Customer Reviews for

Smoke Screen: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Smoke Screen is one of Sandra Brown's best mysteries

I'm a dedicated reader of anything Sandra Brown writes and her books just keep getting better. Smoke Screen is one of her best. The plot twists keep you in suspense until the end. You don't know who the heroes or who the villians are. You don't know "who done it" or...
I'm a dedicated reader of anything Sandra Brown writes and her books just keep getting better. Smoke Screen is one of her best. The plot twists keep you in suspense until the end. You don't know who the heroes or who the villians are. You don't know "who done it" or even what exactly they did, and you fear for the safety of the main characters throughout. The characters Britt Shelley and Jay Burgess are intelligent yet vulnerable and human. The romance is steamy. This book evoked many emotions for me. It is well researched in regards to the police and fire department and the TV news reporters This is a book you will not want to put down until you are finished and that you will think about even when you aren't reading. I highly recommend this for anyone who likes to pick up a book to forget about the stresses of their real life for a while.

posted by 2198334 on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Could not get into this one.

Five years ago, after having one drink, Raley Gannon woke up at his friend Jay Burgess's apartment next to a dead woman. He can't remember what happened and loses his career and his fiancé.

Britt Shelley is a reporter always looking for an explosive story. Now...
Five years ago, after having one drink, Raley Gannon woke up at his friend Jay Burgess's apartment next to a dead woman. He can't remember what happened and loses his career and his fiancé.

Britt Shelley is a reporter always looking for an explosive story. Now Britt wakes up next to a dead man, after one drink, and can't remember anything. The catch is that the dead man is Jay Burgess.

When Raley found out, he kidnapped Britt and they decided to work together to find out what happened to both of them.

1. How in the heck do you pronounce "Raley"? Rally, Rayley, Raleigh? I ended up calling him Riley.
2. Britt was self involved and admitted she never gave a thought to the damage her stories did to others and wasn't above slanting the story to make it more titillating.
3. Did Jay have to be made out as such a horrible person?
4. There was zero chemistry between Raley and Britt, he didn't even like her for good reason!

However, I didn't see the end coming until it was almost there. This started out with a good plot but went in a dozen different directions and ended up nowhere. The last few books I've read by Sandra Brown have not been up to her usual standards. Get this one at the library.

posted by mahikahn on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sandra Brown is a fantastic author! I hadnt read a book of hers

    Sandra Brown is a fantastic author! I hadnt read a book of hers in years (J.D. Robb In Death Series) and have now read 5 in the last month! Smoke Screen, Smash Cut, the Switch, the Crush and currently reading the Charade. I had forgotten how great her characters are and how intriguing the story lines can be. Highly recommend any book written by Sandra Brown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Check out here.

    Thank you for shopping at bey mall.-Ginga hagona.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love Sandra Brown and this book did not disappoint! For how ho

    I love Sandra Brown and this book did not disappoint! For how how long this novel was it sure kept my attention, i really enjoyed this book. Not terribly predictable, which I liked and I would deff. recommend this book to anyone who enjoys mystery/romance novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    A page turner as usual

    Excellent. Well written; captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    If ou like mystery, don't miss out.

    I recently started reading Sandra Brown's books and I am hooked. Smoke Screen is a must if ou like mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    My First

    My very first Sandra Brown book. Ienjoyed the suspense, the intrigue. I was just sesrching for a second from her and choose Standoff. I hope it is just as good. I reccomend Sandra Brown!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Great book

    Loved the story line...hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Love it!

    This story grabs u from beginning to end i couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Great read

    Kept reading it - couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!

    I read a lot of Sandra Brown's novels and have not been disappointed yet. This book was no exception. The plot is fast paced and engaging. The only complaint is that the love story is distracting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Excellent Read!! I couldn't put it down!

    Sandra Brown is one of my favorite authors...never disappoints...In this book there are so many possible outcomes it kept me guessing until the very end. A GREAT "who-done-it" with some steamy romance thrown in. I highly recommend this book to adults who like a great mystery. It's not a Sandra Brown "romance" novel but, the lead characters...I won't spoil the story, but to say that even guys would be able to handle the steamy parts...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    *****

    I could not put it down. This is the first book of sandra browns that I read and the suspense was from the very beginning to the very end!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not her best work

    I have read virtually all of Sandra Brown's novels. While Smoke Screen has an intriging plot I didn't find it as believable as some of her previous works. That said, I looked forward to getting back to it and had no trouble staying with it. There were just too many characters involved and it wasn't too hard to figure out who the real bad guy was long before it was revealed to the other characters. While all of her novels I've read have some sex in them, I found the sex in this book to be offensive. A daughter who enjoys an incestuous relationship with her father - over the top in my book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Worth the read

    Truthfully, it was a pretty damn good book. Truthfully, it was a pretty long damn book. It really was entertaining and kept me interested, but not really full of surprises. I felt that it was way too long and drawn out. The plot was great, but revealed way too early. But like I said, overall, a pretty good read. I would recommend it to anyone who can stick with a 533 page book without many twists or surprises.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Great book

    This book was great. Can't wait to read more by Sandra Brown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story

    Sandra Brown is one of my favorite authors and Smoke Screen was not a let down. Although you know in the very beginning who the killer is, the big mystery comes out at the very end which I did not even suspect at all or even think that something else would/could come out.

    I always love how Sandra intertwines her two main characters and writes their involvment so well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    PAGE TURNER!!

    Sandra Brown is with out a doubt the best fiction writer of today. Smoke Screen was exciting romantic with a bit of mystery. The charcters were amazing. Kept you guessing. Finished it in 3 days. A great read for anytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    Couldn't put it down!

    I just finished my first book by Sandra Brown, and I have found a new favorite author!!! She had me from the beginning, and I couldn't stop turning the pages! Overall a very realistic fiction...full of surprises. She has a talent for bringing the characters to life so that you can imagine them as real people. I loved that fact that each time in the book when it seemed that there was no way out for the character(s), she thought of inventive and ingenious twists to the storyline. Great job! I will be buying back copies of Sandra's books to read what I have missed. Delighted to find a new and interesting author. The fact that she is a Texas-born and bred girl like me makes it even better! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Intrigue and Danger

    Britt Shelley is a go getter reporter. The story begins with her waking up next to a dead detective, Jay Burgess. And, she can't remember how she got there. Better yet, Jay was a decorated Charleston police officer and a hero of a police station fire that happened five years earlier.

    Jay, and three others, one of whom is Raley Gannon, firefighter and Jay's lifelong friend, are praised for their bravery in getting people out of the station. Unfortunately, seven people didn't make it. Raley was investigating the fire when a scandal caused him to lose his job. When he hears about Britt, Raley realizes that her story is similar to the scandal he went through.

    Raley promptly kidnaps Britt and holds her hostage until he believes her story. He releases her only to follow her and watch as she is shoved off the road and into the river. From this action, they both realize there is more to their similar stories that just coincidence. Working together, they dig into the past until the story comes to a resolution.

    Victor Slezak has a great grasp on the Southern and Hill accent of the Southeastern United States. His reading adds to the story making the characters pop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent page turner

    I don't know how Sandra Brown does it, but she just seems to get better with each book. I couldn't put this one down and read it in one day. It started out a little predictable, but then took off with the twists and turns. Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6