Customer Reviews for

The Snowy Day

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    awsome

    omg i dont have this book on my nook but when i read the hard cover....omg this is a great book its a must have

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    cool

    it was a short book but i loved the pictures.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Terrific Children's Book

    This was my son's favorite book. We read it almost everyday. He never got tired of the snow pictures and of Peter's fun in the snow. When his daughter was born I immediately purchased this book so that he could read it to her,
    This is a must read for every parent who wants their child to experience the fun of a first snow. Be prepared to read it over and over again. You will love the beautiful illustrations and Peter's fun in the snow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Snowy Day

    An enjoyable book regarding a Snowy Day for young children. A classic. Was my favorite as a child as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    My favorite book as a child!

    Somehow at 29 I still remember this book like I read it yesterday. It was one of the first books I can truly remember being able to read by myself and understand. Now, as a mother of a bright 2 year old - I recently bought her a copy and she enjoys it when I read it to her. I cannot wait for the day when she takes it in her own hands to read and enjoy it as I did a long time ago. This is a book that will be around for many more years to come ¿ it was written very well and the illustrations are very vivid. When I was in the 1st grade I got an award for reading the most books in my class but this is the one that stands out the most in my mind. I know this is because at that time I couldn't remember another book where the main character was a black child and so happy - so it made me happy to see this - then and now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    Magical Fun in the City's Snow!

    Do you remember the first time you awoke to find the world all filled with white snow and the quiet that follows a large snowfall? It was beautiful, and its stillness and pristine appearance drew you out into the cold very quickly. This book wonderfully recreates that experience, making us all young again, and helping youngsters appreciate the potential joys of snow. The book has remarkable artwork that combines imaginative snowflake cut-outs with collages of hand-made papers and figure cutouts to make you feel like you've entered a fairy land, which you have. 'Snow had fallen during the night. It covered everything as far as he could see.' After breakfast, the boy puts on his snowsuit and is out the door. There are enormous snow piles from where the sidewalks have been cleared. He walks carefully through them. He makes funny shaped tracks in the snow, and admires his handiwork. A stick helps him knock snow out of a tree . . . onto his own head! He thinks about joining the older boys in a snowball fight, but realizes he isn't ready yet. Instead, he draws with a stick in the snow, builds a smiling snowman, makes snow angels, and pretends he is a mountain climber. After scaling the snow piles, he slides down. Before going in to get warm, he makes a snowball and puts it in his pocket. He tells his mother all about his fun while he takes off his wet socks. Soon he is thinking in the tub. Before going to sleep, he checks his snowball. It has melted! He is sad before drifing off. He dreams that all the snow has melted. Good news! He awakes in the morning to find more snow falling, and heads across the hall to find his friend to go out to play some more after breakfast. One of the positive elements of the illustrations is that they portray a young man of color in an unselfconscious way. He nicely represents every boy and girl who has ever enjoyed the snow. I felt a very peaceful feeling after reading the book, as though I had just been out playing in the snow with him and was enjoying being fatigued in the warmth of the house. This will make a great book to read to youngsters because they will be interested in the illustrations and the activities that are portrayed. With a close matching of illustrations to words, this book will also be helpful in preparing your child to learn to read. I was reminded of Snowflake Bentley as I reviewed the many wonderful snowflake patterns on the pages. The book is well deserving of its Caldecott Medal for outstanding illustrations. After you finish, I suggest that you think of ways that the rain, fog, and sunny days can provide magical opportunities for pretend fun, as well. After all, you can't make snow angels every day. But you can use your imagination, always! Look for the beauty in every moment and in every one! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    Every Classroom needs this book!

    The Snowy Day is a wonderful book about an African-American boy that is four-years old. He truly has an 'experience' with the snowy day as he runs off on an adventure. He even takes home a keep-sake from his adventure. Great to read after/during a snow day of your own

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    Glen Oaks 1st Grade

    We loved this story about Peter. We wish that we could have a snowy day in Texas ! We like how Ezra Jack Keats used that word 'smacked' when Peter hit that tree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3