BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Smokin' Seventeen (Stephanie Plum Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 2211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(984)

4 Star

(518)

3 Star

(370)

2 Star

(155)

1 Star

(184)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read!

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

216 out of 278 people found this review helpful.

Too Much!!!

I love her books and love my Nook, but will NOT pay this much for any author on e-book! Someone is getting greedy!

posted by mysterywomanTN on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 518 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Step Back Toward the Beginning *possible spoilers*

    I have enjoyed most of the books in Plumland, but the last half of 13, all of 14, 15, and 16 all seemed to fall below par of what JE is capable of doing with her characters. They were extremely campy. Almost in a bad comedy sort of way. Don't get me wrong, I still laughed things that happened in them, but they just didn't seem to measure up to her previous books.

    After almost 10 books, Babes (myself included) will be extremely happy :-) I would honestly like to see Stephanie in a relationship with Ranger. Someone once reviewed that while his lifestyle doesn't lend itself to relationships, it doesn't mean it's not possible. I have to agree. Ranger seems to provide the support that Stephanie needs. When she can feel him before she sees him and he lets her be herself, and not tell her to quit her job, that says a lot. Morelli is a good guy, I do enjoy his character, but he seems to have a better disposition as a good friend for Steph.

    That being said, I felt that 17 took a step back toward the expectation many of us have had for her books. Yeah, there were some campy parts, and they were funny, but not nearly to the extent of the last few. I enjoyed the fact that the killer was staying ahead of the police. It was an interesting take on things. Ultimately, I have to admit the guy creeped me out quite a bit in his attitude during the climax. I think of all the Plums, he's been the most creepy because of his mentality. The cold, unemotional logic he had was very different from what most, if not all, of the villians of Plumland.

    The Vordo bit was pretty entertaining, and I have who I'm rooting for at the end of the book. I'm hoping 18 takes another step back toward the roots of the story and gives us more Ranger. I loved what we learned about him in 12, and would like to see us get to know him better. Hopefully, in 18 we will.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    A quick fun read

    Seriously, folks the title of this section is RATE & REVIEW the book not piss & moan about price. If you can't afford the book go to the public library & get on the list to borrow the book.
    I bought the book and read it. I enjoyed it. JE put something in it for everyone. She mentioned some of the old favorites we haven't heard about, but still love their characters, like Valerie, Sally Sweet, Eddie Garzara and JOe Juniak. I want to hear what Mary Lou is up to, maybe in 18. Most importantly both Babe & Cupcakes have something to make them happy. Lula was well ... Lula, without the Gastrointestinal problems (thankfully) Loved the granny panty gag. My recent complaint with the books is that I'm ready for Steph to move on, looks like this is going to happen. I hope this doesn't mean an end to the series, as a married woman I still find myself getting into weird situations. I'm sure being married won't stop Steph either.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    I absolutely love this series...but take my advice.

    You can download this book and other Janet Evanovich e-books, audio and MP3s for up to 21 days from your local library - FREE of charge. Call them and they will tell you how. This is why I purchased the Nook. I haven't paid for a book since I got my NookColor at Christmas. And your local library gets the credit (hence additional state funding).

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Back to basics

    This book is closer in concept and execution to the first at least 12 books (Twelve Sharp is my fave of the series) and its a heck of a lot better than the awful fifteen and sixteen which I found very disappointing due to the portrayal of Lula. This one is so much better even if I was troubled by the fact Stephanie sleeps with BOTH Ranger and Joe...but that's just me. The book made me laugh, and I am looking forward to EXPLOSIVE EIGHTEEN in November. Oh, did anyone else see JE on the Today show Tuesday? She was great.

    Now, for all of you who have used this platform to air your grievances re pricing....SHAME ON YOU!!!! How can you claim to be a fan of JE and yet give her 1 stars on a book you haven;t even read???? Rate the book as the book deserves and nothing else. I hope B&N deletes any future reviews unless they are actual reviews of the book. I resent having to scroll thru review after review searching for info and only encountering people whining about prices. Don't want to buy the book? Then don't buy the book....sheesh.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Predicatable but still laugh out loud

    I know this book costs too much for the Nook-I agree with everyone else who said it. But I am hooked on this series and wanted to read it as soon as it came out-so I bought it. It is true Stephanie Plum. There are many laugh out loud moments and it did not disappoint! I recommend it and cannot wait for the next one!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Agree with Nooksie

    I agree with Nooksie. This book should be critique based on one actually reading the novel. Issues about pricing or one not knowing how to operate their Nook ereader, has absolutely nothing to do with the author's work. Email the publising Co. and B & N with such concerns. Its incredible what people write in the R & R, get a grip people. Do you understand what rate and review really mean?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Way to go JE! **SPOILER ALERT**

    I'm a huge fan of JE. I have been reading her books for forever(romances included!). I hadn't purchased the last three or four, but read them as friends finished with their copies.

    I kind of felt JE was off her stride a bit after Ten. I'm glad to say, this book was much closer to the JE of old. Sure some things are kind of recycled but she is just reminding me why I love these characters so much.

    This book really ratchets up the tension surrounding Stephanie's life decisions and I'm very grateful the next book will be released in November.

    I am Cupcake and do truly hope for a HEA with Joe and Steph. If clues are any indication there is a big decision/conflict heading Joe, Ranger, and Steph's way. One that takes 9 months in the making.

    But that's just a guess on my part from some hints left in the book. Maybe it's just a scare, but it would be hard to determine who the daddy is when you're sleeping with them both in a matter of a couple of days.

    Good read! Looking forward to the next one. (hope my fingers don't get sore from staying crossed that Steph finds love and happiness with Joe)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    I like her story lines - but I am getting somewhat bored with the same old - same old.

    I am still waiting to have it downloaded into my Nook. I also agree that prices are getting out of hand. Why so much money? Yes, Greed is the culprit! I like reading her books but I might have to wait until my library gets it in rather than reading it on my Nook. Thanks, JW

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    SHORT READ, BUT STILL AWESOME!

    I love reading this series. I've been reading it since I was in high school. J.E. never fails to entertain! Although it was fairly short compared to her other books, it was still a great read. And don't you worry, a new one is coming out November 2011! :) 4 stars because it ended too soon :-(

    Just an FYI - eBook prices are set by publishers unless an author self-publishes. NOT B&N, NOT AMAZON, NOT APPLE and whoever else sells eBooks. They started going up the beginning of January 2010. Be mad, just be mad at the right company.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Definately funny

    All of the books are good. This is one of the funniest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    I love the Stephanie Plum series!

    I however, will not pay the asking pice for the ebook.
    I thought that the ebooks were supposd to be economical - - no bindings, pages, etc. That's why I bought the Nook.
    I'll wait for it to come out in papaerback and buy it at the Walmart; the library, if necessary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Another great novel

    I loved it. I am constantly amazed how the author can keep the series fresh. There are always surprises and laugh out loud funny parts. I can not wait for the next novel and to see.the movie next year. Keep up the great work!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    Great Read!!!

    This is a good book, just as good as her other Plum books!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Expensive, but still a good read.

    I get what the other readers are saying about the price, but it's still a good book. Still, I can't help wondering when Stephanie is going to choose between Morrelli and Ranger. I personally would go with Morrelli if I were her. He's good in bed and still the kind of guy to stick around. Ranger is liable to disappear at any moment. I can't believe that she slept with him WHILE she was dating Morrelli!!!! I guess the vorrdo was the real deal.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Not quite as funny

    Read all the other stephanie plum books which were "laugh out loud" funny. This book was a bit diappointing in the funny area but still a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Back to the Plum world I love

    Much better than 16 (that was a disaster). Stephanie and Lula are back to their normal behavior. A lot of Morelli and Ranger (loved it) and the love triangle. Morelli is his fun-lovin' self and Ranger is sexy and mysterious. I love that he says paragraphs with only a word or two. I figured out early who was leaving Stephanie the 'gifts' of bodies, but it was fun reading about everything that happened before Stephanie figured it out. The book ended with a question; can't wait for 18; and am thankful it is coming out this year. Janet has gotten back on track with this one and has satisified numerous readers requests to publish two books this year to make up for disasterous 16.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    Love this book! Great story and grat characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Same old Stephanie

    I love the Stephanie Plum series, however, I wish that she would just choose Ranger and be done with Morelli. The series is getting to be the same old, needs a little pick up, but overall I would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Bless-your-heart

    What's with the Jacked up price? Have you lost your minds...say it out loud"E-book"..not hardback...not even paperback!!! Bless-your-heart

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    E-Book Pricing

    So I am hooked on my Nook but can't afford the e-books!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 518 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26