Customer Reviews for

Snuff (Discworld Series #39)

Average Rating 4.5
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Terrific story, but nook version full of typos

Terry Pratchett has, as usual, told a great story. Sadly, Harper Collins released an ebook/nook version full of typos (kindle owners are complaining, too). There are words mashed together on every page; it's nearly unreadable. Buy the paper copy!

posted by cmjny on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Disheartening

While a long-time reader and steadfast zealot of Pratchett's works, his latest three books nearly bring me to tears at times. His illness is becoming more and more evident. Snuff rambled along its plotline in a disjointed fashion, and the characters we have grown so fam...
While a long-time reader and steadfast zealot of Pratchett's works, his latest three books nearly bring me to tears at times. His illness is becoming more and more evident. Snuff rambled along its plotline in a disjointed fashion, and the characters we have grown so familiar with practically seemed strangers at times in the uncharacteristic manner in which they behaved. Willikins in particular behaves and speaks in a manner completely at odds with every previous portrayal of the character, as the most clear example. Further, the sense of clarity and incisiveness that always made Pratchett stand above his fellow writers so clearly has dimmed. While there were humorous moments, he never really wrung more than a bitter smile from me compared to the previous laughter he once evoked. While I will treasure his books and contribution to the world with all my heart, for all my life, I believe I will not read any future works of his. It would be too much like watching the slow death of a treasured grandparent.

posted by WonkyChewbacca on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Disheartening

    While a long-time reader and steadfast zealot of Pratchett's works, his latest three books nearly bring me to tears at times. His illness is becoming more and more evident. Snuff rambled along its plotline in a disjointed fashion, and the characters we have grown so familiar with practically seemed strangers at times in the uncharacteristic manner in which they behaved. Willikins in particular behaves and speaks in a manner completely at odds with every previous portrayal of the character, as the most clear example. Further, the sense of clarity and incisiveness that always made Pratchett stand above his fellow writers so clearly has dimmed. While there were humorous moments, he never really wrung more than a bitter smile from me compared to the previous laughter he once evoked. While I will treasure his books and contribution to the world with all my heart, for all my life, I believe I will not read any future works of his. It would be too much like watching the slow death of a treasured grandparent.

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Terrific story, but nook version full of typos

    Terry Pratchett has, as usual, told a great story. Sadly, Harper Collins released an ebook/nook version full of typos (kindle owners are complaining, too). There are words mashed together on every page; it's nearly unreadable. Buy the paper copy!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    $12.99 for an eBook full of typos!

    Terry Pratchett has another gem! The story and characters are excellent. I can not give this eBook Nook version four stars as it is full of typos! How could the publisher release this? I am reading it with the Nook app on the iPad. The publisher should proof read and test these out before charging $12.99 for a digital copy. Next time I will get the Kindle version!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terry Pratchett provides a strong entry filled with social commentary intertwined into an exciting thriller

    Ankh-Morpork City Watch Commander Sam Vimes faces his most difficult assignment in years. His Grace Sir Samuel, the Duke of Ankh, will spend two torturious weeks rusticating with his wife Sybil and their six years old son Young Sam at her family's estate. Sam loves the idea of spending time with his beloved spouse and son, but his in-laws make a boring vacation worse and not worth changing from his cardboard soles.

    However, life picks up as Vimes quickly gets involved with the locals when someone brutally murders a female goblin. Feeney the inexperienced local copper and Willikens the gentleman's gentleman assist Vimes as he works vacation time for no pay investigating the homicide.

    The latest Discworld satire (see I Shall Wear Midnight) is a wonderful entry that looks deeply at inalienable human (and other species) rights and bigotry to take away those accepted rights. Fast-paced Vimes is at his cynical best as he learns life in the country means a female woodcutter works with woodies and that rural does not mean crime free; as he leads the inquiry into the vicious murder of the Goblin Girl. Terry Pratchett provides a strong entry filled with social commentary intertwined into an exciting thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Love it!

    Fine additon to the Discword opus.
    As usual, it seems to start out slow. But he's building the groundwork for the maelstrom that soon follows.
    I enjoyed seeing the continued development of the characters, especially Sibyl and Willkins. They probably would not have acted like this in the earlier books, but the characters have changed and grown through the series, and here is the result.
    And of course Sam Vimes is just, well, Sam. Gods love him.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Another great entry from the greatest of authors

    A longtime reader of Sir Terry will enjoy the next installment in the Discworld series. The old characters are back, growing in believable ways, and new characters enter the story to make for an exciting adventure. There's action, there's romance, there's mystery - and as always, great insight to human nature. And a lot of laughs. If you've read other Discworld novels, grab this one quickly. If you haven't read any others...well, what are you waiting for?!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    As always...

    Another amazing (albeit darker) Discworld offering. May we have Pratchett and Vimes for years to come!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Heart Warming!

    Now that I've read the book in its entirety, I can recommend it wholeheartedly.
    Myself a long-time reader of Terry Pratchett's stories, I found this book to be absolutely wonderful. It was truly satisfying to read of real hope- to have such a clear description narrated of the actual good that all sentient beings can do. I also find the always-present realistic observations on the business of life very comforting.
    I hope Terry's books, especially the more recent ones- that illuminate such strong positive possibilities for our future- make it into everyone's home. And that people will actually think when they read them... but then, humans are humans, I suppose.

    What I *really* hope for is more from Terry Pratchett!

    - T. William Gage

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Wonderful read!

    Excellent read although the development of charcters moves in a direction I would not agree with. Still an excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Definitely worth the wait!

    Terry Pratchett has a new book coming out! I cant wait for "Snuff" I have read the entire Discworld series, and if you haven't, START READING THEM NOW! Pratchett's books are funny, entertaining and thought provoking. I would recommend them to absolutely anyone. The Discworld is wide and varied, often mirroring our own, and Pratchett has a real gift for creating absolutely unforgettable characters and situations. I couldn't say enough good things about this series and I have the highest of hopes for this new addition.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    Pratchett's 'asides' have always been at least as entertaining as the primary plot line and "Snuff" just doesn't seem to have the same zing as previous works. The book is true to the characters and the plot line is entertaining but it didn't measure-up to my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Preachy and disjointed

    Sir Pratchett now reads like an imitator of his own work

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    How you could give this less than 5 stars makes no sense!

    This is one of my favorite pratchett novels ever, and that's saying something. Want more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    A+

    Pratchett does it again! What else can I say that hasn't already boasted its awesomeness?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Great open end of Sam Vimes series

    Start with Guards! Guards! and read through the books about Sam Vimes and the Watch. The series is fantastic: hilarious, politically charged, full of plot and action. Snuff is a worthy addition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Snuff is more than Enuff

    I like all of Mr. Prachett's Disc World books, and Snuff is the best of them. The story, centered on Commander Vimes, is mature and introspective, perhaps because there is no slapstick, except for that wee bit with Wee Mad Arthur and, of course, that thing with the barges. But Snuff is satisfying in every possible way and I was sorry to finish it and I am already looking forward to reading it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    This lived up to my expectation, which for a Discworld novel are

    This lived up to my expectation, which for a Discworld novel are high. I have always loved the fact that Sir Terry's characters grow and change as time passes and Sam is one of my favorites, so I enjoyed every second that I was reading it. While others here seem upset with the plot direction, I relished the development of Willikins beyond a two-dimensional caricature of the perfect 'gentleman's gentleman ' into a force in his own right. All-in-all, very satisfactory!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    lovely

    Once of the best discworld novels i have read in years. I have always been a fan of Vimes though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Pratchett...

    enough said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Chicle

    Tree

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6