Customer Reviews for

Smile

Average Rating 5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

Raina is struggling with one specific aspect of her life... her smile. Having to get braces, she's dreading having to be a brace face, metal mouth - anything you want to label it. However, it's her smile, especially her teeth, that will haunt her all the way through mid...
Raina is struggling with one specific aspect of her life... her smile. Having to get braces, she's dreading having to be a brace face, metal mouth - anything you want to label it. However, it's her smile, especially her teeth, that will haunt her all the way through middle school and up into high school.

From having them knocked out, to wearing head gear, to even having to get a retainer with two fake front teeth. To get that perfect smile it's going to be a long journey... and a very painful one, at that.

Along the way, social problems continue to follow Raina. From crushing on a younger guy, to getting that athlete to notice her, to even standing up for herself after she's had enough of the humiliation, Raina discovers who she is, how she shouldn't change anything about herself, and that true friends would never make or put you in awkward situations.

Accompanied by colorful pictures, a cute and realistic storyline, and a main character that any person will be able to identify with, SMILE by Raina Telgemeier does one thing especially well... it makes the reader smile!

Many of us have experienced getting braces, feeling the intense pain when we want that bite of the burger we can't have just yet. Almost all of us can understand what it's like when you want to break apart from the not-so-great friends we've had. Telgemeier does a fantastic job in capturing the true essence and emotions of a person going through changes.

SMILE is one book you'll want your kids to read... and the one you'll want to read yourself!

posted by TeensReadToo on March 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

"Smile" Deserves a Slight Grin

"Smile", by Raina Telgemeier, is a graphic novel chapter-book about a girl losing her two front teeth from an accident, and living through middle and high school. I found it very realistic, and interesting how it showed (in detail) the process Raina (the main character)...
"Smile", by Raina Telgemeier, is a graphic novel chapter-book about a girl losing her two front teeth from an accident, and living through middle and high school. I found it very realistic, and interesting how it showed (in detail) the process Raina (the main character) had to go through to fix her teeth. Raina's life seems to fall around her ever since her two front teeth were busted out in 6th grade. "Smile" shows her constant struggle to "fit in" with her on-again off-again braces, colored tooth molds, retainers, and numbing Novocaine. Raina tells of her struggle with her teeth disater over the course of middle and high school, where friends are met, friends are let go, crushes are formed, and embarassing events take place. Will Raina ever learn to finally smile? I enjoyed the storyline, as it showed an uncommon story with an interesting style of telling it: through art. Overall, "Smile" was an average chick-lit book, with good parts and bad parts. I found it quite unique and interesting. Three stars.

posted by Ruza on April 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    Raina is struggling with one specific aspect of her life... her smile. Having to get braces, she's dreading having to be a brace face, metal mouth - anything you want to label it. However, it's her smile, especially her teeth, that will haunt her all the way through middle school and up into high school.

    From having them knocked out, to wearing head gear, to even having to get a retainer with two fake front teeth. To get that perfect smile it's going to be a long journey... and a very painful one, at that.

    Along the way, social problems continue to follow Raina. From crushing on a younger guy, to getting that athlete to notice her, to even standing up for herself after she's had enough of the humiliation, Raina discovers who she is, how she shouldn't change anything about herself, and that true friends would never make or put you in awkward situations.

    Accompanied by colorful pictures, a cute and realistic storyline, and a main character that any person will be able to identify with, SMILE by Raina Telgemeier does one thing especially well... it makes the reader smile!

    Many of us have experienced getting braces, feeling the intense pain when we want that bite of the burger we can't have just yet. Almost all of us can understand what it's like when you want to break apart from the not-so-great friends we've had. Telgemeier does a fantastic job in capturing the true essence and emotions of a person going through changes.

    SMILE is one book you'll want your kids to read... and the one you'll want to read yourself!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    Smile

    Smile much? Well, for Raina in this situation, not so much. Raina Telgemeier had an accident that wasn't so pleasant, and it interferes with boys, middle school, and being a teenager. Braces, head gear, and a retainer with false teeth can explain a little of the so called "solution" to her dental accident. Smiling isn't apart of her life.yet.
    The author Raina Telgemeier grew up in San Francisco then moved to New York City where she got her masters degree at The School of Viual Arts. Her comics have been nominated for the Ignatz, Cybil, and Eisner Awards. Raina's comics have been shown on the web, magazine, and more.
    I'm like Raina because we both were involved with Girl Scouts, she likes a little bit of jewelry, and hanging out with friends. I'm not sure if my braces will interfere with being in middle school as much as they did with her.
    Smile is a book that will make you want to read more because of its shocking and fascinating storyline.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    10 YEAR OLD GIRL LOVES THIS BOOK

    I have been trying to get my 10 year old daughter to read a book and she got so into this book!! This is really great and I think kids love it because of expressive pictures and a true story of the author and kids think thats pretty cool!! great book!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    It sure did make my Smile!

    I absolutely LOVED this book! If you wanna know what I did when I read it, all you have to do is read the title, Smile! I recommend this book for all kids and even teens! It is a great book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    BEST BOOK

    i think this book is great and intresting

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    I luv this book soooooo much As much as i luv justin bieber And

    I luv this book soooooo much
    As much as i luv justin bieber
    And trust me that's alot!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Masterpiece

    It's a wonderful book that you should read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    smile

    5th grader loved this book,quick read for her finished in 1 day

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    i love this book

    this was the best book in the world this my favirot and it might seem wered at first but when you get in to it you are going to love it !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    "Smile" Deserves a Slight Grin

    "Smile", by Raina Telgemeier, is a graphic novel chapter-book about a girl losing her two front teeth from an accident, and living through middle and high school. I found it very realistic, and interesting how it showed (in detail) the process Raina (the main character) had to go through to fix her teeth. Raina's life seems to fall around her ever since her two front teeth were busted out in 6th grade. "Smile" shows her constant struggle to "fit in" with her on-again off-again braces, colored tooth molds, retainers, and numbing Novocaine. Raina tells of her struggle with her teeth disater over the course of middle and high school, where friends are met, friends are let go, crushes are formed, and embarassing events take place. Will Raina ever learn to finally smile? I enjoyed the storyline, as it showed an uncommon story with an interesting style of telling it: through art. Overall, "Smile" was an average chick-lit book, with good parts and bad parts. I found it quite unique and interesting. Three stars.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    You must check this out

    This book is very awesome this acutaly a true story is was shoking read about the aciddent she got in to. This book will keep you form puting it down. This book will inspire you not to give up hope something good will come to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    you must check it out!!!!!!!!!

    I think its very eductional for kids to read and write about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    Reaaally Good!!

    I read this book in half an hour. It was really good! I like memoirs. I would request it to someone who likes "drama." It is very good, buy it! It is a comic book, so it doesn't take long to finish.(:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    LOVE IT!!!!!

    This is a great book about being brave.I love it.(so much that I have read it 5 times :))

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    Best Book!

    Best book I ever read once i started reading it I could not put it down! Ive read it over thirty times! Great book to read over and over again!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Love it

    I llove this book soo much this is so awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Smipe

    Amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    it was awesome i am speechless

    it was awesome i am speechless

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    AMAZING!!!!! Great book you can't put it down.

    AMAZING!!!!!
    Great book you can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Smile is a true story about Raina, a sixth grader, who just want

    Smile is a true story about Raina, a sixth grader, who just wants to enjoy her life as a normal teen. One night on her way home from girl scouts with her friends she trips and falls injuring her two front teeth. Now she has a long journey ahead of her evolving, surgery, braces, weird headgear and even a retainer with fake teeth. On top of all of that there is a huge earthquake, trouble with boys, and a friend that might turn out to be not so friendly. Through all of this Riana goes from little sixth grade middle school all the way to her freshman year. With all of this drama how will Riana ever survive the struggles of high school? Will she make new friends or be by herself? Will Riana ever be able to just smile again? 
    Raina Telgemeier tells her story of middle school in a great way. She has also written one other graphic novel called Drama and another series called Babysitters Club.  Raina Telgemeier doses a great job with this book because she tells her life story but adds in pictures too. This makes this book even more enjoyable and it makes it seem more comical. This keeps the readers interested throughout the whole book
    This is a great graphic novel that I defiantly enjoyed. I could really connect to Riana in this book because she went through a lot of the same problems I did in school. Having braces in middle school also really helped me to connect just what Riana was feeling throughout the book. Smile is a story for mainly teenage girls going through the same struggles in life. However many adults would enjoy this to. They might even be able to learn a little bit about the teenage life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4