Customer Reviews for

So B. It

Average Rating 4.5
( 399 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(305)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Wow

I personaly cried my eyes out at the end if the book! Now every time when I read this book I will ask myself, WHY is life so Cruel. I BEG YOU TO READ THIS!!!!

posted by Anonymous on March 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

so sad i cried

it was sad .her mom died and then the book pretty much ended ,this book should be rewriten with a happy ending

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 402 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    Wow

    I personaly cried my eyes out at the end if the book! Now every time when I read this book I will ask myself, WHY is life so Cruel. I BEG YOU TO READ THIS!!!!

    28 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    Awesome Book For Kids!

    Sarah Weeks does a phenominal job writing about Heidi a girl who is unsure of her past. Heidi doesn't know her father, her mothers name, let alone her birthday!Heidi lives in an apartment with her mother who claims her self to be "So B. It" is mentally disabled and her apartment neighbor Bernadette who comes through a door which that seperates the two apartments. Bernadette has home schooled Heidi has an aphobia were she is frightened to go outside she says something terribly bad would happen. "So. B. It" has one word she says constantly. Soof. Heidi is so determined to find out what soof is that she embarks on a remarkable journey from Reno Nevada to Liberty New York to Hilltop Home; A Place a picture found in her apartments junk drawer where her mother stayed. Hilltop Home is a rehabilitation home for the mentally disabled. Heidi thinks Hilltop Home may still have her mothers records where Heidi may find her mothers past let alone hers. Heidi find out way more than she expected. Heidi also has her 1st experience with death. Sarah Weeks has a great imagination to write a story great as So B. It. 5 stars for Sarah Weeks!

    23 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    This book is the best book I have ever read!

    I loved this book so much. Infact, i Just got done reading it today! When I got to the chapter called Uh-oh, from then on, I cried through the book, it has been the only story I think I have cried for. I love this book!! I suggest it for all 11-13 year olds!! Love it love it!!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    The Truth Speaker

    So B. It is an amazing book! I have read it 7 times and loved it every time! There's one part that makes you cry but it really is a good story. It made me laugh, cry, and slide to the edge of my seat. !!!!!!I WOULD TOTALLY RECOMEND IT!!!!!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the good point of veiw of so b. it

    hey i think that so b it is an very inspiring novel is great and is has great lessons and a great moral if your looking for a book to read to pass the time by read so b it it just sucks you into the book parents if you have work or are driving or something give your kids this book to read it will keep them quiet for a good while it was so good i read for a whole day it was just that good you should definetly read so b it

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    So B. It

    By Sarah Weeks review by Mitchell Benson
    So B. It has one word that really describes it, truth. The idea that you can't know everything sticks throughout the story as well. Heidi, the main character is 12 and lives with Bernadette, a adopted mother and her bum brain mama. Heidi lives in Reno Nevada and is all consumed by her curiosity about her mama's word soof. Soof haunts Heidi and it seems like she will never find the meaning until one day she finds a old Kodak camera. After she has the pictures developed she learns that her mama lived in Liberty, New York she thinks she will find some answers there. After deciding to go on a bus to Liberty she uses a bit of her luck (she's real sweet with the slots) to get some cash. She then travels cross country over thousands of miles on a bus to find the truth in her world.

    I liked this book because it had a good moral, you can't know everything. I really think this applies to all people because what point is there to live if you already know everything? It also has a good story line that kept me reading the entire time. My favorite part is when Heidi is on the bus and makes several friends and learns a lot about lying from doing so.

    One down side to So B. It is that it doesn't have much humor and has some very sad parts. It also doesn't really have any amazing descriptions or metaphors but it really makes you look into yourself and do some deep thinking. I would recommend this book to any one who wants to learn about their virtues and have a wonderful read.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Amazing read!!!

    This book made me sob my eyes out but I was drawn to it the whole time it was in my reach. This novel is a perfect example of sceptical, beautiful, cruel life. Once you pick up this book you will be unable to set it down. I am dead serious, you would bring it on your honey moon if thats what it came down to. It is sad, yes but I strongley advise poking your nose in the one and only: So B It. No matter your age or gender

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    AMAZING!

    I LOVE SO B IT! IT GETS SAD IN SOME AREAS BUT I RECCOMEND IT TO EVERYONE WHO ENJOYS FICTION
    READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!;)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    I LOVED IT

    I totally cried and sobbed at some parts it was so awesome like the hunger games so if u like it read the hunger games

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Inspirational.

    This book is so touching. It really gives you a different view on the mentally disabled. I bawled my eyes out towards the end. It IS definitely the best book I have EVER read. Please read it too!!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    I read this book for the first time when I was somewhat young, a

    I read this book for the first time when I was somewhat young, around middle school. I remember it was easy to understand and very sweet and cute. Now that I've gotten a little older (17), I can see it for what it is- a girl desperate to know her roots, and her father specifically, rushes across the country to find something that's alluded her for her whole life, a small one syllable word that her mother says 'soof'. Of course the ending made me bawl my eyes out but i appreciate this book for what it is- a triumph in the eyes of inevitable and almost undying adversity. Go Heidi :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Best book ever!!!

    Omg i seriously love this book. I also read it in 4th grade. It was so amazing. I loved every single word of the book. And when i got to a couple of parts, i cried. You geel like you are in the book. You feel for the characters. You love them. When they are in trouble or if something happens, you feel it too. Absolutely the best book i have ever read. EVER. You should really get this book. Truly amazing!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Anomynous

    This is the best book I have ever read. It's about a girl named Heidi, and she goes on a long trip to find out where she came from. The rest of the book will be a suprise. So you should get this book and read it. You won't regret it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read about half of this book and I am loving it!

    I've read about half of this book and I am loving it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Wonderful

    Let me just tell you first that I don't like reading. Not one bit. This book is different though. I just couldn't put it down. Such an amazing book. I have read it about five times now!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    This is a great book for both adults and teens.

    This great book is about a little girl named Heidi. Heidi has a mentally challenged mother and struggles to take care of her. So she met a person who took them in. Although her mother can't talk she only knows 23 words. But there is a word that she says that drives Heidi nuts. She can't figure out what it means but goes on a trip to find out.
    This book is great for people who love sad stories but yet it's happy and joyful. The book uses great grammar and helps the reader understand the books purpose. It also has a great suspense. I would say people over the sixth grade. The more challenged readers could read this though. People who do not like sad stories should not read this book.
    Well I would have to say this is one of my all time faves. As soon as you read the first page you're hooked from start to finish. The book itself it wonderful and so is the author Sarah Weeks. You will not be able to turn your back on this book for more than a second. It's full of surprises!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    So b. It

    So b. It is the best book i have ever read! My mother and I read it at the same time and it was so sad to read because i thought what if i was like this what if i didnt no my birthday or no my dad the mood was very suspensful i recommend this book to each kind of sex and not only kids

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    A great book to read with your kids at night!

    My daughter and I loved this book- the mama was endearing and the daughter was sweet. You couldn't help but feel for her. I want to meet these people. A great book for teaching character lessons- patience, friendship, kindness and love.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I read this book for a college book club. Being an education major, I found this book very interesting and a good book to use for fourth to sixth grade students when introducing the genre of real life fiction. Overall a very good, yet sad, read.

    This is a great book for anyone who is in the educational field or who is interested in mental impariments. This book can be used as a good book club book for fourth to sixth grade students as long as the fourth and fifth grade groups are monitered and are mature enough to understand mental imparements. It is also a good coming of age story that students who are adopted can relate with . This book does have a sadish ending so I would make sure that you either follow or lead this book with a happier story. This is a qucik read for adult readers and has nice short chapters for younger reader. Overall, I would recomend this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    so sad i cried

    it was sad .her mom died and then the book pretty much ended ,this book should be rewriten with a happy ending

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 402 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21