Customer Reviews for

Smells Like Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Delightful

This is the story of two outcasts - Homer Pudding, a friendless boy who reads maps and wants to be a famous treasure hunter, and Dog, a dog who can't smell. Together they set out on a wild adventure, at the core of which is a heartwarming and funny story of courage and ...
This is the story of two outcasts - Homer Pudding, a friendless boy who reads maps and wants to be a famous treasure hunter, and Dog, a dog who can't smell. Together they set out on a wild adventure, at the core of which is a heartwarming and funny story of courage and friendship. Like Selfors's other stories, this one is sure to please fans of Roald Dahl.

posted by GwendolynRR on February 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!!!!!!

All of my friends and i read tjis book and agreed it was the best book we ever read.there is lots of suspiton and mystery.you learb that some people that you would have trusted were the bad guys. A tail-wagging tale for readers of all ages. - k8

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    Delightful

    This is the story of two outcasts - Homer Pudding, a friendless boy who reads maps and wants to be a famous treasure hunter, and Dog, a dog who can't smell. Together they set out on a wild adventure, at the core of which is a heartwarming and funny story of courage and friendship. Like Selfors's other stories, this one is sure to please fans of Roald Dahl.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Best book in the world

    You have to read it you can never put the book down it keeps u scared on every page

    Love it!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    I love this book!!!!!!!

    This bookis amazing. I read he second book first. (Dont know why) Smells like treasure is the second book and it is my favorite book of all time. Both books are more then worth its money. Homer and his dog Dog are really funny and they go on amazing adventures.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Awesome

    This is the best book ive ever read

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Love this book

    Got this book and i couldnt stop reading!! I have this book at home but im still going to get a free sample on this!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    One of the best

    This one of the best books i have ever read. Trut me this book is awesome.
    -June

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    AWESOME: )

    I love this book.Hi my name is Emma and I'm 10 going on11. My teacher assigned this book to the class and we had one week to finish it and I did it in TWO DAYS!!!!!!!! It is sooo saspenceful . But it's a great book for my age group: )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Books graet Thebooks great anser to looks great... thebooks great

    Awesome book please dont go elmo on me

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is the best book I've ever read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I <3 this sooooooo much!

    Iwould really rate this 1,00000000 stars. This book is about a normal farm boy who finds a task to do. It is a good book for a 8-10 year old would read but but appropreat for any age.
    I hope this helps you
    - a friend

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    So so so so so good

    This is a great great great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!

    !I love this book its fun to read and has a happy ending like she says it does really recommend it¿

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Dancer1

    It is an awesome book!
    U r awesome for writing this book Suzane Collins!
    Who ever is reading this reviev should try 2 read this book!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Great

    Read in 45 min best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Omg i have this book

    This is one of the best books ive ever read. Thats saying alot, coming from a girl who goes to the library, like, every week. Let me tell you a little about it:













    This book is about a middle child named Homer, who lives on a farm, far away from the big city. Homers loves his uncle ( his fathers brother), and both of them share the same pasion— treasure hunting. Although Homers uncle does it professionally and lives in the big city, Homer can only dream of such things. Homer spends all the time he has to look at the maps and books about treasure hunting his uncle gave to him. Homers father discourages all those activities and thinks that living in the city is not right, and that Homer has better things to do. But everything changes when they find out that Homersuncle died, and left him nothing but the pair of shoes he was wearing the day he died, and the droopiest, strangest, most hilarious dog you can ever imagine......


    But one things for sure—this is NOT a sad dog story! :)


    I give this book a gazillion stars. Its a definite must read for all ages 8+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    BREATH IS TAKEN AWAY BY THIS MASTERPIECE!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Omg! this book is amazing!!!!! Ive read the sequal and this book and im very eagerly reading the third book smells like pirates! Suzanne selfors is a very talented author!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Mystery book

    This book is an awesome. I am 12 going on 13. This is a great mystery that i got for under $10 at our school book fair. Great mystery book. I dont ever want to put it down. I have to admit that our teacher says to finish a book in a week, but i have been reading it for at least 2 weeks. It is a little challenging but SO AMAZING!!! I want to get the next ones after this Smells like Treasure and Smells like Pirates. This is the first book( Smells like Dog). And yes they keep the dog's name Dog. At least so far!! Page 261.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Epic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Best book ever this book is for every one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Great Book

    Bought the book for my son. I read it and enjoyed it completely. Had to purchase the next books in the series to follow the adventures of the characters in the first book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    awesome

    favorite book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4