BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Smithsonian Channel

Average Rating 4
( 585 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(354)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

332 out of 363 people found this review helpful.

Must have app!

Love the full length episodes and the vidoe quality is great. This is what cable channel apps should be like. Get this app and you won't disappointed. Great app!

posted by 6200171 on November 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

Didnt work for me.

While this seemed like a nice idea, I couldn't get any of the videos to play.

posted by 5329500 on December 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Well, I'm on the fence about the memory usage.

    I have the app on one Nook, but not the others. The proggie works like a skipping stone over the topics. Some features are done in depth. I'm on the fence about the Nook resources vs benefit of the app. So far about 30% of the material is something I'd follow up on to a degree. Don't you wish they had Pulse Reader?

    Nook tips:
    1. Stiffen the power connector cord that inserts into your Noon, Nook Color or Nook Tablet by straightening the cable about 4 inches. Next, use a stiff rod such as a plastic, a coffee stirrer or split popsicle stick under the cord. Secure everything with scotch tape, plastic ties in such a way that you are able to grasp the cord and insert the end connector without bending the end connector in the process. A word of caution. If you use duct tape, and if you ever have to undo your construction, then you will have a gluey mess on the cord. I suppose you could split a soda straw and sleeve it over the power cord before taping.
    2. The charger for a Nook color and Nook Tablet are the same!
    3. Search ((0.00 (your favorite topic)) for free media.
    4. A microfiber cloth such as those used in car care work great for keeping the Nook screen clean.

    77 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Love it

    I love it. I am a kid and i am not aloud 2 watch everything, but overall i love it. I mostly like the shows. I just got it yesterday.(dec. 15 2011) i only watched 2 shows and i still love it. AND IT IS FREE! Not alot of money for information and 46 min. shows.

    Izzy

    24 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Excellent

    Kudos to the Smithsonian Channel for putting together a superb app that is full of interesting articles and videos. And the icing on the cake? It's free. I highly recommend this app to anyone interested in learning while at the same time being entertained.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Really neat app

    I think this app is really neat but i was watching one of the clips and it kept pausing and its really annoying

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Yes!

    I just wish that there were more full-length episodes... I love learning about tge new things and I'm pretty sure that once you open an episode you don't need Wi-fi to watch it. Very good app and very nice overall apperence. Very clean!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Anonymous

    This app is great! Love being able to watch the full length episodes without watching the tv. I love science and nature stuff and certian historicsl events, they have all that

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Best App Ever

    Ive had this app for like forever and ut never gets old

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Great app!

    Everything worked great. The images and videos are beautiful! :-)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Great Shows!

    I enjoy the Smithsonian Channel. They have some great programs, although it is hard to get this channel in some parts of the country. I wish they could make available more full episodes on their website.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    LOVE THIS APP

    I saw this app while "app" surfing...was shocked at how much subject matter there is. I just have a nook color and the video is great! I WISH I could access it without wi-fi.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Our app must be defective

    We have 4 Nooks in our household (2 tablet, 2 color). We have version 1.0 and the app crashes on all of our Nooks when we try to look at the Schedule tab. When looking at the Science/Nature tab, it kicks us out as we attempt to scroll down at about letter D of the shows ( on all of our Nooks). Is there a newer version we are unaware of? But we love the app otherwise!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Best non-game app I have.

    Really good even though wish it didn't need wifi

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Great!!!!

    There are MANY great features and videos on this app!!!!!! Its super duper good video quality and the video topics are so interesting!


    The only bad things is that on my nok it takes FOREVER to load some videos! Maybe its just me..... i'm not sure....

    Over all I HIGHLY recommend this app!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Gooe

    It's a good app, i like Air Disasters, but i wish they have more episodes. There is omly one episode i can watch.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Very informative

    The subjects that it presents are very interesting and informative. It show a lot of
    things that you don't normaly get to see.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    This is a duplicate app - what's different btw 2013 and 2011 versions?

    I'd give the app a 5, but don't understand the difference btw this app and the one I downloaded at Christmas 2011, on this same NT. I also don't get why downloading the 2nd app didn't trigger error or warning messages.

    Developer - please advise!

    Otherwise, I love the apps and highly recommend them - but first determine which to get.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Juan

    Way i cant open this app please god

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Its a good app.

    I like the app, but its kinda hard to hear at times. Over all, its a great app!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Great App

    I love all the programs that are on Smithsonian Channel. You will love it too and the app is free many hours of learning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    This is a wonderful app, but am very disappointed that this did

    This is a wonderful app, but am very disappointed that this did not carry over from my Nook Tablet to my New Nook HD+. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6