Customer Reviews for

Snuff

Average Rating 3.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's a roller coaster of dysfunction!

No one can write utter dysfunction and madness like the master himself. Every time I sit down and open a Palahniuk book I get a bit giddy. I know this book will leave me wondering what just happened but give me one great ride getting there.

Mr. Palahniuk's 8th book, ...
No one can write utter dysfunction and madness like the master himself. Every time I sit down and open a Palahniuk book I get a bit giddy. I know this book will leave me wondering what just happened but give me one great ride getting there.

Mr. Palahniuk's 8th book, Snuff, tells the tale of Cassie Wright, an aging porn star out to break the mother of all records for the pornography industry. She, in her final role, will sleep with 600 men on film in one shooting.

As you progress through just the beginning of the book you soon realize that no one expects Cassie to live through this, not even Cassie herself.

In the book you read from 3 characters 1st person recounting of them at the shoot. Mr. 72, Mr 137, and Mr. 600. You also get a narration from the days leading up to the shoot and the shoot from Cassie's personal assistant, Shelia.

Mr. 72 believes he is Cassie's son she gave up for adoption after she conceived him during her first adult movie, Mr. 137 is an out of work actor who lost his show due to a gay film he had made, and Mr. 600 is the co-star and believed father of Cassie's child.

Don't worry, it's as messed up as it sounds, but not in the ways you are thinking.

I can't say much more about the book without this review being a spoiler, which I refuse to do in any capacity for any book. Just know that if you enjoyed Palahniuk's other works you know what to expect from this one.

You're not going to have a clue what hit you.

posted by astucity on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Leaves something to be desired

I am an avid Chuck Palahniuk fan and there is just something missing from this story compared to others. Invisible Monsters is my favorite, but also in Survivor and Fight Club there is depth to the characters and a well thought out plot along with surprising twists. In ...
I am an avid Chuck Palahniuk fan and there is just something missing from this story compared to others. Invisible Monsters is my favorite, but also in Survivor and Fight Club there is depth to the characters and a well thought out plot along with surprising twists. In comparison, this book is none of those. It was all just very predictable and bland. Definitely a disappointment compared to some of his other work.

posted by Theresa37 on January 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's a roller coaster of dysfunction!

    No one can write utter dysfunction and madness like the master himself. Every time I sit down and open a Palahniuk book I get a bit giddy. I know this book will leave me wondering what just happened but give me one great ride getting there.

    Mr. Palahniuk's 8th book, Snuff, tells the tale of Cassie Wright, an aging porn star out to break the mother of all records for the pornography industry. She, in her final role, will sleep with 600 men on film in one shooting.

    As you progress through just the beginning of the book you soon realize that no one expects Cassie to live through this, not even Cassie herself.

    In the book you read from 3 characters 1st person recounting of them at the shoot. Mr. 72, Mr 137, and Mr. 600. You also get a narration from the days leading up to the shoot and the shoot from Cassie's personal assistant, Shelia.

    Mr. 72 believes he is Cassie's son she gave up for adoption after she conceived him during her first adult movie, Mr. 137 is an out of work actor who lost his show due to a gay film he had made, and Mr. 600 is the co-star and believed father of Cassie's child.

    Don't worry, it's as messed up as it sounds, but not in the ways you are thinking.

    I can't say much more about the book without this review being a spoiler, which I refuse to do in any capacity for any book. Just know that if you enjoyed Palahniuk's other works you know what to expect from this one.

    You're not going to have a clue what hit you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding. . .

    This book is perverted, sick, and twisted. It is exactly what some people say is 'wrong with America.' But that is what makes this book so perfect. It breaks boundaries, going places that no other book has gone before. I have read every book by Chuck Palahniuk, and I would arguably say that this is my favorite novel of his. A+ for this dirty little book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Get in line...

    This is a good book! Short and sweet, with amazing characters, great stories and the usual Palahniuk twist and turns.

    Three men are waiting for their turn to be with Cassie Wright (porn star) they are Mr. 72, Mr. 137 and Mr. 600. Cassie is trying to break the record for a gang bang. Another character in the book is Sheila, Cassie's assistant, she provides several chapters.

    The book is broken down into very short chapters, each chapter a different character is talking, much like in "Haunted", for those of you that have read it.

    Good funny, dirty book with a hilarious ending!

    Read it for a good laugh or to just peak into the world of Chuck Palahniuk's mind!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    Leaves something to be desired

    I am an avid Chuck Palahniuk fan and there is just something missing from this story compared to others. Invisible Monsters is my favorite, but also in Survivor and Fight Club there is depth to the characters and a well thought out plot along with surprising twists. In comparison, this book is none of those. It was all just very predictable and bland. Definitely a disappointment compared to some of his other work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    This was not an enjoyable read.  Well, so far...got less than ha

    This was not an enjoyable read.  Well, so far...got less than half through and I could not go on.  The story is just not interesting.  
    Or maybe it's me?  It's on my Nook so I'll probably try this again though I have no desire to do so in the near future.
     For now I've moved on to my next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes I feel like I¿m a can of spray paint.  Well, it had to

    Sometimes I feel like I’m a can of spray paint. 
    Well, it had to happen sooner or later, Chuck wrote a book that I don’t like. Palahniuk is a great writer, and I’ve enjoyed his unique perspective on everything I’ve read of his, but this one fell flat. I don’t mind the setting or the theme, although this one does feel less clever and a little more grungy. It’s just that the story didn’t grab me, I didn’t really care about the characters, and the whole thing feels kind of sad. Not really the kind of clever humor I usually find in a Palahniuk story, although he clearly had a good time coming up with adult movie titles, and while I will still eagerly await his next book, I won’t keep this one in my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Confusing

    It was quite confusing and should be read quickly to engage in its fast paced characters. Not what I expected but still deranged and explicit. Not a long book and I wouldn't reccommend unless you like an unexpected ending and lots of pornographic mention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Not his best work

    While the novel was compelling with an interesting storyline and well-developed (for the most part) characters, i really felt like there just wasn't enough to it. It wasn't thought-out with logic and motivation like most of his other novels. Granted, even his worst work trumps most other authors, hand over fist. It just reads more like a short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    He Said WHAT?!

    Sort of a non-science-fiction alternate reality involving porn and the people who create it. Funny as hell in places - a stretch in a lot of others. Did I call it an alternate reality? More like an exaggerated reality. An awareness of hard core pornography would seem to be required to fully get it. Not a read to be easily forgotten!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    A must read for Palahniuk fans

    I recommend this to anyone who is a fan of Chuck Palahniuk. Great writing style and point-of-view storytelling. Kinda predictable but worth the read. There are great parts in the book that has old hollywood trivia and facts. A quick good, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Chuck!

    Though this was not one of my fav Chuck books it still had his flare all over it. Check out some of his others like Suvivors, Choke, Invisible Monsters and Lullaby(one of my favs). His books are not for everyone so keep an open mind. Faithful Chuck fan here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Chuck Does It Again

    Chuck Palahniuk has done it again. This is an original, offbeat, graphic, pitch black sex comedy that only Palahniuk could have written. It manages to be both sexually explicit and completely unsexy at the same time. Chuck doesn't flinch as he describes sexual acts, bodily fluids and hollywood movie trivia in the same breath. He aims to make his readers feel something, but it's certainly not sexual. He also makes us think about the ways in which we hide from ourselves and each other, use and abuse sexuality for all kinds of reasons and discover the awful consequences that inevitably arise when the secrets from our past return to bite us on the behind. This book is over-the-top, funny, disturbing, revolting, thought provoking and clearly not for everyone. Thanks, Mr. Palahniuk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Palahniuk's Dud

    Every author, no matter how great, comes out with a dud now and then. This was Palahniuk's.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    eh.. ok book

    not his best work but still entertaining. good thing its short tho or it would have lost my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Snuff

    This was a requested gift for Christmas and the individual was excited to receive it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Chuck and Porn. Porn and Chuck

    I really enjoyed this book, I am a very big fan of Chuck Palahniuk, and this is a great book to sit down and read on a rainy day. It is not for the faint of heart I can tell you that much, but the content in the story is hilarious, graphic, and addicting. It is filled with interesting trivia and mind boggling plot twists. I suggest this to any Palahniuk Fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    UNREADABLE. HA!

    GOD. AWFUL. GOD. AWFUL. I couldn't wait to read this book, but i just couldn't get past page 5o something, it is just all over the place, sorry but i couldnt foolow it, and its just gross. At the end of the day, its just nasty.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Readable

    Not Chuck's best book but definitely not his worst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Another great book by Chuck

    Let me start by saying I like almost everything Chuck does. I'm a huge fan, and as such, just wanted to let you know that bias is there. That said, I felt like this book had all the classic Palahniuk touches. Well researched ''fun facts'' that fit into the story. Characters that are not your run off the mill, practically flawless fictional characters. Spot on social commentary undertone. And as always, and ending that will blow your mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Chuck Palahniuk is great at the unusual.

    Never expect the ordinary with Chuck. I have read every single book he's ever written (expect haven't gotten the newest one yet) and I am a strong proponent of his work. This one faltered; it finished quickly with no satisfying resolution.

    Each chapter is seen from the perspective of four characters. It is a unique style that I think could have been used more in-depth and more enlightening.

    The story is new, which I have to give him props for, I mean where else are going to read about an aging porn star(s), her child given up for adoption seeking acceptance, and emasculated men driven to seek their one chance at their beloved star.

    It was a depressingly quick read, without the usual punches I've come to expect from Chuck. More of library check out book, rather than add to the collection book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12