Customer Reviews for

Smithsonian Channel

Average Rating 4
( 592 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(357)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

339 out of 370 people found this review helpful.

Must have app!

Love the full length episodes and the vidoe quality is great. This is what cable channel apps should be like. Get this app and you won't disappointed. Great app!

posted by 6200171 on November 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

51 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

Didnt work for me.

While this seemed like a nice idea, I couldn't get any of the videos to play.

posted by 5329500 on December 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 357 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Must have app!

    Love the full length episodes and the vidoe quality is great. This is what cable channel apps should be like. Get this app and you won't disappointed.
    Great app!

    339 out of 370 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Best free app

    I'm amazed by how well the Smithsonian polished this app. Anyone interested in history, science, or culture will love this. There are documentaries, articles, slideshows, quizzes, and other interactive goodies constantly updated with new content. It's a little like mixing the Discovery Channel with a copy of the National Geographic magazine. This is beyond a doubt the best free app for the Nook Color and Tablet.

    288 out of 309 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Great for Home schoolers, too!

    I absolutely LOVE this app. There are a lot of them here that I could live with out, but this one is an absolute FAVORITE now. I home school one of my kids and this is going to be such a great tool to use. I can tell that Hulu and Netflix are just around now on our Color Nooks. The video is absolutely amazing and I love the different types of videos on here through this app. My daughter and I are already fighting over the Nook this morning. Looks like we may have to spread our wings and buy another one. This is a DEFINITE for all color nook owners.

    171 out of 188 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Works fine

    I used this app for several hours and it worked just fine. I watched two full 45 videos and several trailers and shorts.

    109 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    The videos are awesome!

    The depth of the scenes is amazing. I watched one of the aerial 45 minute shows. No stopping, no hesitation. It was like watching a hi def movie on tv with no commercials. Love this app. You won't be disappointed.

    79 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Neat

    So far this app is really great. No problem watching the videos.

    69 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Interactive app. Full videos.
    Perfect!

    59 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Great app, beautiful video!!

    I really enjoy this app, looks great in high def on the Nook screen!!!

    51 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Fantastic App

    I love anything that involves the Smithsonian Institute, and as a free app, you will not be disappointed. There is a subject for everyone in your family. I currently have the Nook Color, 2nd Edition, but have my sights set on the Nook Tablet. If the color is crisper on the Nook Tablet than it is on my current model, WOW! I find the color on the video nice and crisp on my Nook Color as it is. I can hardly wait to get my hands on the Nook Tablet to use this app on. GET THIS APP! You'll love it. I promise. If my husban, who hates educational stuff, loves this app. Highly recommended. Wish I could give this 10 stars.

    28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Love it! No problems playing any of the videos.

    25 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Love it

    Ima nerd and love documentaries. Its so easy to use and no bugs. Get it if ur like me

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Very cool!

    I watched a full 45 minute episode of Air America about California's Highway One. I'm amazed at how good the video looked. My wifi bobbled around the 30-minute mark - but I figured out where I left off and got to finish a very informative & entertaining tour of Highway One. One of the best free apps on the Nook!

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Full-Length Videos

    Some videos are full-length, some are not. You can find out which ones are by looking at the running time. The episodes are HD and run really smoothly. I'm very impressed.

    19 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Great app

    Love this app. It is better than watching tv since you get to watch the videos when you want too. Color is great. Very smooth streaming . I would not have minded paying for it but the fact that it is free makes it even better! I am using it on my nook tablet so I dont know how well it works on nook color. Hope this helps.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    pretty neat

    if you have access to wifi this app will entertain and inform. the media looks terrific!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Good app with quality content.

    Great app and good video quality. I like the educational content. It is like a cross between the Discovery channel and PBS. If you want the Simpsons or cartoon hip hop music video characters then this is not the app for you.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Best app ever

    I love this app! It is informative and entertaining. So well done, graphics and video are outstanding. Don't miss it!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    A great app

    One of the three good apps available on the bn store.
    The others being pandora and netflix.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pleased as punch with this app!

    I purchased this from the app store last night, and I couldn't put my Nook Color down afterward. What a fascinating thing, to be able to watch intelligent, informative videos on my Nook. I LOVE it!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Great App

    Loaded it and 15 seconds later was watching a video on stealth technology. This is a great free app or for that matter a great app in general. Hope more content like this becomes available in the near future.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 357 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18