Customer Reviews for

So Brave, Young and Handsome

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

So, Intelligent, Engrossing and Concise

What a superb writer. After reading, Peace Like a River, I anxiously awaited Mr. Enger's next book. I was not disappointed. This book is one of the finest books I have read in a long time. I took my time with this book and often read chapters twice for the beauty of his...
What a superb writer. After reading, Peace Like a River, I anxiously awaited Mr. Enger's next book. I was not disappointed. This book is one of the finest books I have read in a long time. I took my time with this book and often read chapters twice for the beauty of his words. Although the story is a compelling one, it's the imagery that I found to be remarkable. If you read this book, take your time and enjoy the journey.

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Rules of Punctuation

I treid very hard to get into this book. I read all the rave reviews and thought there must be something wrong with me. I tried three separate times and never made it past Chapter 5. Too many exclamation points! They were unnecessary, completely distracting, and fin...
I treid very hard to get into this book. I read all the rave reviews and thought there must be something wrong with me. I tried three separate times and never made it past Chapter 5. Too many exclamation points! They were unnecessary, completely distracting, and finally extremely annoying. That is now how I want to feel when I read a book. It may have been a good story. I will never know not do I care to.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    So, Intelligent, Engrossing and Concise

    What a superb writer. After reading, Peace Like a River, I anxiously awaited Mr. Enger's next book. I was not disappointed. This book is one of the finest books I have read in a long time. I took my time with this book and often read chapters twice for the beauty of his words. Although the story is a compelling one, it's the imagery that I found to be remarkable. If you read this book, take your time and enjoy the journey.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book! Leif Enger is as good in Book 2 as he was in Book 1. As with Peace Like a River, So Brave Young & Handsome has unique and compelling characters, unexpected plot lines and circumstances, and deep roots. I strongly recommend

    The journey of the protagonist in So Brave Young & Handsome -- from its strange start (the visual of a man standing, rowing a boat) to its almost haphazard side-character development to the satisfying and wrenching conclusion -- is gritty. A great strength of the book is the sustained strength of the prose. Poetic (as readers of Peace Like a River would expect) and compelling, the novel draws the reader in and doesn't let go. The plot line is filled with bizarre characters, sketched to strength in just a few quick lines by the clever and insightful Enger. This one is a keeper.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Romance of another era

    This is a book for wanna be gypsies. Just pick up and go. Enjoyed by male and female alike. Can see myself standing by the river bank, longing to go but held by obligation.
    Go for the ride.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's just the romantic in me

    This is a very visual book with believable characters and places. A great read, it will take you away from the current financial state and back to a time of barter and hard work.
    From Monte's artistic block to his son's sense of adventure you keep pulling that things will all work out to the best ending. And I was satisfied with the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    A touching story of the "winding" down of the old West....characters all looking for that one last, great adventure to bring them back to the "good old days".

    I think categorizing this book as a "Western" novel, as many have, could be inaccurate, but in a most positive way. The "Wild West" days many of us envision are all but gone. However, the characters in this story find "excuses" to try and relive those days one last time. One wants to head to Mexico to find a long lost love. Another is an aging Pinkerton agent who wants to catch the one outlaw that got away. The next is a young mild mannered man who has written a Western novella to satisfy his fondness of Western adventure, never thinking he would be part of his own adventure. You will enjoy getting to know these characters and following them on their journey, each finding their way together, separately.....

    Also, this is one of those books I think would make an excellent movie because of the great character development. I think it would make for just the kind of role some of our country's great actors with a nostalgia for Westerns would jump at the opportunity to be part of.....maybe for their one last adventure based on the old West....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Excellent writing!

    I loved this book. There are many sentences that I would read over again just for the beautiful sound of the words, or to marvel at the author's insight. The characters will stay with you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Enger's flowing style w/ historic Western view

    I enjoyed the slice of life view into the 1915's and was more impressed to find that Mr. Enger researches the data he uses. The ex-Pinkerton guy was real! I also loved his supportive wife.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1