Customer Reviews for

Snuff

Average Rating 3.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's a roller coaster of dysfunction!

No one can write utter dysfunction and madness like the master himself. Every time I sit down and open a Palahniuk book I get a bit giddy. I know this book will leave me wondering what just happened but give me one great ride getting there.

Mr. Palahniuk's 8th book, ...
No one can write utter dysfunction and madness like the master himself. Every time I sit down and open a Palahniuk book I get a bit giddy. I know this book will leave me wondering what just happened but give me one great ride getting there.

Mr. Palahniuk's 8th book, Snuff, tells the tale of Cassie Wright, an aging porn star out to break the mother of all records for the pornography industry. She, in her final role, will sleep with 600 men on film in one shooting.

As you progress through just the beginning of the book you soon realize that no one expects Cassie to live through this, not even Cassie herself.

In the book you read from 3 characters 1st person recounting of them at the shoot. Mr. 72, Mr 137, and Mr. 600. You also get a narration from the days leading up to the shoot and the shoot from Cassie's personal assistant, Shelia.

Mr. 72 believes he is Cassie's son she gave up for adoption after she conceived him during her first adult movie, Mr. 137 is an out of work actor who lost his show due to a gay film he had made, and Mr. 600 is the co-star and believed father of Cassie's child.

Don't worry, it's as messed up as it sounds, but not in the ways you are thinking.

I can't say much more about the book without this review being a spoiler, which I refuse to do in any capacity for any book. Just know that if you enjoyed Palahniuk's other works you know what to expect from this one.

You're not going to have a clue what hit you.

posted by astucity on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Leaves something to be desired

I am an avid Chuck Palahniuk fan and there is just something missing from this story compared to others. Invisible Monsters is my favorite, but also in Survivor and Fight Club there is depth to the characters and a well thought out plot along with surprising twists. In ...
I am an avid Chuck Palahniuk fan and there is just something missing from this story compared to others. Invisible Monsters is my favorite, but also in Survivor and Fight Club there is depth to the characters and a well thought out plot along with surprising twists. In comparison, this book is none of those. It was all just very predictable and bland. Definitely a disappointment compared to some of his other work.

posted by Theresa37 on January 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Get in line...

    This is a good book! Short and sweet, with amazing characters, great stories and the usual Palahniuk twist and turns.

    Three men are waiting for their turn to be with Cassie Wright (porn star) they are Mr. 72, Mr. 137 and Mr. 600. Cassie is trying to break the record for a gang bang. Another character in the book is Sheila, Cassie's assistant, she provides several chapters.

    The book is broken down into very short chapters, each chapter a different character is talking, much like in "Haunted", for those of you that have read it.

    Good funny, dirty book with a hilarious ending!

    Read it for a good laugh or to just peak into the world of Chuck Palahniuk's mind!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Chuck Does It Again

    Chuck Palahniuk has done it again. This is an original, offbeat, graphic, pitch black sex comedy that only Palahniuk could have written. It manages to be both sexually explicit and completely unsexy at the same time. Chuck doesn't flinch as he describes sexual acts, bodily fluids and hollywood movie trivia in the same breath. He aims to make his readers feel something, but it's certainly not sexual. He also makes us think about the ways in which we hide from ourselves and each other, use and abuse sexuality for all kinds of reasons and discover the awful consequences that inevitably arise when the secrets from our past return to bite us on the behind. This book is over-the-top, funny, disturbing, revolting, thought provoking and clearly not for everyone. Thanks, Mr. Palahniuk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Another great book by Chuck

    Let me start by saying I like almost everything Chuck does. I'm a huge fan, and as such, just wanted to let you know that bias is there. That said, I felt like this book had all the classic Palahniuk touches. Well researched ''fun facts'' that fit into the story. Characters that are not your run off the mill, practically flawless fictional characters. Spot on social commentary undertone. And as always, and ending that will blow your mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good snuff

    As usual chuck has create anoth group of characters that living in a world of bastards where each person is more self centered and cynical than the next. when you pick up one of his books u know what u got coming. Entertainment with a twist of lemon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy Read

    Snuff is a great book if you want something that is easy, fast and unique. It is only 197 pages and the writing style could be read by a 7th grader. In between work and other activities it took me two days to read. I am a very big Chuck Palahniuk fan. The cool thing about this book is that it doesn't share the same theme most of his other books do. That theme being: real life is boring. Snuff is just a simple novel. The twists and turns are not shocking or alarming. It is not the graphic, crazy book some people make it out as being. I had a fun time reading it, but it definitely is not worth 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Palahniuk is AWESOME

    I have read 5 or 6 books by this author. Everyone of them is great.<BR/><BR/>Snuff takes into account of the moments leading up to the act. Of course character development is twisted. . . .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SEX SELLS

    Let's face it: sex sells. That's the reason Cassie, the porn queen in SNUFF, is making a film wherein she tries to "shag" 600 guys in order to break a record. It's also the reason I bought the book. Well, that and the fact that I enjoy Palahniuk's dark humor as a guilty pleasure like a good episode of Melrose Place. With that said, I was pleasantly surprised by the way the novel played out. The novel wasn't about the 600 men - er, shagging--the porn queen. It was primarily about a handful of the 600 guys in the waiting room, their connections to Cassie, and their desire to be something/someone better than who they are at that very moment. Furthermore, as the novel progressed, each chapter was told from a different person's point of view. It was a bit of a challenge at first to keep everyone straight (especially since the guys were known only as their number in line), but once you got into the story more and could distinguish each character, it became interesting and intriguing. <BR/><BR/>SNUFF also gave me some insight into the porn industry, including terms, and I thank Palahniuk for the research he did. More than that, I see somebody must have gotten Palahniuk "The Big Book of Filth: 6500 Sex Slang Words and Phrases" for his birthday one year. He scattered every word he could for masturbation throughout the entire book. <BR/><BR/>To sum up my brief book review, I was entertained reading SNUFF. It was a quick, enjoyable read (for those not faint-of-heart) on my flights to and from Vegas and I loved the crazy twist ending. It made me giggle as only someone with an equally sick sense of humor could. SNUFF definitely came from the same mind as the novel "Invisible Monsters" and the short story "Guts" (featured in "Haunted"). I'd recommend it if you're looking for something "light" yet heavy with dark humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    It has the Palahniuk twist

    Snuff did have the Palahniuk twist at the end which I should've expected from the beginning but didn't. The story dragged on a bit. Other than that, it was well written and highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    Perfect, almost

    I was completely enoyed and satisfied throughout this entire read, just like i have been through every other Palahniuk book I've read so far (Fight Club, Lullaby, Choke, Invisible Monsters), up until the last page. I was a bit disappointed and confused with the ending he wrote for Snuff. I hope he hasn't lost his touch. Nonetheless I will look forward till his next masterpeice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    New Chuck Fan

    This is the third book I have read by Chuck personally I found it amusing in many ways. I enjoyed the multiple character angle better here than in Rant, and the ending actually made me laugh out loud. Definitely not for the faint of heart, or readers who offend easily, for any one else it's a great read for a plane ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    a good solid book

    a good solid chuck palhaniuk book. his great well known style really makes snuff what it is. I reccommend it for people who know chuck palhaniuks style. I liked it all the way through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    Sense of humor needed.

    While this is not my favorite Chuck book, it definitely was a page turner. This book nearly had me laugh out loud on a NY city subway. I must admit, I was afraid that people would look over my shoulder and see what I was reading whilst thinking to themselves 'what a pervert?' If you've never read Chuck before, I would start with a little bit of a lighter read (ala Survivor, which is my all-time favorite). I really enjoyed this book and kind of wish it were a little longer but I definitely got that Palanhiuk twist. Sick, Messed up, and sheerly enjoyable I can't wait for his next foray into whatever the subject may be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4