Customer Reviews for

Snuff

Average Rating 3.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's a roller coaster of dysfunction!

No one can write utter dysfunction and madness like the master himself. Every time I sit down and open a Palahniuk book I get a bit giddy. I know this book will leave me wondering what just happened but give me one great ride getting there.

Mr. Palahniuk's 8th book, ...
No one can write utter dysfunction and madness like the master himself. Every time I sit down and open a Palahniuk book I get a bit giddy. I know this book will leave me wondering what just happened but give me one great ride getting there.

Mr. Palahniuk's 8th book, Snuff, tells the tale of Cassie Wright, an aging porn star out to break the mother of all records for the pornography industry. She, in her final role, will sleep with 600 men on film in one shooting.

As you progress through just the beginning of the book you soon realize that no one expects Cassie to live through this, not even Cassie herself.

In the book you read from 3 characters 1st person recounting of them at the shoot. Mr. 72, Mr 137, and Mr. 600. You also get a narration from the days leading up to the shoot and the shoot from Cassie's personal assistant, Shelia.

Mr. 72 believes he is Cassie's son she gave up for adoption after she conceived him during her first adult movie, Mr. 137 is an out of work actor who lost his show due to a gay film he had made, and Mr. 600 is the co-star and believed father of Cassie's child.

Don't worry, it's as messed up as it sounds, but not in the ways you are thinking.

I can't say much more about the book without this review being a spoiler, which I refuse to do in any capacity for any book. Just know that if you enjoyed Palahniuk's other works you know what to expect from this one.

You're not going to have a clue what hit you.

posted by astucity on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Leaves something to be desired

I am an avid Chuck Palahniuk fan and there is just something missing from this story compared to others. Invisible Monsters is my favorite, but also in Survivor and Fight Club there is depth to the characters and a well thought out plot along with surprising twists. In ...
I am an avid Chuck Palahniuk fan and there is just something missing from this story compared to others. Invisible Monsters is my favorite, but also in Survivor and Fight Club there is depth to the characters and a well thought out plot along with surprising twists. In comparison, this book is none of those. It was all just very predictable and bland. Definitely a disappointment compared to some of his other work.

posted by Theresa37 on January 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    This was not an enjoyable read.  Well, so far...got less than ha

    This was not an enjoyable read.  Well, so far...got less than half through and I could not go on.  The story is just not interesting.  
    Or maybe it's me?  It's on my Nook so I'll probably try this again though I have no desire to do so in the near future.
     For now I've moved on to my next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes I feel like I¿m a can of spray paint.  Well, it had to

    Sometimes I feel like I’m a can of spray paint. 
    Well, it had to happen sooner or later, Chuck wrote a book that I don’t like. Palahniuk is a great writer, and I’ve enjoyed his unique perspective on everything I’ve read of his, but this one fell flat. I don’t mind the setting or the theme, although this one does feel less clever and a little more grungy. It’s just that the story didn’t grab me, I didn’t really care about the characters, and the whole thing feels kind of sad. Not really the kind of clever humor I usually find in a Palahniuk story, although he clearly had a good time coming up with adult movie titles, and while I will still eagerly await his next book, I won’t keep this one in my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Not his best work

    While the novel was compelling with an interesting storyline and well-developed (for the most part) characters, i really felt like there just wasn't enough to it. It wasn't thought-out with logic and motivation like most of his other novels. Granted, even his worst work trumps most other authors, hand over fist. It just reads more like a short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    eh.. ok book

    not his best work but still entertaining. good thing its short tho or it would have lost my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    Not his best work

    I have devoured every book of CP's since I picked up Invisible Monsters a few years back. Yet, I found Snuff to be lacking. It does have the trademark twist at the end, but I found myself barely paying attention to the book as I waited impatiently to reach the twist that would make pull the pieces together. In the end I was left dissappointed, the ending is interesting, but... dare I say it... predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Winner, 2008 AVN Award for Best Banal Feature

    For readers familiar with Chuck Palahniuk, you'll find yourself running over the same old ground in Snuff. Palahniuk relies on pornography to do his work for him however, in 2008, pornography itself and 'gasp' the fact that men and women from middle america act in those films is nothing new because of its very ubiquity. 'Since you are reading this review online, it's likely that you've either inadvertantly or intentionally encountered a mass-mailed advertisement or an entire site today.' Nothing shocking here. The characters are exactly what you would presumptively expect in pornography--the down and out, the sexually-dinged, the porn star past his or her prime but holding on for one last shot at fame. In Palahniuk's other works, the anti-heroes are successful because we're in a world we've never been to before, while in Snuff, Palahniuk just feeds our common, and probably incorrect, assumptions. The best parts of the novel are Mr. 72's and Mr. 137's back stories, and a good editor would have told Palahniuk to de-center Cassie Wright, the main aging porn star, and her film World Whore Three, in favor of examining Mr. 72's adopted father, the White Power model train enthusiast, or Mr. 137's father, a pedophiliac but seemingly modern midwestern farmer who 'diddled' his son. If you're new to Palahniuk, start elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Disappointing

    I'm a huge, HUGE Palahniuk fan, although I'm starting to feel like a Palahniuk apologist. His last couple books have really sucked (Rant and Haunted, specifically), and this one's not any better. I mean...there's very, very little plot from what I can tell (I'm 130+ pages in), the writing is of marginal quality, and I'm starting to feel cheated by the ol' Chuckster for this stuff. What ever happened to the guy who brought us Survivor, Fight Club, and Lullaby? Oh well, until I pluck down money for his next bit of schlock...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    I managed to breeze through Snuff in 4 hours and that's how long I think it took Chuck to write this book. I hate to trash him, but this book is lacking everything that we've come to love about him (and I've read all his work), except for it being very explicit. No shocking plot twist, everything could be seen coming from a mile away. Not a complete waste of time if you have nothing else to do at the moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Disappointing at best.

    I'm baffled by all the positive reviews that I've been reading. Try this, take Chuck's name off this book and read it again. If you just do this, then the book is a rather big waste of time. I'm a huge Palahniuk fan but I can't help but feel that he's somehow lost the touch. I've read all of his books and the general trend seems be that his writing is regressing or that he simply doesn't have the drive that he did when he wrote those excellent first few (Choke, Survivor, Fight Club,...) After reading this book, I'll be hard pressed to look for the release date of his next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2