Customer Reviews for

Snow Falling on Cedars

Average Rating 4
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

beautifully atmospheric...

Snow Falling on Cedars is a beautifully atmospheric love story/murder mystery. It takes place on San Piedro Island off the Pacific Coast. The story alternates from the trial of a Japanese American on trial for murder in 1954 to the background stories of the relevant cha...
Snow Falling on Cedars is a beautifully atmospheric love story/murder mystery. It takes place on San Piedro Island off the Pacific Coast. The story alternates from the trial of a Japanese American on trial for murder in 1954 to the background stories of the relevant characters leading up to WWII and after. Snow Falling on Cedars brings up questions of loyalty, racism and forgiveness. The mood of the novel matches it's scenery, dark and stormy. The love stories are passionate and emotional. The writing is beautifully descriptive. David Guterson brings the island of San Piedro and it's inhabitants vividly to life in a novel I'll not soon forget.

posted by songcatchers on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good in some parts...

I read this novel in high school and although it was more interesting than most of the novels we read, I was not pleased with all of the sexual innuendos and don't think that this is necessary in books to be read and analyzed in school.

posted by peppermintpatty320 on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 211 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    thought provoking story

    This is a good book; I enjoyed it very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    EXCELLENT!

    Enjoyable book - makes you look into. your heart against preconceived prejudices we all inevitably hold within.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Disappointing

    I won't recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Be caught up in a fiction of true history!

    Greatly written story of the treatment of the Japanese during WW2. You will get caught up in the old friendships divided by a nation's fear and learning how others choose to ignore the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    EXCELLENT PICTURE OF A TIME AND CULTURE

    BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN NOVEL OF SET IN A SMALL AMERICAN TOWN WHERE JAPANESE HAVE SETTLED. CROSS CULTURAL UNDERSTAANDING IS A SOURCE OF CONFLICT AS WORLD WAR 2 HITS HOME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Ethan

    Eah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Shelby

    So did u see cwat i looked likr yester day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Awsome

    I love this book so much i hope there are seceles

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    This is an excellent read.  I received it from a friend in paper

    This is an excellent read.  I received it from a friend in paperback and recently read it.  It takes you back to a time that many of us lived
    through but have little memory of the actual events.  I was born in 1943.  This takes us through the early 50's and shows what it was
    like to be of Japanese descent even though you were born in the U.S.A.  Learn how the Asians were treated from the time they
    immigrated to America.  It doesn't change, we treat our immigrants, legal and illegal terribly even today.  We need more stories on
    what they go through to get here and why.  The background of this story is important in so many ways.  The story is sad and beautiful. 
    I recommend it highly.
       

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Very good debut novel

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Love this book; it is one of my all time favourites and i have a

    Love this book; it is one of my all time favourites and i have an eclectic collection of over one thousand books, so that is saying alot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Snow Falling on Cedars is a murder/mystery novel set on San Pied

    Snow Falling on Cedars is a murder/mystery novel set on San Piedro Island in 1954 that demonstrate the struggle to overcome the obstacles set in a post World War II environment. When local fisherman Carl Heine Jr. is found dead on his own boat, the blame is almost instantaneously put on his Japanese childhood neighbor Kabuo Miyamato who struggles throughout the novel to prove his innocence and revealing a past relationship between his Japanese wife and a white boy. A few things almost lead to Kabuo’s guaranteed conviction. First, when the court hears how Carl’s mother sold the land that they sold to Kabuo’s father when they were at Manzanar. Another was when Carl’s mother testifies against Kabuo due to racism and the personal feud over property with the Miyamatos.
    What I disliked about the book was that the story was moved along mostly in flashbacks but the transitions in between were unclear and imprecise. However, I did like how the war scenes were still entertaining and had enough violence that it was not over-the-top with gore. I also enjoyed the story overall as it was entertaining. If you enjoy mystery stories than it is definitely worth checking it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Leafcolor

    She padded in looking around.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Hail

    "Hiya." She mewed, looking at the cats.~Hail

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Lilypaw

    "Okay." She said. Lilypaw (Yeah?)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Stoneshard

    Change of plans. We are moving to 'silver snow.'
    - Stoneshard

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Good Book

    I thought that Snow Falling on Cedars was a good book. Personally it goes too deep into the background of too many characters. I thought there was a pretty good story line behind it and the way the trial went. I think it was interesting to learn about some of the ways of back then and how the people on the island made a living.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    An enthralling and engrossing depiction of life during and just after WWII centered around an event that recalls a sad event in American history of which few in much younger generations are aware.

    As a child of WWII and as one who once lived in a community with a sizeable Japanese-American population (Monterey, CA), this book none-the-less greatly expanded the experiences of the interned. Although ostensibly a murder mystery, the event of the murder provides the skeleton upon which the larger themes of prejudice, war and love are explored. The characterizations are remarkable because we know these people, and yet we don't really know them at all. The Northwest setting and the years of the war and 1954 are drawn skillfully through descriptions of the weather and daily living in an almost claustrophic atmosphere depicted by that weather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Its been a while...

    I Had to read this book my senior year in highschool, and write a book report-- was dreading it! However, about a day into reading it I could not put it down. I think I finished it in about 4 days. I have not read it since highschool(12yr ago). I thought about this story as I searched for my next big book to read, but could not remember the name of it to save my life! Then today I saw the title, and know right away this was the book. I would read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 211 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11