Customer Reviews for

Smokin' Seventeen (Stephanie Plum Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 2212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(985)

4 Star

(518)

3 Star

(370)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(185)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read!

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

216 out of 278 people found this review helpful.

Too Much!!!

I love her books and love my Nook, but will NOT pay this much for any author on e-book! Someone is getting greedy!

posted by mysterywomanTN on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Improved from the past three books. But, still needs work.

    I would recommend this book for book club discussions. But, I wouldn't say it was the best thing I ever read. The central characters were off, as if their past history was erased. although I was happy to learn Stephanie finally had sex with Ranger due to Grandma's Bella and a curse. I have to wonder what book 18 will be like. I was relieved that toilet humor was left out of this book. But, can't understand why Lulu is eating her way through another book. Lost as to why Stephanie would suddenly discuss Ranger and doing the deed with him with either Connie or Lulu. Especially since Lulu tends to blab. Yes, readers wanted Stephanie and Ranger to have sex, but what happened to her guilt... her need to have time between relationships. The Ranger fans wanted to see them in a relationship, exploring Ranger's secret past. At least it had a plot, although weak and could be figured out by chapter five. It leaves most Stephanie Plum fans shaking their heads and wondering.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Same old song with a new cover

    Loved the early titles (I own the whole series) but JE has really stalled out with the last few. It's (past)time for Stephanie to move up a notch with either her "career" or her "love life" or both!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Never again

    To say that I was disappointed in this book would be a gross understatement. This storyline should have stopped, in my opinion, around book 11. When the series started, Stephanie was a naive young woman trying to make it, and has progressed to her being a slut with bad judgement. At this point, the story is all the same, Stephanie's car gets blown up, she is in love with Morelli but attracted to Ranger, her life is in danger and she has to find the bad guys in order to pay her rent. Same story just a different bed for her to jump in. The only relief for this series, is Lula. I actually laughed out loud several times with what comes out of her mouth. Needless to say, book 18 is not in my future.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    adequate book

    I have been a die hard fan of Ms. Evanovich for years. I own all of the books in this series, bar this one (borrowed from the library). I hate to have to say it, but this is another review about a less than stellar Plum book.
    Without getting into spoilers, I can say that this book seems to be a collection of scenes that Janet wanted to work into a book with little storyline to connect them. This book was predictable, and sometimes even boring. By 50 pages into the book you will be able to figure out who is killer is and where the plot is going. Grandma Mazar was boring (who knew it was possible?) and Stephanie spent half the book acting like Lula. It was better than books 13-15, but it's still trapped in the same pattern of crazy FTAs, destroying cars, waffling between Ranger and Morelli, eating donuts and losing FTAs in completely ridiculous ways.
    I agree with the other posters that this book seemed rushed. It was shorter than normal (bigger spacing, larger margins, etc) and didn't have a well developed plot. Especially knowing that there is a book coming out later this fall, I wonder if this was the first half of a longer book that they just divided into two.
    It's not a terrible book, but it's not very good, either. I'm glad I read it, but I won't be reading it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Stephanie wanders aimlessly: a disappointment

    I pre-ordered this book in spite of the high price for an e book. But was disappointed. Stephanie seems to wander aimlessly through her life, no real adventures or tension and only a few laughs. More like wry comments. At least she is finally getting it on a bit with Ranger, but both Ranger and Morelli seem to be lackluster and there is no spark between them and Stephanie. I don't know if these books will pick up, the last few are not up to snuff. Really wish Ranger would take Stephanie down to Miami with him to get them out of the 'Burg for a bit.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Not as good as the originals - somewhat lacking.

    I remember laughing out loud- guffaws- at many of the first books in this series. . .now an occasional chuckle is about all that I can muster up. Yes, I realize that knocking out numerous books in one year leaves little time to fully develop characters and story lines - but come on - take a little more time and go back to your original formula - thoughtful writing, interesting plots and genuine comedic humor! More of that humor! Flesh out the story. . . add a chapter or two if necessary. I think all fans would appreciate fewer books per year as long as they were up to par with the originals of the series. The last few installments have been lackluster and too predictable.. .each book has basically been the same as the last - only the names/places have been changed to disguise the fact that each is the "same old same old". Whatever happened to creativity?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not the worst, but still a disappointment

    When I first started reading (then listening to) the Stephanie Plum books so many years ago, they had mystery, humor, and a good story line. Over the years the mysteries have all but evaporated, the humor has become juvenile and what-story-line. This one is about like that. I'm beginning to think that Evanovich, who seems to be living off her reputation more and more, is leaving mysteries behind and going back to her romance roots (and, yep, I don't like romance books). "Smokin' Seventeen" is more of a "who is Stephanie going to screw as she looks for love, and where will she do it" than a mystery. Won't reveal anything (as if that will help) but, please, I knew very early one who the killer was in this book and couldn't believe that no one in the book (not even Morelli with his cop eye) didn't see it. Lula is now becoming nothing but a stereotyped comic relief. Remember in one of her first appearances when she tired a red flag on the leg of the dead guy sticking out of her trunk so she wouldn't get a ticket? Silly, yes, but still somehow weirdly believable and an out loud belly laugh. Now, Evanovich just has her running around stun-gunning or shooting everyone in sight and it's gotten old. And, for the record to all light mystery writers out there, ENOUGH WITH THE VAMPIRE STORY LINES OKAY! They are not funny, just insulting. The family makes a bigger appearance in this book but not in a good way. Grandma can have the best scenes but even the "peaking in the coffin" has gotten old. I wish there was something good I could say about this installment. And all I could come up with was "not the worst". If you don't want to lose the series (I keep saying "maybe the next one will be great"), get this from a library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Not the best

    I LOVE the Stephanie Plum series but this book eas a major let down I can only hope that the next book will make up for it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    *sigh*

    I caved and bought the ebook even after balking at the price. This series has stalled. The book was a fast read, I feel a little jipped at the cost versus length and disappointed with plot development. Maybe this should have been a novella or in-betweener or something. I gave it 2 stars because even the characters in the book are getting tired of the love triangle.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    Should just read #6 or #7 Again

    I have loved this series for a long time. However the redundancy is getting tiresome. I miss the infusion of new and interesting characters that stick with the series. And I am SICK of the same love triangle. It's becoming a little ridiculous. I was hoping for something new. It was just as good as the others but the endings are leaving me very unsatisfied. Although I'm glad I only have to wait until November to be disappointed again. I have a problem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Don't bother

    Being a huge fan, i have been so disappointed in the last few books. With just barely 200 pages, and a recapping of every character, it felt more like a between the numbers. I agree that the characters r off as well. Maybe someone else is writing? Unfortunately i am probably done with this series. I keeping buying but they r not getting any better:(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Yikes

    The series has a problem with dwindling page numbers and rising price tags. I read all the rest, but guess this will wait until the price is realistic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Sadly stale

    I love Stephanie Plum but she hasnt changed at all in 10 books and this one is no different. Evanovich needs to allow her to grow ie stop stringing readers along with vapid and predictable plotlines or let her go

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Purchase Price bad but book is even worse...

    Having just read this on my Nook, I'm so glad I borrowed it from my local library e-shelf. I would've never paid to read this Stephanie book. Why? well I've been a faithful reader of this series from the begining and Ranger, Stephanie and Morelli are all off in this book and its SHORT way to short! The mystery if it had been developed would have been pretty good but it was more of a Lula book then a stephanie book. Hum perhaps book 18 will be better but then again perhaps its time to retire the series and finally give "BABE" or "Cupcake" a chance at marriage and children......

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Meh...

    Very quick read. Killer was predictable. And Stephannie is kinda a slut. Not really good especially considering price thru nook. I was really hoping Stephanie finally makes a decision between Joe and Ranger, was severly disappointed. My recommendation: wait to buy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Won't purchase.

    Why does it tell me that this book is not available right now? Did you run out of digital copies or something? I would really like to purchase this book right now. Maybe I should just go to the store and buy the actual book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tooo much $$$$$$$

    What's up besides the nook book prices? 12.99 is too much for an emailed book when I can buy the hard copy for 15.99 and donate the book to my local library for a tax deduction after I have read it!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    Ridiculous prices

    The prices are utterly ridiculous. I was all set to buy this book until I looked at the price. I could easily buy the hardcover books at Sam's Club or some other discount store for the same money that Barnes & Noble is asking for the Nook Book. Lower your prices or lose customers!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    One has no choice but to continue

    I keep reading this series because I'm afraid I'll miss something good if I don't! I. Not done with this one yet, it has made me lol a few times but not like the earlier ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Hi

    Awsome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8