Customer Reviews for

Smooth Talking Stranger

Average Rating 4.5
( 374 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Lisa Kleypas Book

After reading the first book (Sugar Daddy) and second book (Blue Eyed Devil), I'll have to say this is by far my favorite. I laughed so often at the sexy banter between Jack and Ella. I giggle like a school girl at Jack's sweetness and thoughtfulness. I like that Ella's...
After reading the first book (Sugar Daddy) and second book (Blue Eyed Devil), I'll have to say this is by far my favorite. I laughed so often at the sexy banter between Jack and Ella. I giggle like a school girl at Jack's sweetness and thoughtfulness. I like that Ella's character isn't pictured as so sophisticated or super gorgeous but she seemed like a normal, pretty woman with brains and spunk. But as you get to know her and Jack's character, it's really surprising to see how compatible they both are and how perfect for each other. This book has the raw sexiness, humor, and drama that just grips you and makes you want to finish the book cover to cover. I must say.. I love Jack's character the best, but yet Joe's story isn't out yet...

posted by Cherryl on January 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not Kleypas Greatest!

I was not really thrilled with "Smooth Talking Stranger" the latest addition to Lisa Kleypas' collection. The characters and plot lacked depth. It seems that the story line was very unbelievable most especially the romance between Jack and Ella. Just did not seem nat...
I was not really thrilled with "Smooth Talking Stranger" the latest addition to Lisa Kleypas' collection. The characters and plot lacked depth. It seems that the story line was very unbelievable most especially the romance between Jack and Ella. Just did not seem natural, and was almost fantasy like. Just seemed like it was missing a lot of pieces while reading this book. I would only recommend this book for maybe a rainy day read, or for someone that wants a quick read without having to think too much about the plot.

posted by IKeepReading on April 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Lisa Kleypas Book

    After reading the first book (Sugar Daddy) and second book (Blue Eyed Devil), I'll have to say this is by far my favorite. I laughed so often at the sexy banter between Jack and Ella. I giggle like a school girl at Jack's sweetness and thoughtfulness. I like that Ella's character isn't pictured as so sophisticated or super gorgeous but she seemed like a normal, pretty woman with brains and spunk. But as you get to know her and Jack's character, it's really surprising to see how compatible they both are and how perfect for each other. This book has the raw sexiness, humor, and drama that just grips you and makes you want to finish the book cover to cover. I must say.. I love Jack's character the best, but yet Joe's story isn't out yet...

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful life lessons that are good for the soul!

    Ella has been so determined to be her own woman and not live her life according to what man and society dictates. When her toxic mother disrupts her plans, Ella has to come to terms with hurdles, one of which is to get her unexpected newborn nephew or he goes to foster care. Within moments, she's handed the second, don't come home with a baby. Where is her sister?

    Ella has accepted some beliefs that are more about what she doesn't want than what she does.

    Well worth your time!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    It is the most wonderful book I had read!

    I loved Jack and the way he takes care of Ella.
    It is really touching and the love scenes a bonus.
    I will recomended to everybody, because make you believe in good people (especially rich people.)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    Loved This Book

    What a great read!
    This was my favorite book out of the other 2.
    I have to say, that the cover did not appeal to me.
    But finally picked it up and read a little bit of it and was hooked.
    I love that Lisa doesn't repeat!!!!!! She describes the characters ONCE
    and moves on with the story. Love Jack.....I wish there was more of him.
    Who doesn't love to read about a millionaire hunk? Lisa, we need more of Jack!!!!!!!another book perhaps. Totally loved this book!!!! Hope Lisa will write more books like this one......

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Hard to describe...

    the emotions I felt as I read this book. After reading Blue Eyed Devil, I eagerly looked forward to the story of Jack. I knew it would have to really reach high to meet my expectations, and it certainly did. What I love so much about Lisa's characters are the true to life dysfunctions that many families experience. She doesn't paint them as perfect - more like imperfect just searching for something that makes meaning. Ella is probably one of the best heroine/protagonist I have come alone in a long time. Smart, independent but insecure on the inside due to family pain and a mother who was there, but not there. So many of us could relate to that parental situation in some way. As for Jack - all I can say is that I was literally wishing he would jump off the pages and just smile at me. Wouldn't any of us just love to meet a Jack? This was by far my favorite of the trio so far. It just "zinged" for me on so many levels. And what I love about her stories is there are no implausible plots with so many avenues in different directions. Just normal people trying to find their way and while the wealthy quality is something out of my realm, it certainly is nice to dream. On a rather funny note, I did have a few moments where I just wanted to reach inside and smack Tara. I don't want to read more about her....I could never like her now - but it's hard to not want her to 'wake up and smell the coffee."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great never ending story!

    Ella and Jack were the perfect couple who didn't fall into the usual "romance-novel" scenario. Ella knew something was missing in her world and Jack knew it was him. I loved how Jack just took over and forced his hand. Ella was caught up and too late to turn back, she realized she was where she needed to be. This addition to the Travis family was a great story of not just romantic love but also that deep, soul binding love that allows you to conquer all. And I loved getting to see Liberty and Gage and Haven and Hardy again. These characters never loss their shine. Kudos to LK.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Book

    I loved this book!! I have read the complete series. I liked this book and "Blue Eyed Devil" better than "Sugar Daddy". Should read the other 2 books first for this one to make more sense. Hope she is going to write a book for "Joe" I loved the characters and the plot line. I have turned my niece unto these books. She loved them also. Have recommend the series to friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love, Love, Love this book!

    Lisa Kleypas is awesome! I love her characters and loved this book! She puts REAL emotions to her characters and you can totally relate to them and what they are going through. Not some sureal emotional abilites that no true human person would have. Jack Travis in this book is to die for and his romantic side has you sizzling! Ella is strong and is a great match for Jack. This book is going to be one you can't put down. It's a great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Sweet and Smooth

    Smooth Talking Stranger is a winner.
    The chemistry between Jack and Ella is moving: I just love Jack; he's so smooth. The love these two show the abandoned baby is delightful. The story is real, and the plot is great. I also liked the use of first person point-of-view. Yes, this novel warms the heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Kleypas Greatest!

    I was not really thrilled with "Smooth Talking Stranger" the latest addition to Lisa Kleypas' collection. The characters and plot lacked depth. It seems that the story line was very unbelievable most especially the romance between Jack and Ella. Just did not seem natural, and was almost fantasy like. Just seemed like it was missing a lot of pieces while reading this book. I would only recommend this book for maybe a rainy day read, or for someone that wants a quick read without having to think too much about the plot.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    I loved this book ... loved Jack and Ella, and Luke.  I wish Lis

    I loved this book ... loved Jack and Ella, and Luke.  I wish Lisa Kleypas would write more contemporary and less historical romances.  She is a very talented writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Great Book!

    This was my first Lisa Kleypas read and I was not only pleasantly surprised, but impressed. She's a great story-teller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Love it!!

    Glad I randomly picked up this book. I love the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Must Read!!!

    If your looking for a great read this is it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Excellent read

    Love it sooo much! Such an adorable story! This book has lots of the reasons I read romance novels! I agree the cover is weird, but the book is awesome! Love Love the hero! I want one! Buy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Loved it

    One of her best books. Loved Jack!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    GREAT READ !

    LOVED, LOVED, LOVED THE SERIES! BUT, Lisa can you PLEASE write Joe's story...I miss the family and all the wonderful, vivid characters!
    VERY heartbroken that you haven't come out with the last brother's story!
    Faithfully awaiting....one of your biggest fan's!

    MML

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    I randomly picked this up at the library after reading some of K

    I randomly picked this up at the library after reading some of Kleypas's historical romantic fiction. I'm not a fan of Texas or the cover but I read it anyway. I'm glad I did! I really enjoyed this book. It was interesting and not mundane and as predictable as romance novels can be. I was quite taken with Jack. I went right out and read the two other books in this series. I enjoyed this book so much that I have actually ordered it which is saying a lot since most of the fiction I read, I read once and am done. This is definitely a book for your collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Excellent

    This is the first book I have read by Lisa Kleypas and I have already ordered the next one. I can't wait to get it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Makes you love Texas men!

    I love Lisa Kleypas. This 3rd book in the series is amazing. Nothing like an alpha male to throw you off your game. If I met Jack I wound't be able to breathe around him and Ella gives up a good fight. Lisa's writing is sexy, romantic, sizzling, touching and so well-written. I have the series in hardback but got this for my Nook to read again and again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19