Customer Reviews for

So Far from the Bamboo Grove

Average Rating 3
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent story

This book was really well written. it tells an often untold story about what happened in Korea as the war was endend. The characters are well developed and the storyline is heartwrenching. I would hesitate to let younger children read this, because of some of the conten...
This book was really well written. it tells an often untold story about what happened in Korea as the war was endend. The characters are well developed and the storyline is heartwrenching. I would hesitate to let younger children read this, because of some of the content

posted by lambikins on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

not true...

I don't like it.

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Excellent story

    This book was really well written. it tells an often untold story about what happened in Korea as the war was endend. The characters are well developed and the storyline is heartwrenching. I would hesitate to let younger children read this, because of some of the content

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    So Far From the Bamboo Grove By: Yoko Kawashima Watkins

    The beginning of this story takes place in northern Korea in 1945,during World War II. The main character is an 11 year old Japanese girl by the name of Yoko. Yoko lived in a beautiful home in the bamboo groves of the Nanam, Korea. She lived there with her older sister, Ko, and her mother. They are forced to leave their home for the fear of losing their lives. During that time, Japan had ruled over northern Korea. In the mist of the war, the Korean people begin to rebel against Japan. It became a very hostile environment toward Japanese people in Korea.<BR/><BR/>The mother and daughters leave their home with a note telling their eldest brother, Hideyo, of where they are going. The three flee as refugees to Japan. Along that journey are some terrible times. They have to constantly be aware of the presence of the Korean Army. They first begin their journey on a train. The conditions on the train are horrific. There are dead bodies littered throughout every train car. They sneak off the train and run for their lives. The rest of their journey is mostly on foot. The mother and daughters travel through the woods to keep from being seen by the Korea Army.<BR/> <BR/>They have a couple encounters with some soldiers. During every encounter, the three barely escape rape or death. They eventually arrive in Japan. Much to their surprise, it is not what they expected. They arrive at their relatives house and find them all dead. Their mother becomes severely ill and the girls are left to fend for themselves. <BR/><BR/>I enjoyed the book because it is based of a true life experience. It gives a sense of motivation to me because I could not even imagine going through what they went through. It also makes one realize not to take things for granted. This book is a very good example of the will to live. These women are truly an inspiration.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!!!

    I love this Book!! It is soo amazing! The best book i have ever read. I would tell anyone to read it at any age from 10 up. It is an amazing book. I still cant belevie that this is what Yoko really did. It truely is the best book you will ever read. I am going to read it again for the second time! At first I thought that I would not like it but as the story continued it became a lovely piece of writing!! I will say it again it is the best book EVER nothing more. Everyone will love this amazing story!! So read it!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    Amazing!

    This book was part of my summer reading because I am in honors and I thought all of my books would be boring. I hated reading books, but when I began to read this book, I was completely blown away. I couldn't believe that this was a real survival story. All though it may have a few inappropriate moments, that does not mean it is not a great book. This book is packed with action and drama. In some parts I almost cried. This book has definetly changed how I look at life now. I have learned to appreciate everything I have and to be grateful while I still have it. The way this book ended made me very curious, so I decided to look up Yoko Kawashima and found out that there was a sequel. Now I can't wait until I read My Brother, My Sister, and I. Please give the book a chance. Don't take as an offense because it talks about the Koreans... It is a real survival story. You will definetly love it.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    to all Koreans...

    Yoko wrote about 'NORTH KOREA'(communism) So please don't misunderstand.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    WONDERFUL AND OUTSTANDING BOOK!!!

    This book was such a good book!! I loved it and it was so interesting, that I didn't want to put it down. Yoko came to our school and it was so interesting to hear her story and everything! READ THIS BOOK!!! AND THE SEQUAL WONDERFUL BOOK TOO!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    Truly Amazing!

    I was first introduced to this book in the sixth grade and its had a profound impact on me every since. After finishing the book we had the honor of meeting Yoko. She signed a copy for all of my classmates and teachers. I gave that same book to my 12 year old daughter hoping she will love it as well.
    I don't belive Yoko was ever trying to say who was right or wrong in that war. She never pointed a finger at the Koreans she also said unpleasant things about Japan. Don't take it as a personal attack towards Korea. It was her account of the trials and tribulations endured due to bad politics. Innocent people always suffer during wars. Maybe if government officials read more stories like hers then they would try to make peace.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    Wonderful Book

    I loved this book! It was so heart-warming and my teacher has met this women and read us a letter from her. She sounds like the sweetest person ever. I read this for a language arts class and enjoyed it very much and am hoping to read the sequal!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Real

    I actually met yoko through our school. She put all of her heart into this book and i think it shows. She was such an inspirational person to talk to and to read about. This book is 100 percent true and real. I loved it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    So Far from the Bamboo Grove

    I am Sarah's best friend, and she wrote a review on this book as well. I just loved this book! It is about a the author's experiences when the World War II ended and she must flee to a different place. It is an exciting adventure and a page turner!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    So Far from the Bamboo Grove

    This book was just GREAT!! You know why? Because it was so good, I finished it in about two days! But Ms. Watkins is a great author, and I congratulate her for her great work!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Unbelievable but True

    As I was reading along, I stopped and suddenly remembered, 'This is a true story. Wow!' That thought stayed in my head the whole time, through the good and horrible parts of the story. I wish I could meet Yoko, but I wouldn't want to be her at the time all of this happened to her.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    awesome!

    In class in 7th grade we read this book! I think Yoko is so brave! On thursday she came to visit our classroom (she lives in Cape Cod) and she is a fantastic person! I suggest you read the sequel, 'my brother, my sister and i'

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    good!

    this book is true! and yoko is so brave becauz her mother her sister and her have to travel from Korea to Japan and then mother dies. find out what happens.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    A beautiful story of courage in a time of turmoil!

    I read this book when I was about 11 and loved it! So I read it to my Mom and then read the sequel: My Brother, My Sister and I. These two books inspired me to read more biographies and I have. The books I am recommending are biographies that have CHANGED MY LIFE. I highly recommend each one of them.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2002

    Great Book!

    I thought this book was excellent and well -written. I wouldn't recommend it for children under 11, because of some graphical images. But otherwise, the book was great!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2002

    What a Great Book!

    The book was outstanding! It was very detailed and grafical. The grafics and detailed words helped make you feel like you were experiencing what they went through. We really loved the book and we plan to read the others by Yoko. We highly reconmend this book for any type of reader.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book I took it out of the school librairy.I read it in one day one of the best things I've ever read.Matter fact the next day I went and bought So Far From The Bamboo Grove and 2 one I think you would probly like it too.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2002

    WOW!!

    Holy Man!! i loved this book so much. the words are very grafical , but they created a picture of all the suffering that Yoko, Ko, Hideyo, and their mother went through. this is the best book i have read so far and that is a HUGE compliment if you kow how much i read. like i said before WOW! i think that anyone that can stand a grafical image painted in their head could read this, and i know that they would totally love it! =)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Emotional reading

    I truthfully don't like to read much, never have, but I could'nt put this book down. I was in the librarry at school and saw it, and out of bordom and not finding anyting that seemed interesting checked it out. Am I glad I did, this has become my favorite book! It is very sad though, I know I almsot cried, and I don't really cry that easy. Anywho, I would recommend this book in a second.Ja!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2