Customer Reviews for

Snow Garden

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Great mystery book...totally loved it , but a little confusing

    I really only bought Christopher Rice's books because he was the son of Anne Rice but once I read A Density of Souls I really liked his style of writing. In The Snow Garden the story was a bit confusing with too much stuff going on. It had me flipping back often to see if I overlooked something. The first half of the book kinda bored me but then the story got fast paced and exciting. Your judgement of the characters change completely when you see them in a different light. I still think I might have missed something key and I wish I coud discuss it with someone but noone I know read it... Definitely reccommend to everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    He did it again

    Christopher Rice hasn't failed me yet with his thrillers. I read Snow Garden because I loved A Density of Souls and couldn't get enough of his style. Snow Garden was full of twists that left the reader hooked. I was a little disappointed with the end but overall a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    I Was Not Disappointed

    I loved Christoper Rice's first novel 'A Density of Souls'. And he did not disappoint with his second literary work. It was a page-turner until the very end. The twists were endless, and his use of metaphor was flawless. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery and suspense with just a hint of homoeroticism to liven it up. An engaging read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    I had high hopes when I was given a copy of this thriller, mostl

    I had high hopes when I was given a copy of this thriller, mostly because the author is the son of the Legendary Anne Rice, and I was certainly not disappointed.  I flew from page to page very quickly, as the story is addictive.  Rice definitely leaves you wanting more and feeling compassion for his characters, so much so that you end up thinking about the story long after the cover closes.  He certainly has the potential to become a literary giant, just like his mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    Awkward and disappointing

    I plodded through 180 pages of awkward writing, whiny, dysfunctional characters, and glacially paced plot before tossing this novel into my recycle bin. I found that the constant hints to something awful in each character's past irksome and an ineffective method to hold the reader's attention. On the bright side, having spend $7 and change on this paperpack, I will not be tempted to purchase this author's work in hardcover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Snow Garden

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Snow Garden

    My favorite of all of Christopher Rice's novels!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Page-turner

    This book was definitely a page-turner, completely hooked throughout. I did find it a bit confusing in parts since Rice through in so many twists. The ending was both unexpected and a little rushed in my opinion. Honestly the best way to describe the last hundred pages or so would be as a roller coaster - a lot happens really quickly and then it's over and you're left shaking your head wishing that there had been just a little more; such as, what happened to Mitchell, Dr. Eberman, and the undercover detective? Overall a good book, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Don't buy this book or any other book written by Chris Rice

    Christopher Rice has a clumsy writing style and no character development. His plots are predictable and boring. Don't waist your time with any Christopher Rice novel, trust me I unfortunately read three of them for a class at my university.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Sophomore Effort Worth the Read

    Although Christopher Rice's 2nd novel isn't as good or 'charged' with passion as his first, 'A Density of Souls,' it does still reflect Rice's excellent writing style. His ability of visual description and dropping the clues to the reader throughout the entire book is astounding. He dangles the information in front of you and you're left with always wanting more. None of the characters are especially likeable once you find out their secrets and pasts, but Rice does have you interested in each and every one of their lives as you unravel the mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Shocking but not surprising

    Being a half-generation removed from the characters in The Snow Garden, AND being a college teacher, I found the lives of the characters to be realistic yet shocking, understandable yet somewhat unpredictable, a nice balance. I'm really thankful for the half-generation gap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    Now, here's a writer!

    I could tell from the first page that this author could write! I enjoyed his style, as well as the plot and characters! I am reading everything he writes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    Great read!!!!!

    THis book was very eye opening!!!!! I had so much fun reading it was a pure joy!!!! Christopher Rice writes some of the most truthful and nice character development!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    OUTSTANDING

    This was an outstanding achievement! To be honest I was a bit skeptical, because I loved his first novel so much, that I found it nearly impossible for him top it-but he does!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    A well-written but confusing tale

    The book was deeply intelligent and profound but I feel that the author got more caught up in making everything mysterious than explaining what was going on. The book left many questions unanswered and ended up giving me a headache.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    A UNSTOPPABLE READ

    This is a must read book, I could not put it down and read way past the dawn of morning. It has suspence and murder, love and hate, it shows suffering to find ones true idenity and the powerful story of forgivness and peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    Superb!

    This book had me hooked on the very first page and did not let me go until the end. I love it when a book makes me feel like I am saying goodbye to friends when I turn the last page. I imagine Randall and Kathryn will stay with me for a very long time. I can usually figure the ending out by the middle of a book, but this one kept me guessing (and I gasped right out loud more then once...)right up until it's blazing conclusion. Although I completely enjoyed his first novel, this one is my favorite of the two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    not the average murder mystery

    This is the first book I've ever read by Christopher Rice and I'm really glad my cousin recommended it. I've never liked mysteries, but this one is totally different. It doesn't only focus on murders, but on the lives of the people surrounding them too. That's why I enjoyed it so much. Mysteries aren't good unless you know about the people involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    AMAZING!!

    I began to read this book while visiting family in Florida. I ended up wanting to read it more than anything else!!! A great page turner. A great book for young adults and adults alike!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    I love him for this book

    am not much of a reader, but when i read the article in the Los Angeles time back in Feb.2003 i kind of wonder how good of a writer he was. Realizing that he is Anne Rice's son, i wanted to see if it would be worth my time (like most of my men) but he's a good writer. i fell in love with the book and till this day i wonder whatever happen to Rondall , what became of him after all that drama. the book it self keep me going. three days i did not get a good night rest because i did not want to put the book down. also since this was the first book i read from his writting, i wanted to read the other one he wrote and i fell for that book too. but overall the snow gadern was a lot better then the Destiny of Souls ( ill give it the ending) but the snow garden had more of a twist. Now can;t wait for the next book, for sure il be one of the first to get the hard cover book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5