Customer Reviews for

Smokin' Seventeen (Stephanie Plum Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 2211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(984)

4 Star

(518)

3 Star

(370)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(185)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read!

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

216 out of 278 people found this review helpful.

Too Much!!!

I love her books and love my Nook, but will NOT pay this much for any author on e-book! Someone is getting greedy!

posted by mysterywomanTN on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 370 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    How about an actual customer review of the BOOK!!

    I always scan the customer reviews to get an idea of how the public likes a book. However, all that is here is complaints about the cost of the e-book. How about somebody actually telling me how they liked the book???

    35 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Ok read for summer

    This book was a far cry from the great first ten books in the series but it was still an ok book and better then the last six. It was a lot shorter then the others and I found a lot of scenes overwritten and it seemed more for filler then actual relevancy for the story. I skimmed a lot of the chapters and was still able to follow the story. Some parts of the book were funny but no laugh out loud moments. This series has become to drawn out for my liking and each book seems to follow along the same basic story line with no real character or plot developments. I am glad I got the book from the library instead of paying for it because it definitely wasn't worth the hardcover price. This book is a nice fluffy summer day read by the pool with familiar characters but that is all. I loved all of the characters in this series and loved the witty well written books in the beginning but the author needs to realize that her characters have had there fifteen minutes and really finish this series up. Unless she makes some major character developments I will even stop checking these books out of the library. I just hate seeing this much beloved series fall flat on it's face. My recommendation is do not buy in hc wait till paperback or check it out in the library or from a friend. And definitely don't buy the WAY overpriced nook version. Thanks

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    lol

    Predictable, guessed who it was right off the bat. Still very entertaining and honest to God laugh out loud funny. Comedy is great, but need to work harder on the mystery aspect.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Better than the last two books but characters are a little off

    I enjoyed this book more than the last two but it does have a couple of flaws. One is that it is completely predictable as several other reviewers have pointed out. This is not unusual in this series as I have found the books to be more character driven than plot driven. And that, unfortunately, is the other major flaw. Several of the characters just seemed "off" in this book, most notably Grandma Mazur. Her character seemed flat and she usually has a very distinct way of speaking which was totally missing from her dialogue. Stephanie was "off" as well - she apparently no longer feels guilt, for example. However, it is still a pleasant summertime read with several humorous scenes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    Stephanie Plum and her coterie of odd friends are back in this latest from Janet Evanovich. When a dead body is found on the bail bonds lot, the office moves into Mooner's RV.

    Stephanie and Lula try to apprehend skippers with their usual slapstick style and frequent bakery stops, while Stephanie's mother is foisting a former classmate on her as perfect husband material. When more people turn up dead with Stephanie's name on them, it's starting to get personal.

    This latest book in the series finds Plum sleeping with both Joe Morelli and Ranger after Joe's Grandmother Bella turns the evil eye on her, and she continues to destroy cars provided by Ranger at an alarming rate.

    I like Evanovich's writing style. I like the characters in the Stephanie Plum series. I like the humor in Evanovich's books. But I have to say that SMOKIN' SEVENTEEN was the same old, same old with just a little more sex. Stephanie Plum is getting a little long in the tooth to continue the same lifestyle and inability to commit. Although it's a fun, quick read with quirky characters, this book wasn't much different from SIZZLING SIXTEEN or the one before that, which is a real disappointment. Lynn Kimmerle

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Smokin 17

    Did not laugh out loud as usual with this series. A bit disappointed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Same story, different book....

    I was so in love with this series in the beginning but I must say that it seems to be losing its appeal. I figured out the plot very early into the book. I was a little disappointed in the story line with Morelli and Ranger. Stephanie is the "good" girl but made bad decisions in this book. Lula is as always HILARIOUS and if not for her the book would have been completely boring. I agree with another review I saw that said the characters seemed flat. I hope J.E. is not just throwing the books out now just to finish the series. I hope the next books will do the Plum series the justice it deserves. I also was a little taken aback with the Nook price vs hardcover. I don't feel that it was worth the money this time, way too short.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Quick read, didn't even last a whole day!

    Was just ok, not as good as earlier books. No suspense factor, knew who the killer was early on.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Ehh...

    Keeps me pretty entertained...I'm just so ready for the whole "Ranger or Morelli" issue to move forward already!! I'm getting tired of the love triangle not going anywhere.
    As an avid mystery reader, the "suspect" was way too predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Plum

    I had a few laughs, however I figured out the killer not even half way through the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Seriously Funny and Entertaining

    The latest Stephanie Plum novel is everything you would expect and have learned to love from the previous novels. All the usual suspects are in the book, Stephanie, Lulu, Grandma Mazur, Mooner, Morrelli and Ranger. There is of course so much crazy humor that transpires between Lulu and Stephanie it will make you laugh out loud! Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Far From Her Best

    This series has gone downhill since Twelve Sharp. The stories written by fans of the series (easily found on the internet) are far better than what Ms. Evanovich is capable of writing, regardless of what she thinks she's worth or what she's paid. I think Ms. Evanovich is out of ideas and this may be the last I read in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A quick beach read

    As usual, Stephanie Plum and Lula along with the other usual suspects who comprise Janet Evanovich's books, made me laugh out loud. This is an easy read and occasionally predictible but the antics will keep you interested. It is not a great book for a book club discussion but I am a fan. Light, easy to follow and easy to digest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not her best.

    I absolutely love Stephanie Plum, but I hate to say this. Maybe it's time for Janet to retire this series. It's getting tired, predictable and a little ridiculous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Disappointed

    I have been a true fan and follower of this series but this one didnt live up to my expectations. Seemed as though the author rushed this one out though it did have its funny parts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    So Disappointing

    I've always enjoyed Janet's books, but it was really hard to get behind this one. Stephanie, Ranger and Joe are not acting in character at all in this book. Stephanie has always been conflicted about the men in her life, but she's been pretty steady about her moral code. So her sleeping with Morelli then Ranger on back to back nights just doesn't make sense at all. It made her really unlikable. The mystery aspect of it was pretty solid. I just hope 18 will give us all the answers we've been waiting for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Come on

    I am getting seriouly disappointed by one of my favorite authors and it makes me sad. Seventeen is better than sixteen but not by much. If you really want a good taste of the Stephanie Plum series read anything before sixteen. The only positive thing about seventeen is Stephanie is finally capturing FTAs without being such a wimp. I also think the books are getting worse because Janet is not writing them herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Love the series. This was not my favorite. Not a huge mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay but not the best

    I love Stephanie, maybe because I can relate to her flakiness at times, but this was not the best book by far. The end was predictable, but I did laugh out loud several times. Im waiting for something profound to happen for Stephanie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    Disapointed

    If you are a fan of Stephanie Plum as I am, you will have to read this one to stay current on her life, but this one is not up to the usual standards. I am a great fan of Janet Evanovich and her lovable, zany characters. I absolutely love Stephanie Plum, her love interests, crazy friends, and family. I have laughed until I was crying when I read some of the numbers books, but this one just wasn't up to par. The humor wasn't up to Evanovich's usual standards and I was left feeling flat with Stephanie's sexual reunion with Ranger. I've been waiting forever for Stephanie to hook back up with Ranger and there just wasn't any demension to it. Ms. Evanovich has a talent for relating "hot" without being graphic and this was a miss. Overall, read it and get your Stephanie, Morelli and Ranger fix, but don't expect too much. Enjoy and know that the next one is bound to be GREAT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 370 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19