Customer Reviews for

Snuff

Average Rating 3.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's a roller coaster of dysfunction!

No one can write utter dysfunction and madness like the master himself. Every time I sit down and open a Palahniuk book I get a bit giddy. I know this book will leave me wondering what just happened but give me one great ride getting there.

Mr. Palahniuk's 8th book, ...
No one can write utter dysfunction and madness like the master himself. Every time I sit down and open a Palahniuk book I get a bit giddy. I know this book will leave me wondering what just happened but give me one great ride getting there.

Mr. Palahniuk's 8th book, Snuff, tells the tale of Cassie Wright, an aging porn star out to break the mother of all records for the pornography industry. She, in her final role, will sleep with 600 men on film in one shooting.

As you progress through just the beginning of the book you soon realize that no one expects Cassie to live through this, not even Cassie herself.

In the book you read from 3 characters 1st person recounting of them at the shoot. Mr. 72, Mr 137, and Mr. 600. You also get a narration from the days leading up to the shoot and the shoot from Cassie's personal assistant, Shelia.

Mr. 72 believes he is Cassie's son she gave up for adoption after she conceived him during her first adult movie, Mr. 137 is an out of work actor who lost his show due to a gay film he had made, and Mr. 600 is the co-star and believed father of Cassie's child.

Don't worry, it's as messed up as it sounds, but not in the ways you are thinking.

I can't say much more about the book without this review being a spoiler, which I refuse to do in any capacity for any book. Just know that if you enjoyed Palahniuk's other works you know what to expect from this one.

You're not going to have a clue what hit you.

posted by astucity on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Leaves something to be desired

I am an avid Chuck Palahniuk fan and there is just something missing from this story compared to others. Invisible Monsters is my favorite, but also in Survivor and Fight Club there is depth to the characters and a well thought out plot along with surprising twists. In ...
I am an avid Chuck Palahniuk fan and there is just something missing from this story compared to others. Invisible Monsters is my favorite, but also in Survivor and Fight Club there is depth to the characters and a well thought out plot along with surprising twists. In comparison, this book is none of those. It was all just very predictable and bland. Definitely a disappointment compared to some of his other work.

posted by Theresa37 on January 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Confusing

    It was quite confusing and should be read quickly to engage in its fast paced characters. Not what I expected but still deranged and explicit. Not a long book and I wouldn't reccommend unless you like an unexpected ending and lots of pornographic mention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    He Said WHAT?!

    Sort of a non-science-fiction alternate reality involving porn and the people who create it. Funny as hell in places - a stretch in a lot of others. Did I call it an alternate reality? More like an exaggerated reality. An awareness of hard core pornography would seem to be required to fully get it. Not a read to be easily forgotten!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Chuck!

    Though this was not one of my fav Chuck books it still had his flare all over it. Check out some of his others like Suvivors, Choke, Invisible Monsters and Lullaby(one of my favs). His books are not for everyone so keep an open mind. Faithful Chuck fan here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Readable

    Not Chuck's best book but definitely not his worst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Chuck Palahniuk is great at the unusual.

    Never expect the ordinary with Chuck. I have read every single book he's ever written (expect haven't gotten the newest one yet) and I am a strong proponent of his work. This one faltered; it finished quickly with no satisfying resolution.

    Each chapter is seen from the perspective of four characters. It is a unique style that I think could have been used more in-depth and more enlightening.

    The story is new, which I have to give him props for, I mean where else are going to read about an aging porn star(s), her child given up for adoption seeking acceptance, and emasculated men driven to seek their one chance at their beloved star.

    It was a depressingly quick read, without the usual punches I've come to expect from Chuck. More of library check out book, rather than add to the collection book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Different

    Okay...wow. That was different and yet, interesting. I found myself gripped to the pages reading more of what I didn't think possible; my own strange interests. Cult and new, but not my true cup of tea as far as sexy erotica.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Literary Disappointment, Thy name is Chuck Palahniuk...

    After reading DIARY I waited...after reading HAUNTED I waited...even after reading RANT I waited...and now after reading SUNFF I'm still waiting for Chuck to get back to writing what he does best with his earlier novels: TRANSGRESSIONAL FICTION. In short, the story was sparse, the character development was lacking, and chuck is relying to much on style than substance--relying too much on high concept premises and not supporting them with a good base. If your a fan of palahniuk, I would still get it but tame your expectations greatly. If your a newcomer to his books read any of his earlier novels like Choke, Survivor or Fight Club.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Not his Best, but still Palahnuick

    I was slightly saddened by the outcome of this book because: it had no legit ending. The characters, sadly enough, I didn't really enjoy much either- besides #72, Darin. Otherwise, despite the lack of character depth, I found myself enjoyed by 'Snuff' with it's witty dialogue and, of course, it was very funny. The twist at the end was unsuspecting but not as strange and mind-blowing as Palanhuick's endings tend to be. Not his best, that's for sure, but still an average Palahnuick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    Not His Best, by far

    This is certainly not Chuck's best novel. If you are new to him as an author, chose any of his other books first. I think it takes reading his others to appreciate this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    'Snuff said

    I eagerly anticipated the release of Palahniuk's newest book. The premise of one of the most imaginative and unique writers taking on the world of porn had me drooling. The multiple character angle was fine, but the development was not up to his usual level. The ending, while something only Palahniuk could have come up with, was weak. Instead of spending so much time telling us how other celebrities died, I wish he would of delved more into the twisted insides of the characters. Even the big reveal (aka WTF moment)was lacking the gut punch Palahniuk usually packs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3