Customer Reviews for

Snuff

Average Rating 3.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's a roller coaster of dysfunction!

No one can write utter dysfunction and madness like the master himself. Every time I sit down and open a Palahniuk book I get a bit giddy. I know this book will leave me wondering what just happened but give me one great ride getting there.

Mr. Palahniuk's 8th book, ...
No one can write utter dysfunction and madness like the master himself. Every time I sit down and open a Palahniuk book I get a bit giddy. I know this book will leave me wondering what just happened but give me one great ride getting there.

Mr. Palahniuk's 8th book, Snuff, tells the tale of Cassie Wright, an aging porn star out to break the mother of all records for the pornography industry. She, in her final role, will sleep with 600 men on film in one shooting.

As you progress through just the beginning of the book you soon realize that no one expects Cassie to live through this, not even Cassie herself.

In the book you read from 3 characters 1st person recounting of them at the shoot. Mr. 72, Mr 137, and Mr. 600. You also get a narration from the days leading up to the shoot and the shoot from Cassie's personal assistant, Shelia.

Mr. 72 believes he is Cassie's son she gave up for adoption after she conceived him during her first adult movie, Mr. 137 is an out of work actor who lost his show due to a gay film he had made, and Mr. 600 is the co-star and believed father of Cassie's child.

Don't worry, it's as messed up as it sounds, but not in the ways you are thinking.

I can't say much more about the book without this review being a spoiler, which I refuse to do in any capacity for any book. Just know that if you enjoyed Palahniuk's other works you know what to expect from this one.

You're not going to have a clue what hit you.

posted by astucity on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Leaves something to be desired

I am an avid Chuck Palahniuk fan and there is just something missing from this story compared to others. Invisible Monsters is my favorite, but also in Survivor and Fight Club there is depth to the characters and a well thought out plot along with surprising twists. In ...
I am an avid Chuck Palahniuk fan and there is just something missing from this story compared to others. Invisible Monsters is my favorite, but also in Survivor and Fight Club there is depth to the characters and a well thought out plot along with surprising twists. In comparison, this book is none of those. It was all just very predictable and bland. Definitely a disappointment compared to some of his other work.

posted by Theresa37 on January 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 226 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Chuck and sex

    Chuck definitely has a way of bringing the world of sex and desire to a place you never quite imagined or predicted. Be for warned that this deals with some subjects that most people are too afraid to admit being intrigued by. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good snuff

    As usual chuck has create anoth group of characters that living in a world of bastards where each person is more self centered and cynical than the next. when you pick up one of his books u know what u got coming. Entertainment with a twist of lemon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Different

    Okay...wow. That was different and yet, interesting. I found myself gripped to the pages reading more of what I didn't think possible; my own strange interests. Cult and new, but not my true cup of tea as far as sexy erotica.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Too Funny Too Gross

    Palahniuk knew exactly when and were to make you laugh out loud and when to gross you out. This book was so much fun to read. The titles to the "adult" films were an absolute scream (a knee slapper if you will).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy Read

    Snuff is a great book if you want something that is easy, fast and unique. It is only 197 pages and the writing style could be read by a 7th grader. In between work and other activities it took me two days to read. I am a very big Chuck Palahniuk fan. The cool thing about this book is that it doesn't share the same theme most of his other books do. That theme being: real life is boring. Snuff is just a simple novel. The twists and turns are not shocking or alarming. It is not the graphic, crazy book some people make it out as being. I had a fun time reading it, but it definitely is not worth 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Palahniuk is AWESOME

    I have read 5 or 6 books by this author. Everyone of them is great.<BR/><BR/>Snuff takes into account of the moments leading up to the act. Of course character development is twisted. . . .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    Not his best work

    I have devoured every book of CP's since I picked up Invisible Monsters a few years back. Yet, I found Snuff to be lacking. It does have the trademark twist at the end, but I found myself barely paying attention to the book as I waited impatiently to reach the twist that would make pull the pieces together. In the end I was left dissappointed, the ending is interesting, but... dare I say it... predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SEX SELLS

    Let's face it: sex sells. That's the reason Cassie, the porn queen in SNUFF, is making a film wherein she tries to "shag" 600 guys in order to break a record. It's also the reason I bought the book. Well, that and the fact that I enjoy Palahniuk's dark humor as a guilty pleasure like a good episode of Melrose Place. With that said, I was pleasantly surprised by the way the novel played out. The novel wasn't about the 600 men - er, shagging--the porn queen. It was primarily about a handful of the 600 guys in the waiting room, their connections to Cassie, and their desire to be something/someone better than who they are at that very moment. Furthermore, as the novel progressed, each chapter was told from a different person's point of view. It was a bit of a challenge at first to keep everyone straight (especially since the guys were known only as their number in line), but once you got into the story more and could distinguish each character, it became interesting and intriguing. <BR/><BR/>SNUFF also gave me some insight into the porn industry, including terms, and I thank Palahniuk for the research he did. More than that, I see somebody must have gotten Palahniuk "The Big Book of Filth: 6500 Sex Slang Words and Phrases" for his birthday one year. He scattered every word he could for masturbation throughout the entire book. <BR/><BR/>To sum up my brief book review, I was entertained reading SNUFF. It was a quick, enjoyable read (for those not faint-of-heart) on my flights to and from Vegas and I loved the crazy twist ending. It made me giggle as only someone with an equally sick sense of humor could. SNUFF definitely came from the same mind as the novel "Invisible Monsters" and the short story "Guts" (featured in "Haunted"). I'd recommend it if you're looking for something "light" yet heavy with dark humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    It has the Palahniuk twist

    Snuff did have the Palahniuk twist at the end which I should've expected from the beginning but didn't. The story dragged on a bit. Other than that, it was well written and highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Literary Disappointment, Thy name is Chuck Palahniuk...

    After reading DIARY I waited...after reading HAUNTED I waited...even after reading RANT I waited...and now after reading SUNFF I'm still waiting for Chuck to get back to writing what he does best with his earlier novels: TRANSGRESSIONAL FICTION. In short, the story was sparse, the character development was lacking, and chuck is relying to much on style than substance--relying too much on high concept premises and not supporting them with a good base. If your a fan of palahniuk, I would still get it but tame your expectations greatly. If your a newcomer to his books read any of his earlier novels like Choke, Survivor or Fight Club.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    Perfect, almost

    I was completely enoyed and satisfied throughout this entire read, just like i have been through every other Palahniuk book I've read so far (Fight Club, Lullaby, Choke, Invisible Monsters), up until the last page. I was a bit disappointed and confused with the ending he wrote for Snuff. I hope he hasn't lost his touch. Nonetheless I will look forward till his next masterpeice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Not his Best, but still Palahnuick

    I was slightly saddened by the outcome of this book because: it had no legit ending. The characters, sadly enough, I didn't really enjoy much either- besides #72, Darin. Otherwise, despite the lack of character depth, I found myself enjoyed by 'Snuff' with it's witty dialogue and, of course, it was very funny. The twist at the end was unsuspecting but not as strange and mind-blowing as Palanhuick's endings tend to be. Not his best, that's for sure, but still an average Palahnuick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    New Chuck Fan

    This is the third book I have read by Chuck personally I found it amusing in many ways. I enjoyed the multiple character angle better here than in Rant, and the ending actually made me laugh out loud. Definitely not for the faint of heart, or readers who offend easily, for any one else it's a great read for a plane ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    Not His Best, by far

    This is certainly not Chuck's best novel. If you are new to him as an author, chose any of his other books first. I think it takes reading his others to appreciate this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    a good solid book

    a good solid chuck palhaniuk book. his great well known style really makes snuff what it is. I reccommend it for people who know chuck palhaniuks style. I liked it all the way through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    'Snuff said

    I eagerly anticipated the release of Palahniuk's newest book. The premise of one of the most imaginative and unique writers taking on the world of porn had me drooling. The multiple character angle was fine, but the development was not up to his usual level. The ending, while something only Palahniuk could have come up with, was weak. Instead of spending so much time telling us how other celebrities died, I wish he would of delved more into the twisted insides of the characters. Even the big reveal (aka WTF moment)was lacking the gut punch Palahniuk usually packs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Winner, 2008 AVN Award for Best Banal Feature

    For readers familiar with Chuck Palahniuk, you'll find yourself running over the same old ground in Snuff. Palahniuk relies on pornography to do his work for him however, in 2008, pornography itself and 'gasp' the fact that men and women from middle america act in those films is nothing new because of its very ubiquity. 'Since you are reading this review online, it's likely that you've either inadvertantly or intentionally encountered a mass-mailed advertisement or an entire site today.' Nothing shocking here. The characters are exactly what you would presumptively expect in pornography--the down and out, the sexually-dinged, the porn star past his or her prime but holding on for one last shot at fame. In Palahniuk's other works, the anti-heroes are successful because we're in a world we've never been to before, while in Snuff, Palahniuk just feeds our common, and probably incorrect, assumptions. The best parts of the novel are Mr. 72's and Mr. 137's back stories, and a good editor would have told Palahniuk to de-center Cassie Wright, the main aging porn star, and her film World Whore Three, in favor of examining Mr. 72's adopted father, the White Power model train enthusiast, or Mr. 137's father, a pedophiliac but seemingly modern midwestern farmer who 'diddled' his son. If you're new to Palahniuk, start elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Disappointing

    I'm a huge, HUGE Palahniuk fan, although I'm starting to feel like a Palahniuk apologist. His last couple books have really sucked (Rant and Haunted, specifically), and this one's not any better. I mean...there's very, very little plot from what I can tell (I'm 130+ pages in), the writing is of marginal quality, and I'm starting to feel cheated by the ol' Chuckster for this stuff. What ever happened to the guy who brought us Survivor, Fight Club, and Lullaby? Oh well, until I pluck down money for his next bit of schlock...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    Sense of humor needed.

    While this is not my favorite Chuck book, it definitely was a page turner. This book nearly had me laugh out loud on a NY city subway. I must admit, I was afraid that people would look over my shoulder and see what I was reading whilst thinking to themselves 'what a pervert?' If you've never read Chuck before, I would start with a little bit of a lighter read (ala Survivor, which is my all-time favorite). I really enjoyed this book and kind of wish it were a little longer but I definitely got that Palanhiuk twist. Sick, Messed up, and sheerly enjoyable I can't wait for his next foray into whatever the subject may be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Very Very..... Chuck

    Snuff is quite a humorous, disturbing way to look at the porn industry. Chuck has an amazing way of making the most random topics so entirely interesting, you'll find yourself flying through the pages faster than ever. It's so grotesque, and perversely enticing, you just can't help yourself. Chuck spends a fine amount of time developing characters, and making a story about a porn priestess and her world as incredibly indulgent as ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 226 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12