Customer Reviews for

Smokin' Seventeen (Stephanie Plum Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 2201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(982)

4 Star

(514)

3 Star

(367)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(184)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read!

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

216 out of 278 people found this review helpful.

Too Much!!!

I love her books and love my Nook, but will NOT pay this much for any author on e-book! Someone is getting greedy!

posted by mysterywomanTN on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    SO SORRY

    I FIRST PICKED UP JANET EVANOVICH BOOK IN THE AIRPORT. LAUGHTED ALL THE WAY TO BUFFALO. WENT BACK AND GOT ALL THE REST. I HAVE READ THEM AT LEAST THREE TIME EACH BUT THIS BOOK WAS SO OFF. RANGER WAS OFF- HE NEVER DRINKS AND YOU HAD THEM SHARE A BOTTLE OF WINE. AND I KNOW THAT HE SAID IN ONE OF THE OTHER BOOKS THAT HE WOULD NEVER SLEEP WITH AN DRUNK WOMEN. IN ALL OF THE BOOKS STEPHANIE WOULD HAVE NEVER SLEPT WITH JOE ONE NIGHT AND RANGER THE NEXT WHAT A SLUT. AND DOING IT IN THE TRUCK WITH RANGER SO CHEAP. YOU COULD HAVE LEFT JOE OUT OF THE BOOK ANY NO-NAME COP COULD HAVE DID HIS JOB. THE ONLY PERSON YOU WERE TRUE TO WAS LULA. GRANDMA MAZUR WAS SORRY. WHAT I HAVE ALWAYS LIKE ABOUT STEPHANIE AND RANGER WAS THE SEXUAL TENSION. THE RANGER THAT I HAVE ALWAYS LIKE WOULD HAVE NEVER TOOK ADVANTAGE OF STEPHANIE THAT WAY, HE HAS TO MUCH CLASS. THE LAST TWO BOOKS WERE SO BAD THAT I TOOK THEM BACK FOR A REFUND. I HOPE THE NEXT BOOK IS BETTER OR AT LEAST THE END OF THIS SERIES.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    price of download

    I totally agree while I love her books the price is outrageous for a download.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Getting old and not worth the money

    Same story different cover. We do NOT see who stephanie chooses AGAIN. This is the last book in this series that i will pay to read. Go to the bookstore and read it for free. Such a disapointment. Save your money.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Great series but Crazy expensive book

    I absolutely love this series of books and I fully intend to read this one. But there is no way I will pay $14 for an e-book! I am on the waiting list at the local library for this book so I will wait until my turn to read it for free! Maybe it is time for me to check out the competition's e-readers and book prices and make a change if it is more econmical.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Dissappointed -- very dissapointed

    I could have written a better story. I knew who the murderer was 1\4 way thru book. If i didnt know better, i would say that Ms. Evanovich had a high school girl write the book. Will think twice no three times before i get another Stephanie Plum book

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    This was terrible

    I'm not one to write book reviews, but I disliked this so much that I had to. This book was so boring. The characters had no life to them. They all did and said the same things they have in previous books. And it seemed like many of the characters were hardly even in the book. All Stephanie's mom did in this book was iron. SPOILER: And I was incredibly disappointed with the Stephanie/Ranger situation. It was disgusting of Stephanie to sleep with them both at the same time. Not only that but she referred to Morelli as her boyfriend multiple times and at one point says that he's "the one." But then she starts sleeping with Ranger behind his back. And then she's jealous that he has to spend time with Terry for work. I'm a huge Morelli fan, so I was very disappointed with this book. I loved Stephanie's character at the beginning of this series, but I like her less and less with each book. The triangle, as well as the series should've been wrapped up a long time ago. Janet has drawn it out too long. I don't even think it's possible to end the series on a high note at this point.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Zzzzzz

    Seriously. I love(d) Stephanie and her hijinks, but now they're just getting stupid. Time to move on Ms. Evanovich.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Tiring

    Same old same. Its not cute or funny and Stephanie is becoming a tramp. The ride is done. Wish i could give no stars.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    So disappointed!

    I have read every book in this series, and did not hesitate to buy this one. I want my money back!! This book had the same tired jokes, the same old descriptions, it was practically redundant! Nothing new, didn't even try for new jokes or situations. I have never been so disappointed in one of my favorite authors. I feel cheated.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Actual review of the book...

    I understand the frustration over the price of ebooks, but agree that a low rating over the price shouldn't overshadow the rating garnered by the actual contents of the book.

    I read the book today, and the BOOK (not the price) gets one star from me. The dialog is reminiscent of microwaved scrambled eggs--whatever might have been palatable, even fabulous, the first time around, gets stale as that plate gets nuked over and over again. The jokes weren't funny, the mystery was banal, and the bed hopping gave new meaning to the term sloppy seconds.

    Ugh. All in all, I could use some Tums and some bleach to wash the bad taste and bad memories Smokin' Seventeen left behind. I won't be buying Eighteen, no matter what it's called, no matter who, if anybody, Stephanie finally "chooses", or anything else.

    Please don't stick a fork in me, I might implode into a small dense cube from the overuse of that (pardon the pun) schtick...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Very disappointed

    Smokin' Seventeen was a disappointment!! Same old plot, silly and pointless action (a dancing bear??? Give me a break!), and characters that are becoming stale. I enjoyed the first 10 books in this series but the charactrers are in a sad, boring time loop--they never grow, never learn from their mistakes, and become more shallow and less likeable with each book. I will not spend another penny on a Janet Evanovich novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Paperback prices lower than ebook

    Like so many others, I am unhappy with the nook book prices, especially when the paperback is cheaper than the nook book. Shame on you Barnes and Noble. Does anyone from B&N read these complaints?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    Greedy?

    Price too high

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Another Stephanie Plum disappointment...sigh **spoiler alert****

    As always I look forward to the SP books...but these last few have been so disappointing. This series started out fresh, funny, sexy, and witty. And now we're reading the same tired dialogue. There were even a few lines that were verbatim from other books between Ranger and Steph! Are you kidding, Janet? More of Lula shooting people in the foot and stuffing her face. More of Steph bumbling after an old man, failing to capture him and then eating buckets of chicken. More of Grandma Mazur lifing casket lids. The jokes that were funny in the first few are simply old and tired now. And I can't even begin to tell you how much space is taken up by food binges with full descriptions as well as rehashing the past 16 books. I understand that the author must do some explaining of previous plots for new readers...but the amount of pages/time spent on this is ridiculous. It use to feel like Steph had serious assignments with doses of hilarious events happening every now and then. Now, it seems that Janet can't come up with a decent assignment for her so we deal with stupid juvenile jokes throughout the entire book...an old man thinks he's a vampire and "gums" Lula??? Really? And gone is the sexual chemistry/tension between her and Ranger...she just jumps him repeatedly in this one then blames Joe's grandma Bella for putting the "vordo" on her. It seemed like JE was just trying to please the Morelli and Ranger camp in one book...but it all felt very cheap and dirty to me. Even Steph's mom and Grandma Mazur have gone flat. And the bad guy is so obvious - no mystery whatsoever. I don't know, I've come to love these characters and I hate to see them being used so cheaply. Give Steph a real, serious, dangerous assignment - throw some more flirty/sexy scenes with Joe in there - give Grandma Mazur back her gusto! I'm sure I'll buy the 18th in November...simply because I hope she'll finish this thing...but I fear I'll be disappointed once again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    Price to high for an eBook

    I was excited for the new Stephanie Plum book, but have not read it yet due to the price. I love my Nook, but wished I would have thought about my purchase of it more clearly. I was sold on the books would be cheaper, but now they are creeping up in price, you can only share certain books (and for a limited time), and you cannot exchange them for other books or take them back to a book store that has a buy back program. What am I suppose to do with all these books? I use to donate them, but you cannot do that with eReader. So really what is the advantage of an eReader?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    TO HIGH

    I agree with everyone else, when I purchased my nook the high end for downloads was $9.99. This is reasonable cost, I guess it is back to the library for me where ebooks are free. I really don't mind waiting

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    TOO MUCH MONEY

    I have to agree with all of the reviews that I have read. I love Janet Evanovich but will not pay this amount for an e-book. No trees were killed, no ink, no shipping, etc. Back to the library for this one.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Author has Stephanie have sex with Ranger just to sell books!

    What is wrong with this book? It's not funny, there is no mystery when you know who the killer is before the third chapter, there is WAY too much Lula, and Joe and Ranger have been neutered for all intents and purposes.

    We are suppose to believe that Stephanie leaves Joes bed to hop into bed with Ranger because Grandma Bella has but the "eye" on her? There is not even any sexual tension between Ranger and Stephanie but Evanovich is telling her fans and anyone that will listen that this is her "sex" book. All she has done is make Stephanie look cheap.

    I'll not be purchasing book 18 and I have buyers remorse for purchasing this book. It is awful.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    way too $$$$

    You lost me when I read the price....plots are way too thin.....

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    This is crazy expensive!

    I'm sure the book is decent. I guess I'll wait until I can pick it up in a second hand store or something. I thought the ebooks weren't supposed to exceed $10.00?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10