Customer Reviews for

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan

Average Rating 4.5
( 871 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(523)

4 Star

(210)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Pleasant!

    A book for women!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    yet another chance to learn about chinese culture from Lisa See

    I read this book for two reasons: 1) I have really enjoyed the other books by this author (Dreams of Joy and Shanghai Girls), and 2) I heard a movie was being made about it. I did enjoy this book, once again learning a lot about Chinese culture; however, I didn't like it as much as the other books I've read by this author. It takes place a hundred years ago (or thereabouts), so the story is almost like a oral tradition/legend passed down. The narrator tells her own story as an old lady. My problem was that I didn't much like the ending. It was very abrupt, and a little more depressing than I expected. But I guess that is to be expected since women didn't have a very good life in that time period in China.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Interesting



    Very interseting look into a world few have seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Overrated

    While intriguing in its look into Chinese customs, the main character is shallow & eventually unlikeable. A book about redemption should at least have someone who redeems themselves. Lilly, however, starts out engaging & endearing but by the end, she totally changes & becomes cruel & pretentious towards her only real friend in the world. After Snow Flower's inevitable death & the uncloaking of misunderstandings that led Lily to betray Snow Flower's friendship & love, one would think Lily would change for the better or regain her lost morals. But, no, she continues on, stagnant & unchanged, but somehow thinking she finally did right by her friend despite it all.
    Not a total waste of time, though, as the author's vivid descriptions of the foot-binding process actually gave me a head rush & made me gag a bit. An extra star for this otherwise-2-star book goes for sensory overload in that early chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Heartwarming but mediocre

    The story was a good one, but too similar to The Good Earth and with an amature writing style. I was disappointed, but cannot deny being entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Too expensive.

    A decent book but not worth thr monry. Get this one from the library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Lisa See is highly skilled at sharing the Chinese female experiences and relationships in her stories. Although her stories focus on Chinese culture many of the themes are universal. My take from her stories are that misunderstandings and/or vastly different perspectives that two people can have during shared experiences can alter life. Holding so tightly to these narrow views changes Snow Flower and Lily's lives forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Predictable Lisa

    This is the third nnovel of hers that I've read. Very good, like the others, but I'm now burned out on the author and genre. Excellect for first time See readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Maximum rude

    Bnkm.. Poop

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Its ok

    This story is extremely slow and so-so. Nice story but it never really climaxes and is kind of depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Not bad...

    Well written. Engaging. However, it dragged sometimes. I was looking for another "Memoirs of a Geisha" type book. I still enjoyed "Memoirs..." much more thoroughly. This was ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    A bit depressing but probably a real view of China at that time

    Not my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    Fascinating though disturbing

    A deeply interesting look into a much different time and a wildly different place than the U.S., although I will never understand the specific and more general cruelty toward women, even by their own sex. Motivated me toward reading more books about other cultures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Not a favorite.

    I found this story very predictable. I had to force myself to finish it. The weaving of the two lives was weak and uninspiring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    Just OK

    I don't have as much time as I'd like to read, so a story needs to be "worth it". This book was ok, it had memorable characters, but just ok. Not sure I would recommend or lend out to a friend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    Too Depressing!

    I just began with my book club and this is the first book to be read and if this is what people are picking to read and then discuss, I am not sure I want to join a book club. HOW DEPRESSING this entire book was. I almost could not get passed Lily & Snow Flower's foot binding chapter. I am glad I did, but still would not recommend this book unless you enjoy sorrow and sadness in your books. I am not diminishing the book itself just not what I would choose to read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    Great characters, anticlimatic plot

    This is a story about female relationships that must exist within a very rigid system of family and marriage customs where women are by and large treated as property. It was beautiful and told chronologically from the beginning of a life to the end. Still, there was no identifiable climax and I was left feeling a bit cheated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book had all of the elements that I normally like in a book. It takes place over a long period of time, takes place in an exotic land, and is a story about friendship. I did enjoy learning about some of the Chinese customs particularly the foot binding which was common at that time. WARNING, See does go into extensive excruciating detail describing foot binding and its affects. I really feel deeply for what these poor girls had to endure. The descriptions of the foot binding were in fact so painful that I ended up having to skim through a lot of it because my stomach could not take it. I was even curious enough about what the feet looked like that I googled it and almost lost my lunch. That being said I was not a fan of this book. See was very descriptive but I feel that the book lacked emotion. I did not feel a connection with any of the characters and frankly did not care what happened to any of them. Even the friendship between Lily and Snow Flower lacked depth I can't understand why this friendship would even endure for so long. I was very disappointed but I'm still rating it a 3. I can't say it was great but I can't say it was bad either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    Lily wasn't likeable...

    After reading the glowing reviews for this book, I couldn't wait to read it. I was kind of disappointed though. It was okay, but the storyline was utterly forgettable (the footbinding stuff was pretty interesting though!). I didn't care much for Lily's character, either. She seemed to think she was better than her poorer friend and family, but they were the ones who made her who she became. Like Snow Flower, I got tired of her euphemisms and lecturing. And boy, could she hold onto her anger!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Great Anthropological Research, So-so Novel

    I picked up the book and was mesmerized by all the cultural references which transported me to another time and world. But I could not help feeling that this was a well-written term paper with great ethnographic facts loosely strung together by a weak plot and storyline. Conversation between characters seemed staged and contrived, as if they were ready for a performance. There was not much voice distinction between characters. Overall, lukewarm. Seemed like a journalist's report with a mild story angle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5