BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Smoke, Mirrors, and Murder and Other True Cases (Ann Rule's Crime Files Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ann Rule is Awesome!

Ann was the first true crime writer I ever read and she really sets the standard. This book was no exception. I was surprised at the number of typos, but I'm overly observant to such things. Regardless, it was a page turner I couldn't put down and I loved every single m...
Ann was the first true crime writer I ever read and she really sets the standard. This book was no exception. I was surprised at the number of typos, but I'm overly observant to such things. Regardless, it was a page turner I couldn't put down and I loved every single moment of it.

posted by xMissMelaniex on March 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I have been an Ann Rule fan forever but this book is so bad that I threw it away after reading less than half. She is scraping the bottom of the barrel of cases here and coasting on her laurels. Don't waste your money instead, read her 'Stranger Beside Me,' or her ot...
I have been an Ann Rule fan forever but this book is so bad that I threw it away after reading less than half. She is scraping the bottom of the barrel of cases here and coasting on her laurels. Don't waste your money instead, read her 'Stranger Beside Me,' or her other, older full-length books.

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ann Rule is Awesome!

    Ann was the first true crime writer I ever read and she really sets the standard. This book was no exception. I was surprised at the number of typos, but I'm overly observant to such things. Regardless, it was a page turner I couldn't put down and I loved every single moment of it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    A reviewer

    I have been an Ann Rule fan forever but this book is so bad that I threw it away after reading less than half. She is scraping the bottom of the barrel of cases here and coasting on her laurels. Don't waste your money instead, read her 'Stranger Beside Me,' or her other, older full-length books.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    This is a page turner

    As always the case with any of Ann Rule's books that I read I could not put it down until I was finished. If you like true crime this would be a book that I would suggest that you read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Her worst book so far

    I love Ann Rule and have read all her books. This one however was a total waste of my time and money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    Well researched, excellent format and writing

    'The craftiest trickery are too short and ragged a cloak to cover a bad heart.'(Johann Kaspar Lavater, Swiss theologian, 1741-1801)Mr. Lavater could have been talking about several of the beating hearts in Ann Rules newest book. I enjoy Ann Rules books because she is so well qualified in her subject and because she is such a talented writer. This is a fascinating book that is hard to put down once you've started it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    being an avid reader of all of ann rules books i have found this to be her best book to date.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ann Rule has always been a favorite author of mine, and I have r

    Ann Rule has always been a favorite author of mine, and I have really enjoyed most of her books. However, this one was much slower than other cases she has gone over. Some of the cases were actually really boring. Others I feel would have been much better if they took place in the beginning of the book where she writes longer on the subjects. However, she is Ann Rule, and the cases she discusses are riveting. Therefore, fans of the author should pick this book up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Loved the book

    I am a huge Anne Rule fan and after reading this book I went and bought another. I cannot put her books down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    The tipping point

    Good read..
    One if Ann's best.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Recommeded - you must read this book!!!!!

    This book is an excellent book I would recommend anyone who enjoys this authors work to check this book out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    Informative.......

    I read anything that Ann Rule writes........I love "true crime" books as they tend to tell us about things that can happen that we never even can imagine in our lives...............

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    I love Ann Rule's books because they don't resort to sensationalism to tell the story. She uses her writing skills instead. This, like all her other books, is tops!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Queen of True Crime

    This book is a 'must read' for any reader of true crime, whether you are an Ann Rule fan or not. The stories range from current (Winkler) to cold case (Rockwell) and in each, Ann brings her unique perspective and insight. Ann continues to prove why she is the Queen of True Crime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Ann Rules!!

    This is by far one of Ann Rule's best True Crime Series yet! Her insight into the crimes is so detailed and real. Outstanding! Every book I have read by Ann is fantastic! We love you Ann!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2