Customer Reviews for

The Snowman (Harry Hole Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Hey you... anonymous!

How is 12.99 not considered cheaper than the hardcover price of over 25? And publishers set pricing, bookstores merely play along to make sure they have the book to offer you in the first place. Lastly: do not RATE the books poorly because you are unhappy with the pr...
How is 12.99 not considered cheaper than the hardcover price of over 25? And publishers set pricing, bookstores merely play along to make sure they have the book to offer you in the first place. Lastly: do not RATE the books poorly because you are unhappy with the pricing. Rate them by their merit as reading material. Last year I spent $24 on a Nesbo paperback because I knew it was worth the cost of importing from Canada.

posted by ezabeta on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Horribly Slow

I just stopped reading this book after a little past half through. It is too slowed paced. It made me feel like it was never going to end, get on with it already. Probably will not finish it unless I am desperate for something to read.

posted by cvaughnTN on May 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Hey you... anonymous!

    How is 12.99 not considered cheaper than the hardcover price of over 25? And publishers set pricing, bookstores merely play along to make sure they have the book to offer you in the first place. Lastly: do not RATE the books poorly because you are unhappy with the pricing. Rate them by their merit as reading material. Last year I spent $24 on a Nesbo paperback because I knew it was worth the cost of importing from Canada.

    20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Snowman is full of twists and turns. It's the type of book that you cook with, sleep with and eat with. I could not turn the pages fast enough. It was that good.

    This book was fantastic! I am loving Scandinavian crime fiction and Nesbø is a master storyteller. There's just something about the texture and mood of his writing that appeals to me. The story begins in Oslo with a young boy waking up to the first snow of the season. His mother is missing, and in her place is a snowman, wearing her scarf. As Harry is called in to investigate, another woman is reported missing and the pattern is repeated. Each time, the snowman becoming more gruesome than the last. Harry is an interesting character and constantly evolving. His personal life is always stressed in some way and he's always teetering on the edge of destruction. Sometimes he's on the wagon (recovering alcoholic) and other times he caves to his weaknesses, but this is what I love about Harry. Professionally, there is never anyone else more suited to the job, yet you wonder if he will ever pull it together and as a reader, you cheer him on and hope for the best. I can't think of any other time when I've cheered a detective on. I got my coworker to read it and he's come in here three times to tell me who the killer is, and each time he's been wrong! Nesbø is so good at what he does. If you've never read Scandinavian crime fiction, give this series a try. The only challenge is that some of the books are not currently available in the US. That's why Jill and I had to read them out-of-order, but The Book Depository has a few of them (they ship for free) and you might be able to get some of them from other sources. I am hoping that once the entire series has been released someone will publish them as a complete set. It sounds like a hassle to seek these books out but you won't be sorry if you do.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Forget the price; this is a good book

    Jo Nesbo writes great thrillers. I highly recommend them to anyone who enjoyed The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. In fact I would say that the characters he creates are far more compelling than Stieg Larsson's. If you don't like the price, don't buy the book and don't give a poor review because of pricing.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great one from Nesbo!

    One of the finest Scandinavian policemen, Harry Hole, is back is this new release from Nesbo.

    During the first snow of the season in Oslo, a young boy wakes up to find his mother has disappeared. Outside of his window there is a new snowman wearing his mother's scarf. Harry Hole and Katrine Bratt are investigating the disappearance when another woman goes missing during a new snowfall, and again, a snowman suddenly appears. But this time, the killer has added part of the woman's body to his icy sculpture.

    Harry received a strange letter months earlier that made reference to snowmen and a serial killer from early in his career. He realizes that the anonymous letter is connected to these new murders but he doesn't yet know what the connection is. As the investigation and murders continue, it's apparent that the killer is taunting Harry personally. With his bosses and the press breathing down his neck, the race is on to find the killer.

    Nesbo continues to paint Hole as an intelligent and intuitive investigator, but at the same time a lonely and damaged man. Harry still struggles with his drinking problem and his relationship with Rakel is all but over. She has moved on, but Harry is having trouble letting go, in part because of the sexual tension between them.

    Darker than Nesbo's previous novels, THE SNOWMAN is a stunning and complex mystery that deserves to go to the top of your reading list.
    P.S.: I wish people would stop leaving low ratings because of price. It's so unfair to the authors who write these great books for us. Lynn Kimmerle

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Worth every penny.

    Great book. Nesbo is fantastic

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    REALLY GOOD READ!

    An avid reader,I was drawn to this novel after reading the Steig Larsen trilogy. It proved to be better than I expected! I did like the Larsen trio but The Snowman was better. It is better absorbed, maybe more easily read; less characters and locations to follow. It's gripping-had me reading well into the night- and had me guessing who the "culprit" was throughout(I didn't guess correctly!) .I have suggested this to several people who have read the Larson series and am waiting for their reviews. I am definitely looking at the other novels by Nesbo.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    An Exciting Thriller!

    What a great and absorbing read. I was able to live with the gore because the telling was so grear.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Great book!

    I do not spook easily when it comes to scary books...but this book paints a thrilling picture that would keep me up at night. Lost sleep because I did not want to put it down.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    I liked it but it

    Dragged a bit. Would buy it again though

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book, But A Little Much

    Jo Nesbo has definitely found a place in my library, however the book was a little too long for me. I would not have minded if it had been just one long mystery, but in this book they found the killer way to many times.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Horribly Slow

    I just stopped reading this book after a little past half through. It is too slowed paced. It made me feel like it was never going to end, get on with it already. Probably will not finish it unless I am desperate for something to read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Read this next!

    If you enjoy a complex psychological mystery that is eerie with great character development, this is for you. My first Jo Nesbo book. Now I know why so many recommended it to me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Good twists

    I liked the book but thought it was a little long and sometimes boring when he talked in depth using town names, streets, etc.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kept me reading

    This was a pretty good book. I am a mystery lover and there haven't been too many mysteries released lately that have held my interest. I'm interested in reading more of Jo Nesbo.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Cannot recommend, read previous Harry Hole books. Three stars generous.

    I do not consider this book one of the better books by Jo Nesbo. I've read the others and really enjoyed them. I had to really plod thru this one, too many characters, too long. Why are all reviews so wonderful, can't we get honest reviews, saying that the author has not written the greatest around? I was so looking forward to the latest Harry Hole, too bad for people who haven't read the previous ones, so much more enjoyable. Glad I did not buy, but checked out from library.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Great book

    Very engaging. Highly recommend

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    you should check this book out if you want a good detective/thriller read

    At the beginning of this book there were too many characters to keep up with but as the book progresses you follow the lead character and want to know what's going to happen as he tries to uncover the mystery murders. Proud of me to say but I figured out the killer in the middle of the book but wasn't 100% sure. Very good read if you want to poke your brain.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    As Inspector Harry Hole might say, "Mm. Good."

    I picked up THE SNOWMAN hoping to add another good serial killer novel to my recommendation list (that includes THE KILLER INSIDE ME, ZOMBIE, I, KILLER, and THE COLLECTOR). I don't know whether it qualifies, not because it isn't good: THE SNOWMAN is great. But it deals more with the investigation of a series of serial murders of women with children. My serial killer interest is in the psychology of the killer, novelized and presented in either first- or third-person. What makes THE SNOWMAN outstanding is what makes any crime novel superior, or any novel, for that matter: the characters, in particular Norwegian Police Service Inspector Harry Hole. Nesbo has written nine Harry Hole novels to date (seven translated by Dan Barlett, which tells me English readers are getting a true representation of Nesbo's style); THE SNOWMAN is the seventh in the series. While THE SNOWMAN is my introduction, I can see that Harry has quite a history. He's a tortured man who turned to the bottle. He's off booze when the novel opens but does succumb a couple of times before confronting the snowman killer. Who wouldn't when you believe the killer wants to involve you in his crazy destructive plans. However, the biggest part of his problem lies with his passion for Rakel, his girlfriend, who has pitched him for a doctor; who broke off their affair because she saw Harry had only one love: the cop shop. As with alcohol, Harry can't stay away from her and she can't keep her hands off him. Bad, but good, too, for readers, as it intensifies a very dramatic, some might say overwrought, ending. As for the serial killer, I will say he's an interestingly demented fellow. I really can't say too much about him, otherwise I might give him away. I will say astute readers will have a good idea who he is quite early in the book. That doesn't much hurt the book, as the real interest is in Harry. I will also say Nesbo does a good job with certain abnormalities that both drive the plot and give reason and credence to the killer. I will also say the killer builds snowmen as harbingers of death; uses them to kill with; leaves no complete bodies; employs a most unusual tool that probably will be new to you; and harbors a hatred toward women with certain types of children. An added feature is the locale. Norway and Oslo are beautiful places. I visited the city many years ago in June, to be awakened by roaring cars and bright sunshine at one in the morning. Of course, the opposite is the case in the novel: it's November, the first snows are falling, and the days are turning into gray, short affairs, the perfect atmosphere for hunting down a lunatic killer. Highly recommended for aficionados of crime fiction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    This is a great book!

    This book kept my interest from beginning to end. If you like mystery crime novels this book is a must read. I love this author and all his books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Great mystery

    Lots of red herrings. I was truly in the dark until the big reveal. Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16