BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Smooth Talking Stranger

Average Rating 4.5
( 362 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(218)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Lisa Kleypas Book

After reading the first book (Sugar Daddy) and second book (Blue Eyed Devil), I'll have to say this is by far my favorite. I laughed so often at the sexy banter between Jack and Ella. I giggle like a school girl at Jack's sweetness and thoughtfulness. I like that Ella's...
After reading the first book (Sugar Daddy) and second book (Blue Eyed Devil), I'll have to say this is by far my favorite. I laughed so often at the sexy banter between Jack and Ella. I giggle like a school girl at Jack's sweetness and thoughtfulness. I like that Ella's character isn't pictured as so sophisticated or super gorgeous but she seemed like a normal, pretty woman with brains and spunk. But as you get to know her and Jack's character, it's really surprising to see how compatible they both are and how perfect for each other. This book has the raw sexiness, humor, and drama that just grips you and makes you want to finish the book cover to cover. I must say.. I love Jack's character the best, but yet Joe's story isn't out yet...

posted by Cherryl on January 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not Kleypas Greatest!

I was not really thrilled with "Smooth Talking Stranger" the latest addition to Lisa Kleypas' collection. The characters and plot lacked depth. It seems that the story line was very unbelievable most especially the romance between Jack and Ella. Just did not seem nat...
I was not really thrilled with "Smooth Talking Stranger" the latest addition to Lisa Kleypas' collection. The characters and plot lacked depth. It seems that the story line was very unbelievable most especially the romance between Jack and Ella. Just did not seem natural, and was almost fantasy like. Just seemed like it was missing a lot of pieces while reading this book. I would only recommend this book for maybe a rainy day read, or for someone that wants a quick read without having to think too much about the plot.

posted by IKeepReading on April 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Kleypas Greatest!

    I was not really thrilled with "Smooth Talking Stranger" the latest addition to Lisa Kleypas' collection. The characters and plot lacked depth. It seems that the story line was very unbelievable most especially the romance between Jack and Ella. Just did not seem natural, and was almost fantasy like. Just seemed like it was missing a lot of pieces while reading this book. I would only recommend this book for maybe a rainy day read, or for someone that wants a quick read without having to think too much about the plot.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    This one wasn't as good as the first two stories about the Travis's but it was still worth it. I listened to this one on CD and the reader was pleasant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Lisa's Best

    So I really liked this story but there were some definite down sides. For one, when did Lisa decide to NEVER give the male POV????? Second, not a huge fan of romance books with newborn babies involved. But Jack Travis is dreamy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not my favorite, but good

    Smoothing Talking Stranger wasn't nearly as good as Blue-Eyed Devil or Sugar Daddy, but I enjoyed it. I actually only have one issue with this book. I had a really hard time believing in Ella and Jack's introduction. Ella's only point of contact with Jack is that her sister may or may not have slept with him and that her nephew may or may not be his child. That connection was just a little to far fetched for me. In Blue-Eyed Devil Liberty and Hardy knew each other since childhood, and in Sugar Daddy Churchill had been in love with Liberty's mother. I didn't feel like the characters were as well connected in this novel as in the other two. Aside from that, I thought Smooth Talking Stranger was a solid read. It was entertaining, if predictable. It wasn't my favorite novel by Kleypas, but I enjoyed it and would recommend it for a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ok Read

    This book was okay. I personally enjoy her historical romance books more. I would recommend checking this out at you local library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    Not as good as expected - too formulaic.

    This book is good for escapism only. The plot and characters do not live in the real world. The sex is too much! No ordinary relationship could possibly have this much "horizontal time"! When do you work, sleep, eat, etc.?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet

    I enjoy Lisa Kleypas books. This was a quick read. If you have read any of Ms. Kleypas books before then the story line is very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    Another book in the Travis Series

    I love love love Lisa Kleypas, but Smooth Talking Stranger (STS) isn't one of her better efforts. The chemistry and attention to detail in Blue-Eyed Devil (BED) and Sugar Daddy (SD) is missing in this installment. Even though those other two books, like this one, were told in the first person, I still got a sense of what the hero was thinking and feeling. The chemistry between the hero and heroine and how their love conquered difficult obstacles was powerfully written in BED and SD. In STS, Jack's desires, ambitions and interests concerning Ella all seem to come from left field in STS and I'm left feeling like this effort was rushed and that I walked in on the 2nd act of a play. Kleypas does a good job describing the heroine and her struggles. However, Jack and Ella's love story take backseat to the drama of Luke and like another reviewer pointed out, the relationship felt forced and unreal. I highly recommend you read the other two books from the Travis series and you'll get a taste of how STS SHOULD have been written. I actually read STS before the other two and that made me reluctant to read BED and SD, but I'm glad I did and saw what STS had been missing! I'd keep this book in my permanent library because it's part of the Travis series, but that's the only reason why. I hope Joe's book (if he has one coming up) is better written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2