Customer Reviews for

Snow Crash

Average Rating 4.5
( 460 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(295)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

best. book. ever.

"Snow Crash" rocks. What else can you say about a book published in 1992 featuring a heroic protagonist named Hiro Protagonist that incorporated pizza delivery franchises, ninjas, punk rock, linguistics, skateboarding, avatars, mafiosi, glass knives, and gated communit...
"Snow Crash" rocks. What else can you say about a book published in 1992 featuring a heroic protagonist named Hiro Protagonist that incorporated pizza delivery franchises, ninjas, punk rock, linguistics, skateboarding, avatars, mafiosi, glass knives, and gated communities ... and managed to be prescient and coherent without being absurd? I've read thousands of books, and have never found one more engaging than this.

posted by Professor_Crash on November 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Feelings but definitely worth a read

I had no idea what this book was about before picking it up. It was on a list of top books to read in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy category and it was next up for me to read. The writing style is definitely Neal Stephenson but it seemed more disjointed than his normal book. It to...
I had no idea what this book was about before picking it up. It was on a list of top books to read in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy category and it was next up for me to read. The writing style is definitely Neal Stephenson but it seemed more disjointed than his normal book. It took me until about a quarter of the way into the book to really feel like I understand even a small portion of it. Once I did figure out what was going on it was a pretty good read. Previously I have read Cryptonomicon from this author and very much enjoyed it. I would say over all to give it a try and hang in there if you not to sure about it. It turns out pretty well.

posted by 3921320 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 463 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    best. book. ever.

    "Snow Crash" rocks. What else can you say about a book published in 1992 featuring a heroic protagonist named Hiro Protagonist that incorporated pizza delivery franchises, ninjas, punk rock, linguistics, skateboarding, avatars, mafiosi, glass knives, and gated communities ... and managed to be prescient and coherent without being absurd? I've read thousands of books, and have never found one more engaging than this.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story, even better when you realize what year it was written

    Stephenson wrote this book in the late 80's / very early 90's. If you read the book (which is a really great read even if it were written recently) with that in mind, it will give you an extra appreciation for the feats of imagination contained within. The "internets" as our fearless leader would call it was certainly in existence at that time, but people, it was accessed via character based, pre-Windows, menu driven applications!

    The story starts with a sci-fi futuristic bang but builds into a really compelling drama/mystery that just gets more and more interesting while introducing one great futuristic notion after another. Eventually he ends up dealing with the origin of human language, the Bible, the Mafia, corporate America, skater culture...but it's not all over the place. It's brilliant.

    I've given this book to at least 10 people, and every last one of them loved it. A slam dunk any time but especially for holiday/summer/travel reading.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    A great cyberpunk novel

    While browsing through my local B&N I saw this one on the shelf and it caught my eye. I had seen Cryptonomicon before but didn't know if the author's writing style would appeal to me. I decided to start with Snow Crash since it was shorter and the synopsis sounded, well, cool. Like others have said, the beginning is confusing with all the new terminology but by the end of the first chapter I was hooked. I found myself frequently laughing out loud while reading and the middle section's Sumerian Myth lessons were very interesting. I was simply blown away by every aspect of this book. Well, except the ending which was too short. I felt like it needed at least another 10 pages of wrap-up. Because of this the ending seemed a little too 'neat' for such a crazy roller coaster of a story. But I'd read this again any day, it's better than most books on the shelves these days.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    joyful romp

    A joyful romp in American near sci-fi. Truly one of the best

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    One of my favorites

    I recieved this book as a gift several years ago, and I've recommended it to most of my friends. Whether you take the time it was written into consideration or not, the story is compelling. I thoroughly enjoyed the tech described in the book, and I am continually amazed how close Stephenson came to several current products.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great

    This book shows a great view of a hyper consumerist, dystopian USA. Worth the read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Great!

    Excellent hard cyber punk

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Genius

    Stephenson is really a gifted author. The scope of the novel is epic, the characters well developed, and the plot well conceiced. Bravo.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Wow! I could not put it down.

    I don't read much fiction but a friend loaned me her copy and I was blown away. The depth of the story and characters is amazing. Stop wondering and buy the book. You won't want it to end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    privatization run amok in near future

    Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom did it for projecting worst-case into the future about on-line reputation and competition. Snow Crash does it for privatization of public services and the decline of American life. But somehow this comes off as fun, punk, optimistic about the fate of strong individuals and insightful about the nature of everything from the origins of human languages to the hazards of sword-fighting as an online avatar. It's a rush just commenting on this, even though I'm years behind the curve after the novel's original publish date. Next one for me, despite some ambiguous reviews, should be Neal Stephenson's new one, "Reamde," another one of those books where alternative lifestyles can also refer to our alter egos online. Why is the future of the world and humanity always at stake?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating book...

    Even though the book is recommended on top ### lists for Sci-Fi/Fantasy, the book is more about a number of other topics, including religion and human growth.

    Neal Stephenson is a fantastic writer who was able to create anti-heroes you couldn't help but root for. Another enjoyable work from the author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    I am not worthy. I am not worthy. I am not worthy.

    I am not worthy. I am not worthy. I am not worthy. I am not worthy. I am not worthy etc. etc. etc.......I think you get it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    great read

    this was an amazing read. Every time I meet someone who likes sci-fi novels, I recommend this book! Even though there is a lot of religious/myth references that sometimes seem confusing, it was still exciting!! A definite must-read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "...Stephenson's world-building is fantastic, and I had to


    "...Stephenson's world-building is fantastic, and I had to keep reminding myself that this was published back in the early '90s, because it feels like it could have been written more recently. I'm not sure if Snow Crash is the result of pure genius, or a lot of research, or both (probably both), but the world Stephenson creates for this book includes enough realistic elements that it feels like a very plausible future, and I found it very interesting to get into...Even when there are breaks from the action, I still wouldn't exactly call it a "lull." It took me a long time to actually finish this book, because school kind of took over my life for a while this past semester, but even after a month or two, I was able to pick this up and remembered everything that had been going on without having to flip back and refresh my memory. Some books, you know you would have to do that, but I was too into this one to forget any of the details, and I think that is very telling of the ability Stephenson has to create a world and a story and characters that a reader can become truly invested in."


    For full review, please visit me at Here Be Bookwyrms on Blogger!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Great

    Great book it really is worth the money

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Mixed Feelings but definitely worth a read

    I had no idea what this book was about before picking it up. It was on a list of top books to read in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy category and it was next up for me to read. The writing style is definitely Neal Stephenson but it seemed more disjointed than his normal book. It took me until about a quarter of the way into the book to really feel like I understand even a small portion of it. Once I did figure out what was going on it was a pretty good read. Previously I have read Cryptonomicon from this author and very much enjoyed it. I would say over all to give it a try and hang in there if you not to sure about it. It turns out pretty well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Stephenson delivers a ripping, running story that in the early 90's was a stunning entre to the science fiction scene.

    The protagonist in this novel is cleverly named Hiro Protagonist, a pizza delivery man for The Mafia. The Mafia of the alternate, yet recognizably, and plausibly contemporary world that Stephenson has constructed for the reader. A young lady making a package delivery in the area in which our Hiro has found himself in a catastrophic cirmustance has saved him from failure worse than death in its most hideous imaginings. Therefore setting into motion a most tangled web of involvements, high tech shenanigans found within the metaverse, and dangerous turns without it. Where things ARE real, things like bullets, missiles, and most deadly real of all things is the man known as Raven. Find out how our Hiro finds the answers to help and to foil the worlds most powerful entities while appreciating Stephensons abilities to interweave notions and characters masterfully. Did I mention the authors knack for explaining high technology to readers with limited understanding in terms that penetrates some impressive density. Ahem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Classic

    I got hooked on this book in the first few paragraphs and remained hooked all the way till the end. Its inventive, fun, and flows seamlessly. A must read for any fan of Cyber Punk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Best book ever

    Read this

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great sci-fi...

    I loved this book and the references to our lives today are poetic. Y.T. is a strong female character I won't soon forget. A must-read for sci-fi lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 463 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24