Customer Reviews for

Snowy Night with a Stranger

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    SNOWY NIGHT WITH A STRANGER contains three warm Regency holiday romances that showcase top talent

    "Holiday Gamble¿ by Jane Feather. The blizzard forces Lord Ned Vasey to seek shelter at the home of Lord Roger Selby. Ned meets Selby's ward, Georgina, who he believes is hiding something that he plans to uncover.<BR/> <BR/>¿When Sparks Fly" by Sabrina Jeffries. The coach accident leaves Lady Eleanor Bancroft and her three young charges with no options except to beg for hospitality from the cranky hermit and are at the mercy of Martin ¿Black Baron¿ Thorncliffe. She is not sure he will let them stay. He would prefer to refuse them, but even he cannot. Neither of the adults is prepared for the attraction between them.<BR/><BR/>"A Snowy Night With a Highlander" by Julia London. Lady Fiona Haines searches for her missing Laird Duncan Buchanan, with an injured arm and a patch over his eye, offers his help. Together they seek her sibling while an attraction between them ignites; However Duncan fears what will happen to their just starting relationship when she learns who he is.<BR/><BR/>SNOWY NIGHT WITH A STRANGER contains three warm (in spite of the weather) Regency holiday romances that showcase top talent. Fans will enjoy this fine historical collection.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    2 out of 3

    While I loved both Sabrina Jeffries's story and Julia London's, I found Jane Feather's left something to be desired. Great to curl up with a cup of tea and read on a chilly winter day!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    Christmas stories are some of my favorites because it¿s a time o

    Christmas stories are some of my favorites because it’s a time of year for families to get together…and when people meet during snowstorms, there’s always the potential for romance. “Snowy Night with a Stranger” is an opportunity to read how three different authors approached this concept.  Other reviewers have provided a description of each story, so I’m just going to provide a review. (SPOILER ALERT)

    (****- Four STARS) “A Holiday Gamble” by Jane Feather – Feather is a masterful storyteller. Her original descriptions and characters leapt off the page and captured me. Most of the story takes place from the hero’s point of view, Viscount Allenton, who is returning to his estate after many years in India. I empathized with Allenton’s discomfiture as he reacquaints himself with a life he thought abandoned him. Through his eyes, we are the reluctant prodigal son returning home and forced to rely on the mercy of a neighbor to seek shelter from a snow storm. Even though Allenton has resigned himself to marry a childhood sweetheart, he can’t help be attracted to Georgiana, a veritable rose among the weedy overgrowth of females at this holiday party. While the characters and conflict were superb, I felt that the ending was rushed. Some other reviewers have mentioned this and I have to agree. As soon as they find her father’s will and escape, the story ends leaving a few untidy ends. The reader can only assume that everything wraps up neatly.

    (*** - Three STARS) “When Sparks Fly” by Sabrina Jefferies – this story is a continuation of her ‘School for Heiresses’ series. I’m not familiar with this series and after reading this short story, I was not compelled to read the rest of the books. I rated this story lower than the others because, even though I liked the characters, I felt that the story was clichéd and not well developed. The heroine is on her way home, determined (or resigned) to be a spinster, when her family’s coach overturns forcing them to find shelter. Enter hero (stage left), haunted by the accidental death of his brother, resigned to push people away lest they lose their lives to his dangerous research. At first, there is some mutual animosity (a.k.a. conflict) between Martin and Ellie, but once they get to know each other, Ellie set her marriage radar on Martin. All she has to do is convince him that he’s not going to accidentally kill her if they get married. What? Yeah, that’s what I thought, too. His paranoia seemed a bit farfetched and her quick turnabout from spinsterhood was just too convenient. 

    (***** - Five STARS) “Snowy Night with a Highlander” by Julia London, in my humble opinion, was the best story in the anthology. The beginning was a bit improbable - the heroine is ordered to warn her brother that the prince is looking for him. Why would she get a royal escort to Scotland and why would they not accompany her the rest of the way? But, the story really gets started when they begin the journey to her childhood home. Again, there’s this feeling of coming home, appreciating the people and things you didn’t when you were young and stupid. Isn’t that what the holidays and romance have in common? London’s true talent is lighting this romance ember between Duncan and Fiona and fanning the flames over the entire story (in other words, there is some amazing sexual tension). Even though Fiona does most of the talking, her compassion and good-natured persona make her appealing instead of coming across as an empty headed miss. The plot timing and reveals are well paced and the ending left me with a sappy grin and wanting to read the next story – isn’t that the sign of a good writer? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Sheria

    She laied down in the shade of a oak tree. A small freshly caught fawn laied next to her. She was panting tired from the recent hunt.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No Good

    I really don't like these compilation books. The best story was the one by Julia London. The Jane Feather story was like a poke in the eye...do not like her. Sabrina did okay with her heiress short story. I only read it because it was a Christmas time book and wanted to be festive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2