BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Smith Quote Cover in Walnut

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

This is a terrific cover.

I simply had to offer a counterpoint to the (at this time) only other review of this cover. I can be rather picky at times, but I own this cover and cannot see any of the faults that @mockturtleCG mentions. In fact, I can find no faults at all with this cover. When I pu...
I simply had to offer a counterpoint to the (at this time) only other review of this cover. I can be rather picky at times, but I own this cover and cannot see any of the faults that @mockturtleCG mentions. In fact, I can find no faults at all with this cover. When I purchased my N2E, I knew I wanted a cover and I knew I wanted one that was leather. I went to my local B&N and looked at all the leather N2E covers. I have never felt such God-awful leather. Every single leather cover felt more like cheap construction paper than real leather -- B&N definitely isn't splurging on quality leather for their covers. Then I picked up this Smith cover on a whim. It's very nice, and caused my determination to have genuine leather vanish instantly. The synthetic material is very soft and rather sumptuous. You'd be hard pressed to tell this isn't genuine leather (I have a very pricy leather Coach planner in walnut and,in terms of look and feel they are very close -- the major difference being that my Coach planner was about $800 more). It's not "card boardy" at all, far from it. I know what good leather feels like it and this a truly excellent imitation. Yes, the clips that hold the device are plastic, but no they will not cause the N2E to "pop right out" if dropped. I know this from experience. I fell asleep one evening with my N2E and awoke to find that it had fallen off my very high (39 inches tall) bed and straight onto a hardwood floor. Guess what? My N2E was still snug in the cover and completely undamaged. That's sturdy enough for me. And, yes, you can (as with all N2E covers) turn the N2E power button on through the cover -- there is a place on the cover directly above the power button that allows this when pushed. But, believe me, it takes some pressure to actually turn the device on or off this way. There is simply no way some clothes or a few papers on top of the N2E would be able to do it. It's kind of silly to think that they could. In all, this is truly a nice cover for your N2E. Like I said earlier, I can be rather picky and I'm completely satisfied.

posted by Noncomposmentes on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Didn't like it

I purchased this cover about 3 weeks ago and I wish I hadn't. It is not made out of real leather, but some synthetic leather that is not as good. It doesn't have the nice feel of real leather and it shows oil spots from your finger tips. The cover has a very stiff, card...
I purchased this cover about 3 weeks ago and I wish I hadn't. It is not made out of real leather, but some synthetic leather that is not as good. It doesn't have the nice feel of real leather and it shows oil spots from your finger tips. The cover has a very stiff, card boardy feel to it. I just is not very good. I ended up replacing it with a Bristol cover which I like much better. So I ended up paying for 2 covers. Don't make the mistake I did. Buy yourself a good cover to begin with so that you don't end up paying for two. I should also mention that all of the Nook covers, including the Bristol one that I like, have two flaws. All of the covers use a cheap plastic clip to hold the Nook in place. If you ever drop the Nook, it will pop right out of the cover. If you're like me, the main reason you're buying the cover is to protect the Nook in case you drop it, so that plastic clip is just crap. The other problem is that the cover presses on the on/off button on the front of the Nook. If you pack the Nook in luggage, or in a brief case, the cover will constantly be pressing on the on/off button, draining the battery. As far as I can tell, all of the Nook covers have these same two problems.

posted by mockturtleCG on July 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    This is a terrific cover.

    I simply had to offer a counterpoint to the (at this time) only other review of this cover. I can be rather picky at times, but I own this cover and cannot see any of the faults that @mockturtleCG mentions. In fact, I can find no faults at all with this cover. When I purchased my N2E, I knew I wanted a cover and I knew I wanted one that was leather. I went to my local B&N and looked at all the leather N2E covers. I have never felt such God-awful leather. Every single leather cover felt more like cheap construction paper than real leather -- B&N definitely isn't splurging on quality leather for their covers. Then I picked up this Smith cover on a whim. It's very nice, and caused my determination to have genuine leather vanish instantly. The synthetic material is very soft and rather sumptuous. You'd be hard pressed to tell this isn't genuine leather (I have a very pricy leather Coach planner in walnut and,in terms of look and feel they are very close -- the major difference being that my Coach planner was about $800 more). It's not "card boardy" at all, far from it. I know what good leather feels like it and this a truly excellent imitation. Yes, the clips that hold the device are plastic, but no they will not cause the N2E to "pop right out" if dropped. I know this from experience. I fell asleep one evening with my N2E and awoke to find that it had fallen off my very high (39 inches tall) bed and straight onto a hardwood floor. Guess what? My N2E was still snug in the cover and completely undamaged. That's sturdy enough for me. And, yes, you can (as with all N2E covers) turn the N2E power button on through the cover -- there is a place on the cover directly above the power button that allows this when pushed. But, believe me, it takes some pressure to actually turn the device on or off this way. There is simply no way some clothes or a few papers on top of the N2E would be able to do it. It's kind of silly to think that they could. In all, this is truly a nice cover for your N2E. Like I said earlier, I can be rather picky and I'm completely satisfied.

    26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Didn't like it

    I purchased this cover about 3 weeks ago and I wish I hadn't. It is not made out of real leather, but some synthetic leather that is not as good. It doesn't have the nice feel of real leather and it shows oil spots from your finger tips. The cover has a very stiff, card boardy feel to it. I just is not very good. I ended up replacing it with a Bristol cover which I like much better. So I ended up paying for 2 covers. Don't make the mistake I did. Buy yourself a good cover to begin with so that you don't end up paying for two. I should also mention that all of the Nook covers, including the Bristol one that I like, have two flaws. All of the covers use a cheap plastic clip to hold the Nook in place. If you ever drop the Nook, it will pop right out of the cover. If you're like me, the main reason you're buying the cover is to protect the Nook in case you drop it, so that plastic clip is just crap. The other problem is that the cover presses on the on/off button on the front of the Nook. If you pack the Nook in luggage, or in a brief case, the cover will constantly be pressing on the on/off button, draining the battery. As far as I can tell, all of the Nook covers have these same two problems.

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Really like this cover

    I bought this cover a few days ago, and I really like it. it gives a much more natural "book reading" experience to the nook, and makes it much easier to hold while reading. I'm not sure why the designer decided NOT to put 4 clips on the case, IMO that would have been much more secure, but the two it has seems to do an adequate job. As to the guy who complained that it's not real leather, the description clearly states that it's synthetic leather, so don't blame them, blame yourself for not reading the description more thoroughly. Personally it doesn't bother me that it's not real leather

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    I love this cover! I initially wanted it because I love the quot

    I love this cover! I initially wanted it because I love the quote on the front. I have had no problems with this cover. It doesn't bother me that it's synthetic leather...I love how soft it is, actually. I don't travel much so the fact that it doesn't have some kind of closure doesn't bother me at all. I have not had a problem with my nook popping out of the plastic clips and actually had a bit of a difficult time to take it out of and put it back in the cover. I've noticed some fingerprint issues but they're more like smudges and they're not permanent. The pockets on the inside are the size perfect for holding my last Nook gift card that I received for Christmas. I love that this cover is the color of an old book too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Disappointing

    Perhaps I would feel otherwise had I not owned an original NOOK with a DILLANE Plaid leather cover. While this cover does not purport to be leather, it has a synthetic feel and odor that isn't pleasant. But my biggest complaint is that it is described as having "a generous vertical pocket, plus a pair of small business card pockets". The business card pockets are too small for standard business cards; the Dillane cover had the same description but the pockets were the correct size.

    Why then did I not just buy a DILLANE Plaid cover for the Simple Touch? Because, as so often happens, the best products are discontinued and we, the consumer, have no idea why.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Really like this cover

    I bought this cover last week for my nook, and I have not experienced any problems with it yet. The leather feels nice, the pockets are great, and the clips have securely held my nook in place and I've been carrying it everywhere with me. I have not had a problem with fingers leaving oily prints on the leather, and it does not feel like cheap cardboard to me. All in all, I think this is a great cover for the nook, and I really like the quote!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    What's not to like?

    Holds my Nook securely, makes the Nook easier to hold when reading (feels like I'm holding a real book now), and I can access all the buttons and ports with no problem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    Wish the cover had some type of latch to keep it closed

    Wish the cover had some type of latch to keep it closed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    The only thing I really don't like about this variety of covers

    The only thing I really don't like about this variety of covers is the quotes this time around; this quote was the least weird that I could find in the selection. Aside from that, I think it's really nice. The case adds enough bulk to make holding the nook in one hand comfortable but not heavier, and it very minimally increases the dimensions on the Nook. I mainly got the cover to protect the screen during transport and make holding the device less awkward for feel, and the faux leather is great for that.

    I do wish the power button on the back was a tad harder to press. If something in my bag hits the button, it will turn the device on and off to change the screensaver and waste battery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    I bought this in store and I just love it. It really feels like

    I bought this in store and I just love it. It really feels like you're holding a leather bound book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1