Customer Reviews for

The Snow Queen (Five Hundred Kingdoms Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful adult fairy tale

    As the Snow Queen of the Palace of Ever-Winter, Godmother Aleksia insures magic is handled safely. However the Godmother Elena through their mirror communication system informs her that someone pretending to be the Snow Queen is killing people. Aleksia is angry and disturbed, but plans to put an end to this odious affront.--------- At the same time that Aleksia learns of the deception, the Snow Queen abducts Veikko. His mother the Wise Woman Annukka and his fiancée Kaari vow to save him from the evil one. When these two courageous women meet Aleksia, neither trusts the other until the trio realizes an adversary to all of them is using powerful magic to cause havoc across the land. ----------- The latest Tale of the Five Hundred Kingdoms (see THE FAIRY GODMOTHER, ONE GOOD KNIGHT, and FORTUNE¿S FOOL) is a wonderful adult fairy tale starring three heroines facing danger with courage, wit, and humor. The story line is action-packed from the moment the mirror hot line activates and never slows down until the ¿Queens¿ confront each other. Readers will appreciate the enchanting SNOW QUEEN as Mercedes Lackey casts a reading in one sitting spell on her audience.----- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Another good tale

    I've read this twice now. For some reason I enjoyed it more the second time around. I own all of the books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Read a couple of years ago.

    She has yet to dissapoint with her five hundred kingdoms books. I love that each one is different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Great book!

    Like all of her books, this one was very hard to put down once you started it. I love the twists she gives to the old school fairy tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Snow Queen brings the reader into the lands of the north. G

    The Snow Queen brings the reader into the lands of the north. Godmother Aleksia is a bit different than Godmother Elena. She lives through working with her mirror magic and rarely gets out beyond the random royal event or to bring a would be loner to her palace to figure out what means most in his life. Aleksia is thrown off guard when Godmother Elena reports to her that another woman has taken her name, "The Snow Queen". It is Aleksia's duty to find the person who is responsible for killing innocent people in her name.

    Overall it was a good story. Lackey takes three different female characters from various points in their lives and tells the story from each of their point of view. Although it is not a truly romantic story, there are some love elements in it. The relationships between the side characters show the romantic angle. Aleksia's love life is a bit cold like her palace. Meaning she really doesn't have one. Like in "A Good Knight" that part of the story doesn't really take place until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Another great book in this series...

    Love the Five Hundred Kingdoms Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    One of my favorites of the series

    Book four is far better than books 2 or 3 in the Five Hundred Kingdoms Series. If you liked the first book then you will certainly like this one too. The characters and the setting are all intriguing and fun to read. I especially liked that the entire book was set in a wintry landscape - very appropriate for reading in the winter in Minnesota!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Loved it!

    I have enjoyed pretty much everything Mercededs Lackey has written. This is the 1st in a new series, The 500 Kingdoms. The books sets up a totally different take on traditional fairy tales. The series covers not just Grimm's fairy tales but other countries stories as well. The premise is based on "The Tradition" which is a magical force that nudges people into following the traditional path of a fairy tale, whether they want to or not. This is the story of Elena and how she became a Fairy Godmother from a failed Cinderella story. Her prince never came. The Fairy Godmother's job is to watch over the kingdoms and prevent true evil from taking hold.

    The book is an easy read and fun. There are laugh out loud moments. I mainly enjoyed the premise of Fairy Tales being acted out in real life. Characters are well written and the plot engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you enjoy Lackey, you will enjoy this

    What a fun break from her Valdemar series. Actually, in general, this series is much more mature. More plot, more character development, and an interesting idea. If you are a fan of mythology its fun to recognize the different myths and elements in Lackey's stories. It is the perfect book to read on a rainy day, in bed. I look forward to more books in this series.

    Below is my order of favorites in this series, NOT in the order they are written
    1. The Fairy God Mother
    2. The Snow Queen
    3. One Good Knight
    4. Fortune's Fool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Welcome Change

    I've often enjoyed Mercedes Lackey's writing, but I find these a welcome change from even your regular fantasy. The idea of the Tradition, a guiding force/hand of destiny, based on mythology, is not unlike looking at the evolution of culture from the basics. Mercedes Lackey is never exceedingly heavy on plot, delving more into character development, but this series seems to be her most balanced. The characters are intriguing, the plot is good, and its a good break from everything- even other reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    A new take on an old fairy tale

    Ok..I have to say, I've been a fan of Mercedes Lackey for a long time and enjoy reading about her Godmothers. I must say this was very enjoyable and a good read on the whole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Author

    I own many of Mercedes Lackey books and in the second of a series she has created another success. The book is well written and I was kept interested until the last word. When I read if my interest isn't captured within the first couple of pages I don't read or buy the book. Not so in the case of this book. I look forward to reading the next Godmother book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Being a longtime fan of Mercedes Lackey...

    I guess I'm a bit biased overall because I've enjoyed her characters and plot lines for years. That said, I've really become a big fan of this series in particular. I have always enjoyed traditional folk tales and fairie tales, and this series takes my old favorites and gives them a different flavour. I particularly like the interplay between the characters and the 'behind-the-scenes' insight into the thoughts of the "Snow Queen". It gives more depth to the character than the traditional version and at the same time makes her more human. All in all, this was a great "escape" book to let me forget about the daily turmoil and completely relax and enjoy myself. I'd gladly recommend it to anyone fond of the old stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mrs. Lackey does it again

    Excellent story, great characters, good suspense.
    I keep thinking that she is going to run out of storylines in this "Five Hundred Kingdoms" saga.But they just keep getting better.
    Keep them coming........but of course don't forget the Harold & Companions stories!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Loved it

    I loved this book! Mercedes Lackey is my fav author. I recommend all her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a fun book!

    In all of the 500 Kingdoms, there is not another author who holds a candle to Mercedes Lackey!

    This story incorporates good, old-fashioned fairy tales with suspense, and a touch of the unexpected; which makes this book almost impossible to put down from beginning to end. I read this book in just two evenings (I only have time to read after going to bed). I couldn't put it down!

    The 500 Kingdom series are a must read for every fantasy enthusiast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4