Customer Reviews for

So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week

Average Rating 3.5
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT! Fast AWESOME meals! & I've lost weight!

I've been cooking out of this book for about 6 weeks now. The recipes are fantastic, and after you make them a couple times, then they really are, FAST, under 30minutes to make. My kids are eating the meals as well. They are young, so it wasn't hard getting their tas...
I've been cooking out of this book for about 6 weeks now. The recipes are fantastic, and after you make them a couple times, then they really are, FAST, under 30minutes to make. My kids are eating the meals as well. They are young, so it wasn't hard getting their tastes accustomed. I think the meals are absolutely fantastic & i love the ease of use of the cookbook. She has a great set up with a "grocery list" in the front of all the things you'll need to use her book. And I like how her book is broke down into the under 30minute meals, and the "kicking back" meals.

I have lost weight on these meals. i'm in my second trimester, so I know it's from these recipes! One supper recipe feeds my family of 4, and then i have enough for my lunch the next day. a great set up, keeping my daily calories low, with nutrient-dense food.

I do like this book a little better than her other book, The Food You Crave. This book is perfect for a busy family!!

posted by might-as-well-farm on February 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

No Recipes shown in Sample

Hi - tell publisher to ease up and show at least one recipe to help in deciding whether to purchase for ebook - I suppose I could go to store and flip through - more convenient to have a :sample recipe...didn't buy

posted by shiningstarNEB on August 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    LOVE IT! Fast AWESOME meals! & I've lost weight!

    I've been cooking out of this book for about 6 weeks now. The recipes are fantastic, and after you make them a couple times, then they really are, FAST, under 30minutes to make. My kids are eating the meals as well. They are young, so it wasn't hard getting their tastes accustomed. I think the meals are absolutely fantastic & i love the ease of use of the cookbook. She has a great set up with a "grocery list" in the front of all the things you'll need to use her book. And I like how her book is broke down into the under 30minute meals, and the "kicking back" meals.

    I have lost weight on these meals. i'm in my second trimester, so I know it's from these recipes! One supper recipe feeds my family of 4, and then i have enough for my lunch the next day. a great set up, keeping my daily calories low, with nutrient-dense food.

    I do like this book a little better than her other book, The Food You Crave. This book is perfect for a busy family!!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great cookbook

    I found this cook book very easy to use. It demonstrates easy, how-to-use demonstrations of almost every recipe. For someone who doesn't know how to cook, it is a great book for them to have. Also for "great cooks" too. This is a better way of eating and cooking for a more healthful life. I found the recipes very easy to follow. Most of the ingredients you already have in your pantry. There are a few ingredients that you probably will have to go out and buy, but it is worth it. I have so many cook books already, but if you want oner with a purpose, this is it! I definitely will put this book in my library of cookbooks. This one is a keeper for me! Don't be afraid that the recipes are not very tasteful and delicious, because they are. There isn't any "foreign" taste in here, just very delicious, everyday meals you would ordinarily make. They are just healthy, and you would never know it. You won't be sorry if you get this cookbook. If you want to be more health conscious and get you family eating a more balanced meal which is also healthy, this book is for you.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    No Recipes shown in Sample

    Hi - tell publisher to ease up and show at least one recipe to help in deciding whether to purchase for ebook - I suppose I could go to store and flip through - more convenient to have a :sample recipe...didn't buy

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome new cookbook!!!

    Recipes are easy and delicious! The Garlic-Basil Shrimp is my husband's new favorite meal!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So Easy

    Another great book from Ellie Krieger. Ellie gives us all the tools we need to take care of ourselves. She provides everyon with information on essential nutrients of each recipe and also serving size. Also she includes different sections for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is also two sections on dessert included. If those who are in a rush this book is great. She also includes sections if you have more time to spare. You can try her start right smoothie. I dont like nonfat milk so I usually add soy instead. I enjoy having her chedar apple quesadilla. Its quick and easy and only three ingredients. For lunch I love the gazpacho with shrimp. Its light and yummy. I really like the asian chicken wrap. The best part is the asian sauce with thai chilles, soy sauce and seasme oil. In the section lunch at home there is a hearty salad with grilled beef, jicama and apple. This is another Asian inspiried salad if you have more time to spare. Now we move on to dinner I enjoy having the bbq chicken with classic coleslaw. I usually roast a chicken and save the leftovers for the next day. So I use the leftovers to make this dish. Its got liquid smoke, garlic, onions just fabulous. When I have a bit more time I like to eat white turkey chili. Sometimes I use chicken if I dont have time to get turkey. It comes out the same for the most part. I also like the salmon florentine with quinoa pilaf. The only part of the book I did not care for much is the dessert section. I know its suppose to be healthy but no thank you. I rather have a small piece of cake with the works. I cant give that up :-). The last part if the nutritional date index of all the recipes in the book. Enjoy I hope you all love it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great cookbook

    This book was given to me as a gift. I have enjoyed the recipes that I have tried so far and look forward to using many more of them. I am a registered dietitian and I have recommended this book to several of my patients that need "heart healthy cooking" ideas. The recipes are easy to follow and use standard ingredients. Some recipes sound very gourmet but Ellie's instructions are easy to follow and the food is very flavorful. I have only watched Ellie's show on Food Network a couple of times, but I hope to start watching it more often. This book is for people who want good tasting food that is easy and quick to prepare.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I love Ellie Krieger and all her recipes!

    I watch Ellie Krieger on food network and I have used a lot of her recipes. When I saw this cookbook I got really excited to see more awesome recipes. I was not dissapointed. Everything I have tried so far has been yummy! I have cook my way through this cookbook and my family is loving all the food.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    Delicious...that is what I say about Ellie's recipies. Beautiful...that is what I say about Ellie's books. My Ellie books are dog-eared, filled with sticky notes and stained...all the marks of a great cook book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Healthy, Easy, Tasty

    I consider myself a relatively accomplished cook and find that the main issue with a lot of "healthy" recipes is that the results lack good flavor and taste. I have had good success with Krieger's contributions in Fine Cooking magazine so I decided to give this book a try. I have had good success with the 7-10 recipes that I've made so far - regardless of whether the recipe was for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I appreciate the abundance of flavors, the unique spin of some of the recipes and the nutritional information. With a 10 month-old in the family, I need a variety of quick recipes at hand and now I have another resource at my disposal.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Simply the BEST!!

    There isn't ONE recipe I've tried in this book that hasn't been absolutely delicious! Even the lentil with kale dish: I'd never tried kale and was so skeptical! The kale was so good, I had it the next day with Ellie's salmon cakes, and normally, I hate salmon cakes. You have to try one of these cookbooks! I also have "The Food you Crave," and the same review applies to those recipes, also. Ellie Krieger is a true magician when it comes to cooking/nutrition and all things related. I will be collecting and utilizing the rest of her cookbooks. Amazing food!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Where is the TOC???

    The book itself seems great. The Nook version, however, STINKS. I had to bookmark the Table of Contents because it dosen't show in the Nook contents. That and the fact that the covered showed up in my Library when I downloaded the sample but vanished once I paid for the book are really making me regret ever buying a Nook Color.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    It really is "So Easy"!

    Ellie's recipes are great! They are easy to follow and most use common ingredients. I have not tried all the recipes I want to, but definitely will as time permits. Her attitude is great and she is thoughtful in her commentary and tips.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    Recipes really are SO EASY!

    I love this book! I've tried several recipes and have had amazing results. I am new to cooking, teaching myself, and would definitely recommend this book. There are no obscure ingredients and the food does not taste like "diet" food. The recipes are so full of flavor you don't feel like you're missing out!

    My favorite recipe so far - the better burgers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Practical

    Good solid recipes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    SO Easy Ellie Krieger

    I purchased this cookbook for my daughter for Christmas. Iam so glad I did.
    She has really enjoyed the recipes, she is a novice cook but the recipes are easy to follow and she liked the photos of the recipe so she can see how the recipe will turn out. She tried out the curried chicken salad and it was great. She is a teacher and doesnt have alot of time for cooking but the recipe are very easy and delicious

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Very disappointed

    I loved All The Foods You Crave and made a multitude of the recipes in the book. I was very excited when her new book So Easy came out. I was disappointed to find the recipes were overly simplistic. Oh well.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    great book!

    I love all her books. Amazing recipes, healthy and delicious food.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    so easy is right

    This book makes eating right so easy. I have tried many of the recipes and have enjoyed them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Recommend

    As usual, Ellie Krieger's food is presented in an appealing way, directions in recipes are precise, and her creative, healthy approach makes her food interesting and fairly easy to prepare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Love it!

    The recipes are so easy, not to mention healthy. Can't get much better than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9