Customer Reviews for

Snow Angels: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    A Great Read

    O'Nan is a deceptively simple writer. His words resound with clarity and depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed writing style

    O'Nan is a gifted writer that can make any story enjoyable. He interweaves two families that are in the process of divorce. He begins with the ending of the story and uses the rest of the book to lead up to the event with few surprises along the way. It's not an extremely thrilling book, but he just has a writing style that I enjoy reading. I highly recommend his book A Prayer for the Dying (one of the my Favorite books).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing Memorable...

    My first impression of this book was that it was meant for 6th graders. The font size used was huge and made it appear as if it had 10 words per page.

    Once I started reading it, I realized I wasn't too far off. While the subject matter is too much of a downer for a nine year old, the way the story was written would have made them feel right at home. The sentences were choppy and had no weight to them.

    There were so many missed opportunities that could have made this book a knockout, but were simply washed away. The deaths of several characters were described in at most 2 simply written paragraphs. I was left with a feeling of wanting more (or really SOMETHING) and getting handed simply a statement.

    You don't get a sense of love or hatred for any of the characters. While a lot of situations were sad, they were just that. Sad. Then you moved on. You didn't relate to the characters just the situation, which when it comes to reading a 300 page book, would help.

    I was disappointed by this book as it was recommended by someone who reads a massive amount of books. This book will definitely be sold at the next yard sale. No reason to keep it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    excellent story

    I have had this book on my shelves for awhile, recommended to me by a fellow B&N poster. This is my first O'Nan book and I really enjoyed it. It is told mostly through Arthur,a 14 year old boy who is trying to get by despite his parents' divorce and the changes that ensue. The parallel story line is the events leading up to the death of Annie, Arthur's former babysitter. Annie is separated from her recently suicidal husband and trying to raise her young daughter. There is a lot to like and a lot to criticize about Annie. The story is heart-breaking but unsentimental, a straight-forward plot.
    My favorite passage from the novel: I heard the door open and my mother outside, her voice tiny and stretched, screaming at him as he made for the Nova. I sat on the edge of my bed, calmly parting my hair. Like everything else that happened this winter, I was not going to let this stop me from being happy.
    O'Nan is an excellent writer and I can't wait to read some of his others, especially Last Night at the Lobster and Songs for the Missing. Snow Angels is also a movie with Kate Beckinsale and Sam Rockwell. It's in my Netflix queue and I hope it is true to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book!

    This is the 2nd book I've read by Stewart O'Nan. I love how he writes because I feel like I know his characters. I knew Arthur and his parents (my parents divorced when I turned 20) and I knew Annie. This is a heart-breaking story but it is hopeful, too. Life goes on and experience shapes a person. I could not put this book down. I'm returning it to the library today and will pick up another of Mr. O'Nan's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Story About The Pain Of Youth

    I loved this story. Though the prose was very simple and not very stimulating intelligently it still was very deep and among most things very true. The characters in the story are people that we know in our ordinary day to day lives and how they act without the concern for the feelings of others. The fact that we all have at some point in our lives experienced the pain that Arthur is going through at the blossom of puberty and that feeling of growing detachment from family and the world as a whole makes this story very real to anyone who reads it.<BR/>Simple yet very touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    A heavenly read!

    This is a story that links two families, almost indirectly, by a tragedy that affects them in enormously painful ways. Set in a rural community in Pennsylvania in mid-1970, the story is built around the lives of the two main characters, Arthur Parkinson and Annie Marchand. Arthur, who is the narrator of the chapters about his part in this heartbreaking story, is a 14-year-old high school student who is dealing with his family¿s slowly decaying break up. At the same time, a narrator who gives us the picture of her dismal, failing marriage and careless lifestyle, tells Annie¿s chaotic story. Arthur and his older sister Astrid are the children of parents who are selfish and immature, putting their needs ahead of their children. As Arthur¿s mother decides to divorce his father, the life Arthur knows begins to change. Moving and their resulting socio-economic situation only add to Arthur¿s problems as he tries to confront his involvement in Annie¿s story. Adolescence, confusion, fear, and torment all play into Arthur¿s mental state during this time. The events in his life during these years are only overshadowed by the awful part that involves Arthur in Annie¿s heartbreaking calamity. Whereas Annie Marchand was once the delightful babysitter to Arthur and Astrid, she soon inadvertently becomes the center of many of the problems for this family and especially Arthur. Annie, meanwhile, grows up to marry Glenn Marchand and her imprudent and neglectful acts soon result in her leaving Glenn, despite how it may effect her daughter, Tara. Although Glenn tries in his own somewhat feeble way to reconcile with Annie, who he loves, she rejects his efforts. In fact, she goes as far as to having an affair with Brock who is one of her own friend¿s boyfriends. Annie, proves to be even more selfish than one can imagine to the point that she neglects even Tara. This results in tragic consequences that lead to the beginning, and the end, of this tormented tale. Annie¿s future is one that she herself brings about through her actions. And yet, O¿Nan¿s treatment of Annie¿s character can still leave one with sympathy for her. In the end, we find Arthur questioning still what really has gone on and how things happened. Arthur feels that perhaps if he concentrates on the details of the past few years that are described in the book, that perhaps he ¿will finally understand everything that happened back then¿ and yet he goes on to say that he knows he can¿t. This leaves us with great sympathy for Arthur who turns out to be somewhat of an innocent bystander to all that goes on around him due in fact to all the other characters¿ actions. Snow Angels by Stewart O¿Nan is one of his earliest works. Recently having previewed his soon to be released Songs for the Missing and going back to read Last Night at the Lobster, I wasn¿t sure what to expect with Snow Angels. I was pleasantly relieved to find that Snow Angels fell in line with my opinion of O¿Nan as based on Last Night at the Lobster, instead of the extremely disappointing Songs for the Missing. With Snow Angels Stewart O¿Nan gives us the same working class characterizations that made me love his ¿Lobster¿ book and allows the reader to relate to the story and want to finish reading it without stopping. This is a story that will stay with the reader for a long time, as it will with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Amazing

    I found this book to be absolutely amazing. I could not put it down. It's so sad and depressing and yet it also has a lot of beauty to it. I don't know else how to describe how amazing this was. This book is amazing to me on so many levels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Will stay with you

    This is a story that links two families, almost indirectly, by a tragedy that affects them in enormously painful ways. Set in a rural community in Pennsylvania in mid-1970, the story is built around the lives of the two main characters, Arthur Parkinson and Annie Marchand. Arthur, who is the narrator of the chapters about his part in this heartbreaking story, is a 14-year-old high school student who is dealing with his family¿s slowly decaying break up. At the same time, a narrator who gives us the picture of her dismal, failing marriage and careless lifestyle, tells Annie¿s chaotic story. Arthur and his older sister Astrid are the children of parents who are selfish and immature, putting their needs ahead of their children. As Arthur¿s mother decides to divorce his father, the life Arthur knows begins to change. Moving and their resulting socio-economic situation only add to Arthur¿s problems as he tries to confront his involvement in Annie¿s story. Adolescence, confusion, fear, and torment all play into Arthur¿s mental state during this time. The events in his life during these years are only overshadowed by the awful part that involves Arthur in Annie¿s heartbreaking calamity. Whereas Annie Marchand was once the delightful babysitter to Arthur and Astrid, she soon inadvertently becomes the center of many of the problems for this family and especially Arthur. Annie, meanwhile, grows up to marry Glenn Marchand and her imprudent and neglectful acts soon result in her leaving Glenn, despite how it may effect her daughter, Tara. Although Glenn tries in his own somewhat feeble way to reconcile with Annie, who he loves, she rejects his efforts. In fact, she goes as far as to having an affair with Brock who is one of her own friend¿s boyfriends. Annie, proves to be even more selfish than one can imagine to the point that she neglects even Tara. This results in tragic consequences that lead to the beginning, and the end, of this tormented tale. Annie¿s future is one that she herself brings about through her actions. And yet, O¿Nan¿s treatment of Annie¿s character can still leave one with sympathy for her. In the end, we find Arthur questioning still what really has gone on and how things happened. Arthur feels that perhaps if he concentrates on the details of the past few years that are described in the book, that perhaps he ¿will finally understand everything that happened back then¿ and yet he goes on to say that he knows he can¿t. This leaves us with great sympathy for Arthur who turns out to be somewhat of an innocent bystander to all that goes on around him due in fact to all the other characters¿ actions. Snow Angels by Stewart O¿Nan is one of his earliest works. Recently having previewed his soon to be released Songs for the Missing and going back to read Last Night at the Lobster, I wasn¿t sure what to expect with Snow Angels. I was pleasantly relieved to find that Snow Angels fell in line with my opinion of O¿Nan as based on Last Night at the Lobster, instead of the extremely disappointing Songs for the Missing. With Snow Angels Stewart O¿Nan gives us the same working class characterizations that made me love his ¿Lobster¿ book and allows the reader to relate to the story and want to finish reading it without stopping. This is a story that will stay with the reader for a long time, as it will with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Mediocre prose and very depressing.

    Snow Angels is a book I picked up on a whim at the local Barnes and Noble. It took me almost three weeks to get through it. The prose was extremely hard to follow at times. Also the story was just down right depressing. In my opinion I read books to learn something, escape the real world for awhile and maybe be given a glimmer of hope for humanity. This book did nothing for me and life is too short to waste on bad prose and bad story lines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2000

    HAUNTING - UNFORGETTABLE

    O'NAN WRITES SO YOU FEEL YOU ARE RIGHT THERE. THE YOUNG BOY, HIS FAMILY, HIS FORMER BABY-SITTER - THE SCHOOL BUS TRIPS - ARE SO REAL. THE STORY GAVE ME A CLEARER UNDERSTANDING OF HOW OTHERS LIVE AND COPE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1