Customer Reviews for

Smiles to Go

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

OMG

I loved this book and I like science so it was great! I read this book in a whole entire day. I reccomend it definetly!

posted by 15439172 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Jerry spinel is the best

If you like this book read Loser by him

posted by Anonymous on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    OMG

    I loved this book and I like science so it was great! I read this book in a whole entire day. I reccomend it definetly!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    As a long-time Jerry Spinelli fan, I was truly excited when given the chance to review his latest, SMILES TO GO. If you loved MANIC MAGEE or WRINGER, be sure to take a look at this one. <BR/><BR/>Will Tuppence is a typical freshman. He is worried about skateboarding, his annoying little sister, and hanging with his friends, Mi-Su and BT. But, as normal as that sounds, there is another side to Will. His fascination with science gives him a serious approach to life. His idea of a fun time is spending hours stargazing at faraway galaxies, and recent news that a proton can actually die has Will constantly concerned about just how long life can go on. His concern about protons becomes the underlying thought that occupies his mind as he stumbles through his freshman year. <BR/><BR/>Other things besides the proton problem are beginning to spin out of control for Will. After witnessing a secret kiss between Mi-Su and BT, he starts to wonder why he hasn't tried to kiss Mi-Su. She is suddenly looking like more than just a mere friend. Skateboarding has always provided a great release for Will until BT manages the impossible - a death-defying ride down Dead Man's Hill. How can Will even attempt to match that? There is also the constant pestering of Will's little sister, Tabby. How can he concentrate on his school work or attempt to train for the upcoming chess tournament when she's like an annoying mosquito buzzing through his life? <BR/><BR/>With SMILES TO GO, Spinelli takes his readers into the life of Will Tuppence. In his traditional straightforward style, he presents Will's challenges and triumphs in a way that left me chuckling and teary-eyed, often at the same time. I think Spinelli recognizes that his loyal fans are now a bit older and has given them a story to match their growth and maturity.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Jerry spinel is the best

    If you like this book read Loser by him

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Smiles are on me

    Jerry Spinelli, this is the best book yet! With many exciting twists and turns and true love tis book keeps you wanting more.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    WOW

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEAS GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT IS NOT A WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HECK GET IT FROM THE LIBRARY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I DONT CARE JUST READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    awesome

    i love this book! i finished it in a matter of days

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    smiles to go

    Actually more of a romance and a suspense than a children's novel. I liked that it was suspenseful. My favorite part about it is that it was detailed, especially when he talked about his skateboarding. I didn't like the end because I expected it to be more eventful. I would recommend it to preteens, especially girls. I don't think kids under 9 would like it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Hi read this review

    I love this book it doesnt have bad stuff its okay for kids 4 th grade and up i love it!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Radio rebel

    I love reading this book. I think it is the best book ever written. Thank you Jerry...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Disappointed.

    I loved all of Jerry Spinelli's books, but this one, I'm afraid, did not mirror the capture of voice the others did. It was also hard to understand through the first few chapters which was very confusing to me. Once again, I am sad to say that this book wasn't as inspiring as the others.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Boy-centric read that girls will like, too.

    Will is what they call a Renaissance man as his interests and talents are varied. He's intelligent, likes not only gazing at the stars but can also identify what he's looking at. He's also a chess wizard, a Monoply master, an anchovy pizza lover, and a true and loyal friend. He's known by classmates as the mature guy, the giver of thoughtful advice, the one blessed with a head full of common sense. Will is the guy who, when he sees his best guy friend and best gal friend kissing, worries about the guy friend's feelings because he, too, has more than friendly feelings for their gal friend. Confusing? Well, for a guy who has his future mapped out with the set precision of a map of the constellations, it's fairly mindblowing. Add in his worry about the decaying protons around and within him, the constant agitating of his little sister, Tabby, for attention and inclusion, and the way his mind can't seem to focus on anything but the girl he's known since childhood and Will's world is anything but starry. A few unprecedented freak-outs, a Monopoly showdown, and a near tragedy open Will up to the realization that he needs to open his eyes to the NOW, not the mindboggling infinity of forever. Fans of Spinnelli will not be disappointed and newcomers to his work will find the down to earth normalcy of his kids and their problems completely familiar. I'd recommend it for boy and girl readers 10-14.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Really good a must read

    I pearsonally loved there was lots of romance

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Tap or click to win a prize!

    SURPRISE! UR PRIZE IS AIR WHOOIOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Readers Weekly

    Smiles To Go is a very good book. It as a little sience mixed with a teen boys life. We highly recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    P

    Pretty good(:

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Loved it. Read why here.

    Everyone carries their own oppinions and mine is that this was a touching and cute story. Recomended to 12-14 yr olds or who ever loves to read for fun. Its a story that revolves around family and friend relationships and how nomatter how tough things get there will always be smiles to go.....
    :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    The Most Awsome Book Ever

    This book is the best of all books. Jerry Spinelli gave his fans some thinking to do to choose which book is best Stargirl or Smiles To Go.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Go jerry, go jerry!!!!!

    Keep writing jerry spinnelli!!!! Whoooo hoooo!!!!!!! Lol

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Warriorrs

    Ane the best books out there. They are

    LIKE A BAWSS

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Hannah says..............

    It was a good read. Wasnt my fav book but still its a good book. U should read it. Love ur people in VA

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6