Customer Reviews for

So Long, Insecurity: You've Been a Bad Friend to Us

Average Rating 4
( 195 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Once again, Beth Moore has inspired me

Review by Jill Williamson

I love Beth Moore. I've never met her, but I've done several of her Bible studies and had the privilege of attending one of her conferences. The woman inspires me. Why? Because she's real. She's suffered through life, just like the rest of ...
Review by Jill Williamson

I love Beth Moore. I've never met her, but I've done several of her Bible studies and had the privilege of attending one of her conferences. The woman inspires me. Why? Because she's real. She's suffered through life, just like the rest of us, and she refuses to let that define her. Praise Jesus for that! That, and her passion for studying the Word of God, draws me, and thousands of other women, to her like sheep to a shepherd. She is a disciple of Jesus. She teaches His truth in a wonderful, personal, life-changing way.

So when I saw this book, I knew I needed it. I've always had low self-esteem. And I am plagued by insecurity. The smallest little comment will send me into a spiral of woe. One example, I have the nasty habit of interpreting faces. I can read minds, too, you know. If someone looks at me funny, I know I did something to make them upset with me, and I can't stand it until I know everything is okay again. I've also trained myself to interpret email tones. I entertain my husband every time I read an email to him. He says I read every word with a negative, attacking tone, as if the author has a personal agenda against me--or someone.

One of my husband's most telling phrases is: It must be exhausting being you.

Well, ouch.

But he's right. It is exhausting being so insecure. I don't mean to do this to myself. And I'm tired of it. And a bit ticked off, as Beth was in the beginning of her book. Having read the book, I will say that I now have confidence that I can beat this thing. Insecurity distracts our minds from living the life God intends for us. It keeps us weak instead of strong. It keeps us distant instead of loving. It keeps us judging instead of reaching out and building lasting friendships.

Once again, Beth Moore has inspired me. I'm saying, "So long, Insecurity! You don't own this girl!" Whoo hoo! Now that's something to get excited about. If you've ever felt insecure, sit down and talk it out with Beth. And that's exactly what this book was. A nice, long, heart to heart with Beth Moore about a topic that plagues us. I highly recommend it.

posted by Novel_Teen_Book_Reviews on June 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I was disappointed in this book, through no one's fault but my own

I did not realize it was going to be so religious..I thought it was going to be about getting over insecurity, but there were too many references to the bible..did not expect that..I did not do my homework before I bought this book...I felt like I was reading a story fr...
I did not realize it was going to be so religious..I thought it was going to be about getting over insecurity, but there were too many references to the bible..did not expect that..I did not do my homework before I bought this book...I felt like I was reading a story from a born again person....was disappointed...the book, if you like the religious references, is very good, but I could not get over every few paragraphs having the bible thrown in my face...

posted by 3221283 on March 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Once again, Beth Moore has inspired me

    Review by Jill Williamson

    I love Beth Moore. I've never met her, but I've done several of her Bible studies and had the privilege of attending one of her conferences. The woman inspires me. Why? Because she's real. She's suffered through life, just like the rest of us, and she refuses to let that define her. Praise Jesus for that! That, and her passion for studying the Word of God, draws me, and thousands of other women, to her like sheep to a shepherd. She is a disciple of Jesus. She teaches His truth in a wonderful, personal, life-changing way.

    So when I saw this book, I knew I needed it. I've always had low self-esteem. And I am plagued by insecurity. The smallest little comment will send me into a spiral of woe. One example, I have the nasty habit of interpreting faces. I can read minds, too, you know. If someone looks at me funny, I know I did something to make them upset with me, and I can't stand it until I know everything is okay again. I've also trained myself to interpret email tones. I entertain my husband every time I read an email to him. He says I read every word with a negative, attacking tone, as if the author has a personal agenda against me--or someone.

    One of my husband's most telling phrases is: It must be exhausting being you.

    Well, ouch.

    But he's right. It is exhausting being so insecure. I don't mean to do this to myself. And I'm tired of it. And a bit ticked off, as Beth was in the beginning of her book. Having read the book, I will say that I now have confidence that I can beat this thing. Insecurity distracts our minds from living the life God intends for us. It keeps us weak instead of strong. It keeps us distant instead of loving. It keeps us judging instead of reaching out and building lasting friendships.

    Once again, Beth Moore has inspired me. I'm saying, "So long, Insecurity! You don't own this girl!" Whoo hoo! Now that's something to get excited about. If you've ever felt insecure, sit down and talk it out with Beth. And that's exactly what this book was. A nice, long, heart to heart with Beth Moore about a topic that plagues us. I highly recommend it.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank You Beth

    Beth deals with one of those topics that we all try to hide, our insecurity. Do your insecurities keep you from using the gifts God gave you, then this is the book for you! I had a hard time putting it down, it did not take long to realize that this would be one of those rare books that would continue to make a big difference in my everyday life.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Goodbye Insecurity, Hello Dignity

    None of us are immune to feelings of insecurity. It could be something in our past that still haunts us, or something we are dealing with right now, or maybe something that worries us about our future. In this book, Beth Moore covers many different examples from real people who were willing to talk about the things that have made them feel insecure. I have read several other books written by Beth Moore, but this one really hit home for me. I could see myself in several of the examples, and some of them really made me laugh. We are such a curious species, and this book helps us to focus on what is really important. We can have confidence and security because of the gift of grace given to us by our Heavenly Father. We are his children, and we need to remember that! My absolute favourite part of the book? Right smack in the middle of the book there is an awesome prayer that is ... almost ten pages long! The reader is encouraged to find a quiet spot, a place to be undisturbed for at least half an hour. The prayer is to be read out loud, and there are blank lines to add your own thoughts. What a powerful prayer and one that I will go back to again and again. I cannot say enough about this book, except to encourage everyone to read it. Please get yourself a copy, and then you can also say, "So Long, Insecurity!" Thank you to Tyndale House Publishing for providing a complimentary copy of this book for the purpose of review.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Exploring the world of Insecurity from a woman's perspective in a God centered method

    Beth Moore has created an inspiring book that gets to the root of women's insecurity through spiritual scripture, testimony, and in such a structure that readers not only explore the causes for their insecrity, but they understand how insecurity has hindered their progress.

    I read the entire book in one day - - it was that compelling and I have since practiced the prayer in Chapter 9 and have used this book to explore myself and my relationships with others.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Moore's guide to shedding insecurity is true success

    So Long, Insecurity by Beth Moore is aptly subtitled: You've Been a Bad Friend to Us. Moore, who is well respected in the field of Christian devotionals, has hit one out of the park with this book about discarding our insecurities and self-hatred. She opens her heart and exposes her own struggles with insecurity, inviting the reader to see her as a good friend. Through Scripture and personal stories, she exposes the truth behind the source of insecurities as well as the Godly truths He would have us know about our true identities. The Lord wants us to know how important we are to His kingdom and just how much He loves us, and Moore really focuses on encouraging readers to acknowledge who God created them to be. Every chapter feels like a heart-changing conversation with a best friend who knows you inside and out. It's Moore's humility and love for God that shine on every page and will win over readers.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    Touches the heart and stirs the mind

    This book has helped me in so many ways and I can't wait to share it with everyone I meet. I would suggest it be standard reading to every woman from the age of 13 to 99

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Finally

    This book is so helpful in addressing an issue that plagues all women. It is humorous and insightful and faces unflinchingly the trap that insecurity lays for each of us. It exposes the weave of entanglement we find ourselves in even from a young age, and with her usual graceful and honest style, the author attempts to free the reader from that web. It highlights truths that are relevant to every woman, and more than once I found myself nodding my head in affirmation. Beth Moore is gifted in transparency and in meticulous study. She listens well to a blog community which she has created in the last few years, and addresses the answers and questions brought to that digital table, with wisdom, humor and precision. I recommend it for most readers and hope that it is the first or better yet, final step in freedom from an age old pit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    All women need to read this wonderful book!

    I was excited to be able to review Beth Moore's new book So Long, Insecurity: You've Been a Bad Friend to Us. This is a book that every woman should read. When I first saw the book was going to be available for review, I thought I'd like to read it because I've enjoyed Beth Moore's work for several years now. As I read it, though, I was really thankful to read the message.

    My thoughts:
    Several times as I was reading I was laughing and shaking my head in agreement to see myself in her stories and words. Beth wants to encourage women that we don't have to live in insecurity. Through the book we see the damage that is caused because of our insecurity. We live in a society that adds to our feelings of insecurity. What I liked about the book was that Beth used real comments from real women that she gathered doing a survey on her blog. She also has feedback from men, which was very eye-opening to see men's perspective on women's insecurities as well as insecurities that men have. Insecurity is not just for the female gender.

    I highly recommend that YOU read this book. There is something in this book for women of all ages. I already have two friends who've asked to borrow it, and I have many others I want to share it with too.

    "She is clothed with strength and dignity." Proverbs 31:25

    Also, I'd like to mention there is a simulcast event on April 24, 2010 on this topic.

    Thank you to Tyndale House Publishers for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Loved it!

    My first Beth Moore reading and definitely not my last! Thank you for being so real and so raw.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Real!

    Do you want real, soul deep security...read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I have read this book and even recommended it to my non-Christia

    I have read this book and even recommended it to my non-Christian counselor friend who just loved it and has already recommended it to some of her clients!! She and I agree, it is also a very good book for men. anyone. All of us suffer from this malady at one time or another and this book helps steer us in the right direction. Loved it!!! Has helped me tremendously!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    AMAZING!!!

    Beth Moore is always capable of teaching while being real. She is always albe to present very serious life-changing material with humor. This book is good for absolutely anyone who wants to better themselves, and they will be able to actually enjoy the journey as they go.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Love!

    I have the 'teen edition' of this. I LOVED it! A must get!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    awesome!

    life altering book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    This book is wonderful!!

    This book has helped in my everyday life! Its a must read. Beth moore is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Relevant read

    Wish I could give a copy to every woman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    awesome

    GREAT READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Whisperstar to icekit andother

    Nursery is the next result i the col eader of this clan

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Dilhvgvx

    Oh, yes! Wings of darkness shall blot out the light once more.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Shhadoqblaze

    Yeah

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6