Customer Reviews for

Smiles to Go

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

OMG

I loved this book and I like science so it was great! I read this book in a whole entire day. I reccomend it definetly!

posted by 15439172 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Jerry spinel is the best

If you like this book read Loser by him

posted by Anonymous on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Disappointed.

    I loved all of Jerry Spinelli's books, but this one, I'm afraid, did not mirror the capture of voice the others did. It was also hard to understand through the first few chapters which was very confusing to me. Once again, I am sad to say that this book wasn't as inspiring as the others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Warriorrs

    Ane the best books out there. They are

    LIKE A BAWSS

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Hannah says..............

    It was a good read. Wasnt my fav book but still its a good book. U should read it. Love ur people in VA

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Smiles To Go In Smiles to Go, by Jerry Spinelli, a science nerd

    Smiles To Go

    In Smiles to Go, by Jerry Spinelli, a science nerd, a ninth grader called Will, lives in his own world. He faces several challenges in life, like having a crush on Mi-Su, but his plan doesn’t work out that well, fights with his little sister, and worries about the protons dying. In the end, Will’s relationship changes with his sister and friends.

    The writer’s style is realistic. Two examples from the book that shows this is, “‘Daddy!’ ‘I can’t think,’ I said. ‘Focus,’ he whispered.” (pg 181) and “‘To the tournament. Saturday. I’m not ready, and I can’t get ready because of her. Maybe you can focus with all that racket, but I can’t. I’m not you. I’m not going.’” (pg 186). The four main characters are Will, who is described above, Mi-Su, who is famous, BT, who is a fun guy, and Tabby who is an annoying little sister.

    My opinion of the book is even though I liked and enjoyed reading the book, it could’ve been better. The beginning of the book could be more interesting or more fun, because I got bored when it started. However, the characters are realistic, like the behavior of the characters and the ending was good. I recommend this book to middle schoolers because they could more understand the story than those who are younger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    P

    Pretty good(:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Gp

    Great author but cheesy book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    To the one below:

    Pfft, dont we all know that???????!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Btw the book is great! READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    ??

    Is it as good as maniac magee..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ...Not My Favorite Book by Jerry Spinelli

    I selected this book because Jerry Spinelli is my favorite author. I enjoyed his other books better such as Maniac Magee and Crash. This book Smiles to Go is not the best one that he wrote to me.
    The main characters are Will, Mi-Su, BT and Tabby Will's little sister. This book is about 3 friends going through life. Will is the main character. The book started out slow for me but got better as I kept reading. I kept reading the book because I wanted to find out what happend next between Will, Mi-Su and BT.I also found his sister Tabby to be annoying and funny.
    This book is a decent read for boys ages 12-18 years old.
    -MCS age 12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1