Customer Reviews for

Smilla's Sense of Snow

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite books

Absolutely stellar writing, plot, and characters. This is one of those books that is not easy to read but impossible to put down. It is dense. The print is small and the book feels about 800 pages in length, but it is so good, you just don't give a darn. This is literat...
Absolutely stellar writing, plot, and characters. This is one of those books that is not easy to read but impossible to put down. It is dense. The print is small and the book feels about 800 pages in length, but it is so good, you just don't give a darn. This is literature at its best in my opinion, with a unique and ambiguous plot, well developed characters, and an ambiance that no other book I have read has ever come close to matching. Best read by in winter, by candlelight, with a bottle of merlot in my humble opinion; though, I admit, I haven't tried reading it on a cruise ship. That might be nice too! :>)

posted by Ian_Mule on May 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Okay at best

Started out great but then got bogged down and too technical towards the later part. The ending was like the movie- Mission Impossible, I found it very difficult to understand what it was finally all about. It could also be due to the fact that it was a translation rath...
Started out great but then got bogged down and too technical towards the later part. The ending was like the movie- Mission Impossible, I found it very difficult to understand what it was finally all about. It could also be due to the fact that it was a translation rather than the original work.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite books

    Absolutely stellar writing, plot, and characters. This is one of those books that is not easy to read but impossible to put down. It is dense. The print is small and the book feels about 800 pages in length, but it is so good, you just don't give a darn. This is literature at its best in my opinion, with a unique and ambiguous plot, well developed characters, and an ambiance that no other book I have read has ever come close to matching. Best read by in winter, by candlelight, with a bottle of merlot in my humble opinion; though, I admit, I haven't tried reading it on a cruise ship. That might be nice too! :>)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Exceptional

    Voiced with austere precision, this study of a woman's hunt to find the truth about why a child would leap to his death from the top of a building brings character, culture and landscape into brilliant focus. A mystery with intriguing elements of science fiction, the writing is clever, sometimes sardonic, and has an honesty that is frequently like a knife scraping bone. Well constructed, fast paced, a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2001

    A storyline of many levels

    Having read this disturbing text (it makes you think) it is a mystery how one is supposed to understand that it was a male who wrote it. Hoerg has done a wonderful job developing Smilla. The story is one of many meanings and underlying messages, it just takes a while to fully comprehend them. It was clearly the best novel I've read in a while. I do however tend to agree with others that the ending was a little off especially if you happen to view the movie (It seemed a to Sci-fi to fit with earlier events), the mis-placed ending dosn't however take anything away from the remainder of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    Okay at best

    Started out great but then got bogged down and too technical towards the later part. The ending was like the movie- Mission Impossible, I found it very difficult to understand what it was finally all about. It could also be due to the fact that it was a translation rather than the original work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2000

    This Literary Translation is a Prose Poem

    Any translation risks suffering from linguistic and cultural renegotiation. However, Smilla's Sense of Snow presents a linguistically lyrical and culturally sound investigation into the people of the North and the harsh landscape which shapes their personalities and destinies. This is quality landscape literature, excellent mystery, superior character development, and just darn good good story telling. It is both a literary delight and a modern legend. My life is books, and seldom have I been so delighted with a read, so loathe to finish the reading experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    Enchanting story, thrilling protagonist

    Smilla is the most interesting female character to come along in a very long time; and to think that she was created by a man! The story is very good; I have to revisit the ending because I'm not sure what Peter Hoeg is telling us by it. Smilla and the mechanic's relationship is complicated, yet endearing and I so wanted to know little Isaiah. The story brings the characters to light in a way that few authors manage; I am buying the book after reading is as a library book. There are passages which I must highlight and remember. I urge you not to give up on Smilla; she is complicated, and sometimes her thoughts take a page or two to wind up; I promise you the journey is worth your time if you are intelligent, questioning, and willing to follow Smilla on her difficult path.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 1999

    My favorite book of all time

    My headline says it all! Peter Hoeg's writing is like a crystal--multifaceted and perfect. He blends together rationalism and emotionalism in perfect quantities--and Smilla is a strong, unconventional female character. If all novels were constructed this way, it would be a happy world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Good read

    I was in Copenhagen when I read this book which made it more interesting to me. Writing style was appealing, but the author took liberties with the plot that made the story line seem implausible at times. Also the ending seemed rushed and didn't quite tie all the lose ends together. Having said that, I learned a lot about the history and culture I had the pleasure to observe personally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Incredible book!

    This translation (ENG) had me loving Smilla and really feeling the "sense of snow"! Awesome story all around. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    A very strange thriller. My favorite.

    Brilliantly written, full of incredible detail about science and ice. Like a scandinavian cross between Jurassic Park and Haruki Murakami.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Lilysong

    "You deserved it!" She purred before yawning and curling up in her soft nest tiredly. Lilysong

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Stoneshard

    (Hey guys... sorry to intrude... but if you could tell everyone to talk to me in the third result if they need to that would be great. Thanks.)
    - Stoneshard

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Rosetail

    Hello?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Stunning mystery

    Intriguing, frigid setting in a culture we know little to nothing about. I found the story riveting although it tested the limits of belief. I also learned something, and I come from snow country myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2