister.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What's the big deal?

I was disappointed with this book mainly because the only consequences noted by the author are black outs no real legal, social, occupational or family consequences were experienced. In other words, nothing out of the ordinary happened to this substance abuser. I've tr...
I was disappointed with this book mainly because the only consequences noted by the author are black outs no real legal, social, occupational or family consequences were experienced. In other words, nothing out of the ordinary happened to this substance abuser. I've treated substance abusers as a professional for close to twenty years. I've seen prison, divorce, job loss, mental institutions and death. The main character in this book graduates college in four years and gets a good job in Manhattan. If the purpose of the book is to let people know that there are a lot of young people drinking and using drugs out there, then I guess it has served its purpose, but I hardly think that's news to anybody. There are a lot worse things that can happen to someone than drinking herself through college and deciding at the age of 23 that enough is enough. And the main character points out that she is not even alcoholic, so what's the point? I apologize for the apparent shoddy punctuation, but the edit feature on this program is not working correctly.

posted by Anonymous on July 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Didn't knock my socks off

    If I were a school teacher, this would be a great book to make the kids read. As a 32 year old non-drinker, I was entertained at first, but by page 194, I'm over it. At this point, I give up because its starting to come across as college lecture-ish, and like the other reviewer said, there's better stuff to do. But I do think this book has a good purpose, and brings awareness to some serious problems in our society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    It was readable, but nothing super special.

    I feel like many other of the reviewers in that it seems like she is bragging. While I felt bad that she went through some difficult things, I also felt that she was asking for it. If you have time for a slow paced book based on the life of a teen/college drunk give it a ride, but other books are much more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Interesting Life

    I thought that this book was very interesting. As A college student Koren definately had an experience to write about. I would recommend this book to anyone, so maybe that they could learn from the author's mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2006

    a mom with 2 grown daughters

    my 31 year old daughter works for a non profit agency that focus on college drinking. she gave me this book to read and i was shocked at what goes on at college. i never realized just what sororities and fraternities were all about. my daughter said the book was very true to life away from home for college age girls (and boys). i was totally shocked. i am not a mom who buries her head in the sand, however, i would think twice about sending my child away to school without any knowledge of what goes on. every parent should read this book as well as the child going to college. i thought that koren came across as a poor little rich girl whose main concern was herself. i am thankful that both my daughters escaped the downward tumble that koren brags so easily about. i doubt that she will ever stay sober and hope that she gets the help she so desperately needs. a must read for any parent-a definite eye opener................

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    SMASHING

    This story is a good one. It wakes you up to the real truth about how bad teenage drinking is. I would have never known some of the things it says in this book if I would not have read it. It is a good book for a parent of a teen to read. Or make the teen read it or even better read it together. This would be a good opener for the topic of teen drinking to be brought up and discussed. I reccomend this to anyone wanting to know more about tenn alchol use or just wanting to read a true story of a girl who had a drunk ten years of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    hmmmm

    this book was over all fair. it was extreamly hard to get in to. the begining was very slow and non-entertaining. but as you get into the book it got better. all and all its a decent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    Drawn Out Maybe

    I thought this book started off wonderfully. But after page 200 you are screaming get on with it. I mean she goes on and on and on about her drinking, how it destroyed relationships, how it made her open up more to men. I think it was a good book, but maybe a little monotonous. Definitely more believable then a Million Little Pieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    Accurate - but she is in denial

    I am sorry - this girl is an alcoholic. I have been there and done that - I speak from the stand point of personal experience. She gave my lead. There is a difference between abuse and alcoholism - she surpassed abuse. The point should be that alcoholism can affect anyone - young, old, smart, in college, on the streets. I was just like her. I too feel sad for her, because I doubt seriously that she will maintain her dry spell without help for the disease of alcoholism which is a physical, mental, and emotional disease. Drinking is only a symptom - take away the alcohol and your left with an insecure dry alcoholic that doesn't know how to function. She even talks about not knowing how to live. That cannot sustain a person for ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1