Customer Reviews for

Snow Falling on Cedars

Average Rating 4
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

beautifully atmospheric...

Snow Falling on Cedars is a beautifully atmospheric love story/murder mystery. It takes place on San Piedro Island off the Pacific Coast. The story alternates from the trial of a Japanese American on trial for murder in 1954 to the background stories of the relevant cha...
Snow Falling on Cedars is a beautifully atmospheric love story/murder mystery. It takes place on San Piedro Island off the Pacific Coast. The story alternates from the trial of a Japanese American on trial for murder in 1954 to the background stories of the relevant characters leading up to WWII and after. Snow Falling on Cedars brings up questions of loyalty, racism and forgiveness. The mood of the novel matches it's scenery, dark and stormy. The love stories are passionate and emotional. The writing is beautifully descriptive. David Guterson brings the island of San Piedro and it's inhabitants vividly to life in a novel I'll not soon forget.

posted by songcatchers on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good in some parts...

I read this novel in high school and although it was more interesting than most of the novels we read, I was not pleased with all of the sexual innuendos and don't think that this is necessary in books to be read and analyzed in school.

posted by peppermintpatty320 on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Good in some parts...

    I read this novel in high school and although it was more interesting than most of the novels we read, I was not pleased with all of the sexual innuendos and don't think that this is necessary in books to be read and analyzed in school.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Disappointing

    I won't recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    High School Senior

    After hearing about the book being a combination murder mystery and romance story I was thrilled but 10 pages into the book my joy dissipated, not only is the plot slow moving, and include unnecessary details but the outcome of the overall story is dull and lacks the punch a murder mystery should have. Though the book gives incite into the lives of Japanese-Americans during World War II the tediousness of the slow-paced monologue is akin to reading a US History book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    Dull, Yet Somewhat Captivating

    Upon reading this synopsis of this novel, I honestly expected something great. Not necessarily a 'heart-stopping, edge-of-your-seat mudrder whodunit' like the description told me, but I did expect a lot. I am sad to say I was a tad disappointed. I found the plot slow-moving in the middle, and the ending was dissatisfying. The whole time you are trying to figure out the mystery.....and you are slapped in the face with something dull and safe. I do, however, praise Guterson for his mastery of painting a solid picture that the reader can easily see in their minds eye. On that note, the war scenes were ineffective, but the imagery concerning the snow, courthouse, and the sacred tree of love between the two main characters, was quite useful. I would recommed this book, but only if you get into slow-moving plots and disappointing endings. This book is nothing special, yet in it's own way, extraordinary. (Quite difficult to describe in words....)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2005

    Hard to enjoy

    While I was reading Snow Falling on Cedars I enjoyed it to a point but it was really hard for me to understand and really get interested in. I would say that this book could lose your attention quick if don't enjoy flashy stories and drawn out chapters. I will say though that I did enjoy the courtroom chapters a little better than the whole war part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2004

    Not that good

    This book was long and drawn out. I just wanted to get to the end so I could read something better. I don't understand what everyone see in this book because I did not see anything special

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    Mystery minus the shock!

    Set on a damp gloomy Island of the cost of washington during the the post World War II era, Kabuo Miyamoto, a japanese american, is being tried for the murder of Carl Heine Jr., a caucasian fisherman. Through the trial we are introduced to many other characters wich play major roles in the story. Hatsue, Kabuo Miyamotos wife, provides the love interest of both Ishmael Chambers and of course her husband Kabuo. From the front cover to the back cover this novel was as predictable as old faithful. For example, the first paragraph of the novel described the accused Kabuo to be full of grace, honor ,courage, and having an imperial bearing in the courtroom. This kind of description was consistant through out the whole book leaving no room to believe he was guilty of murder. The book was not as stimulating as I had hoped a novel written by David Guterson would be. Although I thought the book was lacking in shock value. I did enjoy the moral put forth by the author: 'Accident ruled every corner of the universe except the chambers of the human heart.' Unfortunatly it took David Guterson 460 pages to release this moral when it could have been summed up in fourteen words. I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy intellectually unchallenging as well as predictable books. In other words I do not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Good Learning Tool, But Not A Very Good Story

    This was one of the many books that I was able to choose from for a Contemporary Literature class that I take in my school. From what I heard from friends and family members and reviews online, it was a very good book. I never knew much, or learned much about Japanese interment camps, plus, my teacher told us that it had a love story entangled with it. So I thought it might be interesting. The history on the hardships of the Japanese people after the bombing of Pearl Harbor was very interesting. But the supposable ¿entangled love story¿ was just really a guy obsessing over a girl that he had an illegal relationship with before the Pearl Harbor bombing. Now the girl¿s husband is on trial for killing a man one night out to see. However, all the evidence against the girl¿s husband is all too coincidental. There¿s a slight mystery to it, but instead of keeping you on the edge of your chair, it keeps you far in back of it instead, mainly because of the rambling. The history behind it was very interesting, but the story line altogether, just wasn¿t that great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2002

    WAY STUPID

    This somniferous novel is very over-rated. Snow falling on cedars is only good because of the imagery and symbolizim and the trial Everything else like the flashbacks to pointless love scences and detailed information such as Arthur's dad's favorite books FULLY listed were stupid and boring. Highly unorganized. Good topic/ issues presented but explanations were unqualified. ALso the ending was gross.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    Too slow

    This novel grabbed my attention from the start. I thought the premise of the novel was interesting and the court room scenes were some of the best in the book. However, the story was difficult to follow because it included several flashbacks. It was never made clear that the reader was being whisked from the past to the present and back again. Even though the crux of the story was compelling, it was a book that was easy to put aside because it was bogged down with far too many insignificant details. For instance, at one point there was a discussion of the books Ishmael's father owned. The author went on to list twenty books or so. If he had just named three key books, the reader would have had no problem understanding Ishmael's father's taste, and the story would have flowed much better. Those lengthy details only served to slow down an otherwise interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1