Customer Reviews for

So Brave, Young and Handsome

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

So, Intelligent, Engrossing and Concise

What a superb writer. After reading, Peace Like a River, I anxiously awaited Mr. Enger's next book. I was not disappointed. This book is one of the finest books I have read in a long time. I took my time with this book and often read chapters twice for the beauty of his...
What a superb writer. After reading, Peace Like a River, I anxiously awaited Mr. Enger's next book. I was not disappointed. This book is one of the finest books I have read in a long time. I took my time with this book and often read chapters twice for the beauty of his words. Although the story is a compelling one, it's the imagery that I found to be remarkable. If you read this book, take your time and enjoy the journey.

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Rules of Punctuation

I treid very hard to get into this book. I read all the rave reviews and thought there must be something wrong with me. I tried three separate times and never made it past Chapter 5. Too many exclamation points! They were unnecessary, completely distracting, and fin...
I treid very hard to get into this book. I read all the rave reviews and thought there must be something wrong with me. I tried three separate times and never made it past Chapter 5. Too many exclamation points! They were unnecessary, completely distracting, and finally extremely annoying. That is now how I want to feel when I read a book. It may have been a good story. I will never know not do I care to.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Rules of Punctuation

    I treid very hard to get into this book. I read all the rave reviews and thought there must be something wrong with me. I tried three separate times and never made it past Chapter 5. Too many exclamation points! They were unnecessary, completely distracting, and finally extremely annoying. That is now how I want to feel when I read a book. It may have been a good story. I will never know not do I care to.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    So, Intelligent, Engrossing and Concise

    What a superb writer. After reading, Peace Like a River, I anxiously awaited Mr. Enger's next book. I was not disappointed. This book is one of the finest books I have read in a long time. I took my time with this book and often read chapters twice for the beauty of his words. Although the story is a compelling one, it's the imagery that I found to be remarkable. If you read this book, take your time and enjoy the journey.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    A throwback to Mark Twain

    With a backdrop against the middle and west of the United States, with elements of pursuit, obsession and redemption, a group of interesting characters are interwoven into a cacophony of subplots with twists and turns. In some ways it reminded me of Huckleberry Finn. The mysterious Glendon on a journey to make amends after many years, the obsession of Charles, the pursuer, the awakening of Monte, the main character, all kept the plot moving. There were subtler themes here, good vs. evil, amends vs. avoidance, care vs. obsession. At times the story took turns which weren't predicatable and, perhaps, believable, but the writing style of the author and the organization of the work kept me going to the end. For a period piece about interesting characters I thought this worth the read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book! Leif Enger is as good in Book 2 as he was in Book 1. As with Peace Like a River, So Brave Young & Handsome has unique and compelling characters, unexpected plot lines and circumstances, and deep roots. I strongly recommend

    The journey of the protagonist in So Brave Young & Handsome -- from its strange start (the visual of a man standing, rowing a boat) to its almost haphazard side-character development to the satisfying and wrenching conclusion -- is gritty. A great strength of the book is the sustained strength of the prose. Poetic (as readers of Peace Like a River would expect) and compelling, the novel draws the reader in and doesn't let go. The plot line is filled with bizarre characters, sketched to strength in just a few quick lines by the clever and insightful Enger. This one is a keeper.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Romance of another era

    This is a book for wanna be gypsies. Just pick up and go. Enjoyed by male and female alike. Can see myself standing by the river bank, longing to go but held by obligation.
    Go for the ride.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Huge LETDOWN ofter his first novel

    Stick with Leif Enger's first novel, Peace Like A River. Don't waste your money or more importantly ~ your valuable TIME on this novel. I loved Peace Like A River so hoped he'd deliver in this as well. The irony is that he writes about a writer who wrote a hit first novel and can't put together anything else worth publishing. I think he should have followed the footsteps of the main character this time! There were many times this book just wandered aimlessly and I kept kicking myself for hoping for it to improve and pursuing it. It did start to improve toward the end, but it wasn't redeeming. I left in it the hotel room because I wouldn't want to burden anyone with sharing it and I would not be happy to see it sitting on my bookshelf either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    mY THOUGHTS

    So much enjoyed the first novel and was looking forward to his next but I found it lacking. For his fans I won't say not to read it because this is just my personal opinion but my suggestion,hold out and purchase it as a bargain book if your are searching for a western novel to read and you want to foolw up with Enger's latest atttempt .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Maybe I don't Get it

    I know I was supposed to like it, but I just found it lagging. I'll be the first to admit that I am not a a great reviewer, nor am I an author, but with all he hype, I expected to be blown away. I like the tie in to some true life historical figures, but I think I prefer non-fiction and wsa hoping for more. That being said, his use of the English language is sublime and descriptive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's just the romantic in me

    This is a very visual book with believable characters and places. A great read, it will take you away from the current financial state and back to a time of barter and hard work.
    From Monte's artistic block to his son's sense of adventure you keep pulling that things will all work out to the best ending. And I was satisfied with the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Story that pulls you in

    Since reading Peace Like a River several years ago I have been waiting for another book by Leif Enger. This one does not disappoint as he is a wonderful story teller who can make you cry, laugh or cheer. It was not what I expected or what the title hinted it would be. It reminded me somewhat of Peace Like a River because they ended up on the wrong side of the law and were pursued throughout by someone you didn't know whether to hate or respect. No matter, I love the way he puts words on the page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    A touching story of the "winding" down of the old West....characters all looking for that one last, great adventure to bring them back to the "good old days".

    I think categorizing this book as a "Western" novel, as many have, could be inaccurate, but in a most positive way. The "Wild West" days many of us envision are all but gone. However, the characters in this story find "excuses" to try and relive those days one last time. One wants to head to Mexico to find a long lost love. Another is an aging Pinkerton agent who wants to catch the one outlaw that got away. The next is a young mild mannered man who has written a Western novella to satisfy his fondness of Western adventure, never thinking he would be part of his own adventure. You will enjoy getting to know these characters and following them on their journey, each finding their way together, separately.....

    Also, this is one of those books I think would make an excellent movie because of the great character development. I think it would make for just the kind of role some of our country's great actors with a nostalgia for Westerns would jump at the opportunity to be part of.....maybe for their one last adventure based on the old West....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Riding down the road at the end of the old west..

    I have never cared for western novels, but recently read and loved Lonesome Dove, then on Larry McMurty¿s recommendation I read ¿Across the High Lonesome¿ and it was also excellent. Then the other day at the bookstore the owner recommended this novel and I also enjoyed it very much....so maybe I am becoming a western fan, buit I actually think it is just the quality of the writing and storytelling in these books. <BR/><BR/>Monte Becket appears to have led a respectable life but is disappointed in himself for being a one hit wonder with a single best selling book. He has attempted to repeat this feat with no luck, until he meets Glendon Hale. Hale is a free living man who seems to have some secrete to happiness he derives from the wide open spaces. Monte takes a flyer and leaves his wife to join Hale and his wandering life. This all is not as easy as Monte first imagines and the full ramifications of his actions are indeed complex. The strength of Enger¿s writing is his ability to develop fully fleshed characters I actually cared about. I¿ll be looking for more from Enger in the future!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Fresh Take on Cowboy Adventures

    A serious kind of romantic cowboy story with lots of nostalgia. Good read-aloud around the campfire or in front of the fireplace.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Excellent writing!

    I loved this book. There are many sentences that I would read over again just for the beautiful sound of the words, or to marvel at the author's insight. The characters will stay with you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Enger's flowing style w/ historic Western view

    I enjoyed the slice of life view into the 1915's and was more impressed to find that Mr. Enger researches the data he uses. The ex-Pinkerton guy was real! I also loved his supportive wife.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Skc

    Read Peace Like a River, a stunningly written book with memorable characters and a bit of a fancififul story. This book is different but beautifully written also. Well worth the time and money to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Quirky!

    An off- beat, timeless story. Characters are richly experienced and exactly as they seem. Great book club material!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoy his writing style.

    When our book club wanted a western book to read we chose this one. It wasn't exactly what we expected, but nonetheless I enjoyed it a lot. Leif Engers style of writing is very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2