Customer Reviews for

Smokin' Seventeen (Stephanie Plum Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 2212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(985)

4 Star

(518)

3 Star

(370)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(185)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read!

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

216 out of 278 people found this review helpful.

Too Much!!!

I love her books and love my Nook, but will NOT pay this much for any author on e-book! Someone is getting greedy!

posted by mysterywomanTN on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 112
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read!

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    She's baaaaack.....a return to the original sassy series!

    After her last 2 books being somewhat lackluster, I was happy to see that the old Janet Evanovich was back. Loved this book!!!. It was full of the old sass and humor of the earlier books. Stephanie is back to being torn between her two hunky guys and there's a third to add to the mix. Someone is killing people and leaving them in the old bail bonds lot with love notes to Stephanie. Mention was made of her sister Valerie and Albert Klaughn who have all but disappeared in the past few books. Lula is on a gun totin' rampage in this book and theres even a bear plotline. I laughed out loud at several parts. Joe's granny Bella puts the hex on Stephanie which leads to some interesting developments and conversations...." it's one of those starter tumors".... Fans of the series will breathe a sigh of relief that the fun of reading the earlier books has returned. A must read.

    57 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    How about an actual customer review of the BOOK!!

    I always scan the customer reviews to get an idea of how the public likes a book. However, all that is here is complaints about the cost of the e-book. How about somebody actually telling me how they liked the book???

    35 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Step Back Toward the Beginning *possible spoilers*

    I have enjoyed most of the books in Plumland, but the last half of 13, all of 14, 15, and 16 all seemed to fall below par of what JE is capable of doing with her characters. They were extremely campy. Almost in a bad comedy sort of way. Don't get me wrong, I still laughed things that happened in them, but they just didn't seem to measure up to her previous books.

    After almost 10 books, Babes (myself included) will be extremely happy :-) I would honestly like to see Stephanie in a relationship with Ranger. Someone once reviewed that while his lifestyle doesn't lend itself to relationships, it doesn't mean it's not possible. I have to agree. Ranger seems to provide the support that Stephanie needs. When she can feel him before she sees him and he lets her be herself, and not tell her to quit her job, that says a lot. Morelli is a good guy, I do enjoy his character, but he seems to have a better disposition as a good friend for Steph.

    That being said, I felt that 17 took a step back toward the expectation many of us have had for her books. Yeah, there were some campy parts, and they were funny, but not nearly to the extent of the last few. I enjoyed the fact that the killer was staying ahead of the police. It was an interesting take on things. Ultimately, I have to admit the guy creeped me out quite a bit in his attitude during the climax. I think of all the Plums, he's been the most creepy because of his mentality. The cold, unemotional logic he had was very different from what most, if not all, of the villians of Plumland.

    The Vordo bit was pretty entertaining, and I have who I'm rooting for at the end of the book. I'm hoping 18 takes another step back toward the roots of the story and gives us more Ranger. I loved what we learned about him in 12, and would like to see us get to know him better. Hopefully, in 18 we will.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Let's think

    If you are looking for a review of this book and complaining about how there are no reviews posted, please note the button that says 'Pre-order.' That means the book has not been released yet; therefore, no one has read it to provide an actual review.

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    A quick fun read

    Seriously, folks the title of this section is RATE & REVIEW the book not piss & moan about price. If you can't afford the book go to the public library & get on the list to borrow the book.
    I bought the book and read it. I enjoyed it. JE put something in it for everyone. She mentioned some of the old favorites we haven't heard about, but still love their characters, like Valerie, Sally Sweet, Eddie Garzara and JOe Juniak. I want to hear what Mary Lou is up to, maybe in 18. Most importantly both Babe & Cupcakes have something to make them happy. Lula was well ... Lula, without the Gastrointestinal problems (thankfully) Loved the granny panty gag. My recent complaint with the books is that I'm ready for Steph to move on, looks like this is going to happen. I hope this doesn't mean an end to the series, as a married woman I still find myself getting into weird situations. I'm sure being married won't stop Steph either.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Worth it!

    Put the kids to bed and read the book in one night! I knew who the killer was right away, but I loved Ranger's "help" along the way! Laugh out loud funny!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Contains spoiler!!!!

    This installment is yet again typical Stephanie Plum. Its witty, exciting and sexy. I am a huge fan of JE and love every one of her books sooo much. That being said... this book did seem predictable...you could figure out the killer rather easily. Also, if his big plan was making Morelli jealous he didnt really succeed, Joe never finds out that was the plan, and even jokes about him with Stephanie proving he hardly cares.. so that plan fails. And as much as i enjoy the love triangle i kept anticipating Steph and Joe finally engaging, if for nothing else but to get the family off their backs. Steph makes a lot of bad descions but im hoping she finally wises up and picks morelli, hes the only logical choice. I loved Mooner having such a large part-hes great!!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    Oh wow is all I can say. This book was awesome. I love Grandma Mazer she just rocks...... The Ranger scenes rocked this time.....thus book is a gotta read if you are a Stephanie Plum/Janet Evanovic fan!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    SO SORRY

    I FIRST PICKED UP JANET EVANOVICH BOOK IN THE AIRPORT. LAUGHTED ALL THE WAY TO BUFFALO. WENT BACK AND GOT ALL THE REST. I HAVE READ THEM AT LEAST THREE TIME EACH BUT THIS BOOK WAS SO OFF. RANGER WAS OFF- HE NEVER DRINKS AND YOU HAD THEM SHARE A BOTTLE OF WINE. AND I KNOW THAT HE SAID IN ONE OF THE OTHER BOOKS THAT HE WOULD NEVER SLEEP WITH AN DRUNK WOMEN. IN ALL OF THE BOOKS STEPHANIE WOULD HAVE NEVER SLEPT WITH JOE ONE NIGHT AND RANGER THE NEXT WHAT A SLUT. AND DOING IT IN THE TRUCK WITH RANGER SO CHEAP. YOU COULD HAVE LEFT JOE OUT OF THE BOOK ANY NO-NAME COP COULD HAVE DID HIS JOB. THE ONLY PERSON YOU WERE TRUE TO WAS LULA. GRANDMA MAZUR WAS SORRY. WHAT I HAVE ALWAYS LIKE ABOUT STEPHANIE AND RANGER WAS THE SEXUAL TENSION. THE RANGER THAT I HAVE ALWAYS LIKE WOULD HAVE NEVER TOOK ADVANTAGE OF STEPHANIE THAT WAY, HE HAS TO MUCH CLASS. THE LAST TWO BOOKS WERE SO BAD THAT I TOOK THEM BACK FOR A REFUND. I HOPE THE NEXT BOOK IS BETTER OR AT LEAST THE END OF THIS SERIES.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Great book!

    Smokin' Seventeen is another excellently crafted quick read in the fun and quirky fashion created by Janet Evanovich for Stephanie Plum. I can't wait until November for #18! Thank you Janet Evanovich for continuing your craft and entertaining readers in the life of Stephanie Plum!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    I LOVE THE SERIES

    Cant wait. And ppl what we want to hear is the book rating and reviews, not complaints. I've being buying book for many years and long run u do save money with nook.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    I absolutely love this series...but take my advice.

    You can download this book and other Janet Evanovich e-books, audio and MP3s for up to 21 days from your local library - FREE of charge. Call them and they will tell you how. This is why I purchased the Nook. I haven't paid for a book since I got my NookColor at Christmas. And your local library gets the credit (hence additional state funding).

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Laughed silly on the bus - loved it

    I love all of Janet E's books - the Plum series being my favorite. I crack up at the lingo that Lula and Steph use, and "Babe" from Ranger melts my heart, all the way down to my doodah...

    Enjoy ! It is summer and it is easy reading...

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Back to basics

    This book is closer in concept and execution to the first at least 12 books (Twelve Sharp is my fave of the series) and its a heck of a lot better than the awful fifteen and sixteen which I found very disappointing due to the portrayal of Lula. This one is so much better even if I was troubled by the fact Stephanie sleeps with BOTH Ranger and Joe...but that's just me. The book made me laugh, and I am looking forward to EXPLOSIVE EIGHTEEN in November. Oh, did anyone else see JE on the Today show Tuesday? She was great.

    Now, for all of you who have used this platform to air your grievances re pricing....SHAME ON YOU!!!! How can you claim to be a fan of JE and yet give her 1 stars on a book you haven;t even read???? Rate the book as the book deserves and nothing else. I hope B&N deletes any future reviews unless they are actual reviews of the book. I resent having to scroll thru review after review searching for info and only encountering people whining about prices. Don't want to buy the book? Then don't buy the book....sheesh.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Predicatable but still laugh out loud

    I know this book costs too much for the Nook-I agree with everyone else who said it. But I am hooked on this series and wanted to read it as soon as it came out-so I bought it. It is true Stephanie Plum. There are many laugh out loud moments and it did not disappoint! I recommend it and cannot wait for the next one!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Good book

    The last couple books got a little stale but this book picked up a little and I think we may be getting close to the end of the series (which will be bitter sweet).

    It irks me to see so many people giving this book one star just because of the price and haven't even read the book. That is not a book review. Remember when we used to pay $30 for the hardback book of this series pre-ereaders? So its a whole lot cheaper now to buy the nook version than when we were buying the hardbacks.

    Oh and for those saying they wish they had purchased the Kindle over the nook, the amazon price for this ebook is also $13.99 and with the kindle you can not currently us it to check out ebooks from the library like you can with the nook.

    If your going to post a review make it about the book and if you want to complain about the price, send a letter to B&N.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Agree with Nooksie

    I agree with Nooksie. This book should be critique based on one actually reading the novel. Issues about pricing or one not knowing how to operate their Nook ereader, has absolutely nothing to do with the author's work. Email the publising Co. and B & N with such concerns. Its incredible what people write in the R & R, get a grip people. Do you understand what rate and review really mean?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    LOVED IT!!

    I loved it! I read it in one sitting because I could not put it down. I found myself laughing out loud several times throughout the book and I know I had tears in my eyes at least once from laughing so hard. The character of Lula cracks me up- hilarious! The stickers included in the back of the book were a nice thought. I think I heart Ranger! (Lol) I too had qualms about paying so much for an eBook, so I opted to buy the hardcover instead and am not disappointed with my purchase at all. It makes a worthy addition to my home library as I'm sure I will be reading it again soon. Don't let the lower ratings steer you wrong, if you're a fan of the Stephanie Plum series you will not be disappointed. It seems to me that the lower rated reviews given are a reflection of being unhappy with the price of the eBook versus being unhappy with the writing content. As a person who often looks at reader reviews for guidance on whether or not to purchase a book I felt that those types of ratings were unfair to those of us who are looking for opinions on "good reads", so I decided to write this, my first book review, and I hope it helps. As an avid eBook reader and customer I opt to show my unhappiness with the $13.99 price hike of eBooks by not paying it. That being said don't let the eBook price dissuade you from reading the book, buy the hardcover! Happy reading!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Ok read for summer

    This book was a far cry from the great first ten books in the series but it was still an ok book and better then the last six. It was a lot shorter then the others and I found a lot of scenes overwritten and it seemed more for filler then actual relevancy for the story. I skimmed a lot of the chapters and was still able to follow the story. Some parts of the book were funny but no laugh out loud moments. This series has become to drawn out for my liking and each book seems to follow along the same basic story line with no real character or plot developments. I am glad I got the book from the library instead of paying for it because it definitely wasn't worth the hardcover price. This book is a nice fluffy summer day read by the pool with familiar characters but that is all. I loved all of the characters in this series and loved the witty well written books in the beginning but the author needs to realize that her characters have had there fifteen minutes and really finish this series up. Unless she makes some major character developments I will even stop checking these books out of the library. I just hate seeing this much beloved series fall flat on it's face. My recommendation is do not buy in hc wait till paperback or check it out in the library or from a friend. And definitely don't buy the WAY overpriced nook version. Thanks

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 112