Customer Reviews for

The Snowman (Harry Hole Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 319 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Hey you... anonymous!

How is 12.99 not considered cheaper than the hardcover price of over 25? And publishers set pricing, bookstores merely play along to make sure they have the book to offer you in the first place. Lastly: do not RATE the books poorly because you are unhappy with the pr...
How is 12.99 not considered cheaper than the hardcover price of over 25? And publishers set pricing, bookstores merely play along to make sure they have the book to offer you in the first place. Lastly: do not RATE the books poorly because you are unhappy with the pricing. Rate them by their merit as reading material. Last year I spent $24 on a Nesbo paperback because I knew it was worth the cost of importing from Canada.

posted by ezabeta on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I liked it but it

Dragged a bit. Would buy it again though

posted by marc-medios on July 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Hey you... anonymous!

    How is 12.99 not considered cheaper than the hardcover price of over 25? And publishers set pricing, bookstores merely play along to make sure they have the book to offer you in the first place. Lastly: do not RATE the books poorly because you are unhappy with the pricing. Rate them by their merit as reading material. Last year I spent $24 on a Nesbo paperback because I knew it was worth the cost of importing from Canada.

    20 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Snowman is full of twists and turns. It's the type of book that you cook with, sleep with and eat with. I could not turn the pages fast enough. It was that good.

    This book was fantastic! I am loving Scandinavian crime fiction and Nesbø is a master storyteller. There's just something about the texture and mood of his writing that appeals to me. The story begins in Oslo with a young boy waking up to the first snow of the season. His mother is missing, and in her place is a snowman, wearing her scarf. As Harry is called in to investigate, another woman is reported missing and the pattern is repeated. Each time, the snowman becoming more gruesome than the last. Harry is an interesting character and constantly evolving. His personal life is always stressed in some way and he's always teetering on the edge of destruction. Sometimes he's on the wagon (recovering alcoholic) and other times he caves to his weaknesses, but this is what I love about Harry. Professionally, there is never anyone else more suited to the job, yet you wonder if he will ever pull it together and as a reader, you cheer him on and hope for the best. I can't think of any other time when I've cheered a detective on. I got my coworker to read it and he's come in here three times to tell me who the killer is, and each time he's been wrong! Nesbø is so good at what he does. If you've never read Scandinavian crime fiction, give this series a try. The only challenge is that some of the books are not currently available in the US. That's why Jill and I had to read them out-of-order, but The Book Depository has a few of them (they ship for free) and you might be able to get some of them from other sources. I am hoping that once the entire series has been released someone will publish them as a complete set. It sounds like a hassle to seek these books out but you won't be sorry if you do.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book, But A Little Much

    Jo Nesbo has definitely found a place in my library, however the book was a little too long for me. I would not have minded if it had been just one long mystery, but in this book they found the killer way to many times.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    REALLY GOOD READ!

    An avid reader,I was drawn to this novel after reading the Steig Larsen trilogy. It proved to be better than I expected! I did like the Larsen trio but The Snowman was better. It is better absorbed, maybe more easily read; less characters and locations to follow. It's gripping-had me reading well into the night- and had me guessing who the "culprit" was throughout(I didn't guess correctly!) .I have suggested this to several people who have read the Larson series and am waiting for their reviews. I am definitely looking at the other novels by Nesbo.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kept me reading

    This was a pretty good book. I am a mystery lover and there haven't been too many mysteries released lately that have held my interest. I'm interested in reading more of Jo Nesbo.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Dark angel to rain writer

    Whens the next part coming out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Real winner!

    It's not often that you come across a novel so well done in so many respects. Believable, fully realized characters, intricate plotting and a truly riveting climax. A deeply satisfying read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    OK, we get it.  If Jo Nesbo could vote in the US, he'd be a Demo

    OK, we get it.  If Jo Nesbo could vote in the US, he'd be a Democrat.  The Snowman is a terrific read but would be better if Mr. Nesbo would simply spare us his standard-issue European incomprehension of American conservatism.  By the way, Harry Hole, an archetype libertarian, would be a Republican voter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    have read a few of his books

    jo Nesbo in general writes convincing stuff. I've read a few of his books in this series with inspector Hole and haven't gotten bored yet. The character's are likable and the his stories are believable. There is a little suspension of disbelief that you have to accept just like most books of this type but it's not so bad you roll your eyes and think he went too far with it. Overall his writing is pretty tight and has a contemporary feel. I hope this helps you in your decision to read this book or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    very good

    Great writer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Fantastic read! Keeps you guessing until the last chapter. Lite

    Fantastic read! Keeps you guessing until the last chapter. Literally couldn't put this book down. In the very beginning I was a little confused because it jumps around a bit, but once the story unfolds you're hooked! I didn't mind that the author went into so much specific detail as some of the other reviewer have, but I just got done reading Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. The books have a very slight resemblance to one another. Terrific book, can't wait to ready more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Like Dragon Tattoo Books but less confusing

    Good read if you liked the Dragon Tattoo series, but less confusing and more of a psychological thriller with a male protagonist. There were a few predictable parts, but it was well written and a good scare.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Had me hooked.

    Couldn't put this book down and plan to download Nesbo's earlier books now.
    Thought I had the mystery solved several times and was surprised repeatedly as the book progressed.
    A very good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    great thriller

    Comparisons will be made the Millennium trilogy and it is a bit similar, but stands on its own as a great read. Lots of twists and turns and when you think its not even close.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Really enjoyed - great thriller

    It's unfortunate that this book is constantly compared to the Stieg Larsson books because really The Snowman is better (and I enjoyed the Larsson trilogy). This was my first Harry Hole book, and I will definitely be looking for the others. The Snowman started off a bit slow, but before long I could hardly put it down. As other reviewers state, it is a little long - it probably good have done with one less instance of chasing after the wrong suspect while thinking they had their man - but it is well written and has enough action to keep things moving along. It was perhaps a bit disappointing that the killer did in fact turn out to be who I thought it was, but that's typical for me. If you enjoy a good thriller, you should definitely check this out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    This murder mystery novel will grab you from chapter one and it won't let you go even after you've read the final page. The translation from Norwegian is flawless, just pay close attention to the names which can be challenging. I am such a picky reader that i did not expect to like it as much as i did. It is simply enthralling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Excellent

    This+is+the+first+book+I+have+read+by+Jo+Nesbo.++I+couldn%27t+put+it+down%21

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    You should probably just go ahead and read it!

    I'll admit that thrillers/mysteries are not my normal reading fair (though I've gained a new found respect for the genre after reading the Millenium Trilogy). I was drawn to this book because of the hype and, to be honest, the creepy cover art. This is a great, wonderfully readable book! I'm close to 2/3rds of the way through and everytime i decide I know who the killer is, something happens to make me second-guess myself and keep me wondering. I was initally turned off by what i thought was pretty standard crime novel fair - the brilliant but unconventional detective with a drinking problem. The author, however, does a great job of fleshing out all the characters and I've ended up really liking Harry Hole after all. For the people who asked in previous reviews about whether you needed to have read other books in the series - Just go ahead and get this one! I haven't read any of the others and don't think I am missing out. Plus, I don't even think all of the other books have been translated into English, so you might not be able to read them even if you wanted to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Good read overall

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5