Customer Reviews for

Smithsonian Channel

Average Rating 4
( 584 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(354)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

329 out of 360 people found this review helpful.

Must have app!

Love the full length episodes and the vidoe quality is great. This is what cable channel apps should be like. Get this app and you won't disappointed. Great app!

posted by 6200171 on November 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

Didnt work for me.

While this seemed like a nice idea, I couldn't get any of the videos to play.

posted by 5329500 on December 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Yes it's nice but

    Just be sure to keep ur NT plugged in. This app drains battery fast, even when a video is on pause. Twice I came back to find my Nook dead and wouldn't recharge for hours. Very wonderful free app nontheless

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Well...

    When this app actually loads and if the video doesn't lag, it lives up to Smithsonian's standard. Awesome color, informative content, and really emphasizes what the Nook can do. I've tried using multiple different internet connections, all producing the same results-- This app only loads about half the time for me.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Ok

    Its ok but the videos keep frezzing and saying "cannot play video" it sucks! U can get it if u want but i dont reccomend it!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Ok

    Overall this is a good app. I'm not sure if it's just me but the videos don' t load.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Limited content, yet enlightening

    Although I don't have the Smithsonian Channel so not sure how the content available compares to what's available through the app. Yet, the limited amount of video and pictures is enlightening and serves as a way to promote the programming on the channel. Not sure if I would recommend it because it might be the first thing to go if I was running short on memory on my Nook HD. However, as a free app, it's worth a try.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Not opening

    Wow, yet another Nook app that has stopped working! Is B&N abandoning nook color users and apps to focus on the newer HD ones? Very annoying. No more Nook app purchases for this user!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    My mom

    The only way i got this app was because my momm got it for me snd afeer 1day it still noot finsjed loading so i really want to play with it when its "done".

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Would be nice if this worked on the new HD nook.

    Would be nice if this worked on the new HD nook.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    I had this app when I had the Nook Tablet. I have now upgraded

    I had this app when I had the Nook Tablet. I have now upgraded to the Nook HD+ and the app is not available. This sucks. Lucky for me I have the Smithsonian channel on cable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    love it if you can access it

    Love it I can use it with the tablet but not the HD.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    How?

    How do i play a video? Not in the video tab, the show tab where all the documentaries are....it only gives me the description....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Not crazy about this.

    I feel like the headlines don't change a whole lot. I have seen the same old stories for months now. I was hoping for more updated stories and videos. My little one loves it though, everything is new to him lol.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Nook Color Doesn't Have Enough Volume.

    I'm very disappointed that with my Nook Color, I barely can hear because the volume function is so poor. I was really looking forward to exploring many topics in this app. The color and quality of the video are very good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Gk

    Its a nice app but i couldnt watch the scheduled episodes.i dont know if thats suposed to happen or not

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    ReviewerCritic

    I give this three stars because some (most) videos won't open and some seem to be removed altogether. When I went on youtube to find a possible counterpart, there were NONE. This will be a great issue until it is solved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Edicantional

    Sounds edicantionl!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Deb

    I really like this app and was able to watch the video with sound and picture but now l can only hear the sound. No picture. I sent an email to report this issue but have not gotton a response. Not sure what to do.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Great

    Great but i have not gotten new episodes. Only downside.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Nice┬┐ for what it does

    Looks lovely, yes. Quite interesting topics, of course. But you can only watch short clips, like maybe 2 minutes or so. Ultimately unsatisfying; leaves you wanting to view actual episodes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    X

    This was an amazing app. I am a 12 year old girl and i love documentaries and this is endless amounts of clips and vidioes. But then it stopped working which was a real bummer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3