Customer Reviews for

So Much Closer

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

I loves this book. I thought that it was very ebntertaining and it had a good plot. It was not my favorite book she has writen but it was really good!

posted by KK7L1 on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Hobbitsies Reviews: Quick, fun book with a psycho stalker main character

Alright. Let me just say this straight up - So Much Closer has a very, very creepy premise. Like, crazy psycho main character premise. But it's supposed to be in a light-hearted way, I guess.

And Brooke certainly follows through with the crazy. I mean, this girl is a...
Alright. Let me just say this straight up - So Much Closer has a very, very creepy premise. Like, crazy psycho main character premise. But it's supposed to be in a light-hearted way, I guess.

And Brooke certainly follows through with the crazy. I mean, this girl is a STALKER. What high school girl moves to a whole new city to follow a guy she's spoken to ONCE in two years? A STALKER, that's what kind of girl. And the weirdest thing was - nobody batted an eye. No one commented on how creepy or psycho she was!

And even though I was so creeped out and annoyed with Brooke for being a stalker, I could not put So Much Closer down! I just flew through it over the course of one day.

Brooke - she annoyed me, clearly. I mean, she definitely had some issues from her messed up home-life. And she was angry and bitter and freaking nutso. But she kind of grew on me? And I really, really liked the characters of John and Sadie, and their stories. I never understood the appeal of Scott or Brooke's friends from New Jersey.

There was a lot of message pushing at the end - do your homework, go to college, make good decisions, etc. which grated on my nerves a bit, but I definitely glad Brooke was finally starting to figure everything out.

Overall, I did enjoy So Much Closer. It was a fun and quick read. But I will tell you - if I ever met Brooke, I might have slapped some sense into her. If you're looking for a light contemporary with WTFs and giggles aplenty, be sure to check out So Much Closer.

posted by hobbitsies on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hobbitsies Reviews: Quick, fun book with a psycho stalker main character

    Alright. Let me just say this straight up - So Much Closer has a very, very creepy premise. Like, crazy psycho main character premise. But it's supposed to be in a light-hearted way, I guess.

    And Brooke certainly follows through with the crazy. I mean, this girl is a STALKER. What high school girl moves to a whole new city to follow a guy she's spoken to ONCE in two years? A STALKER, that's what kind of girl. And the weirdest thing was - nobody batted an eye. No one commented on how creepy or psycho she was!

    And even though I was so creeped out and annoyed with Brooke for being a stalker, I could not put So Much Closer down! I just flew through it over the course of one day.

    Brooke - she annoyed me, clearly. I mean, she definitely had some issues from her messed up home-life. And she was angry and bitter and freaking nutso. But she kind of grew on me? And I really, really liked the characters of John and Sadie, and their stories. I never understood the appeal of Scott or Brooke's friends from New Jersey.

    There was a lot of message pushing at the end - do your homework, go to college, make good decisions, etc. which grated on my nerves a bit, but I definitely glad Brooke was finally starting to figure everything out.

    Overall, I did enjoy So Much Closer. It was a fun and quick read. But I will tell you - if I ever met Brooke, I might have slapped some sense into her. If you're looking for a light contemporary with WTFs and giggles aplenty, be sure to check out So Much Closer.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    Not Good

    Don't bother reading this book, it's boring and predictable.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Dont waste your money....

    This is an okay book, but its very slow and doesnt keep the reader interested. i would not after reading this book advise anyone to read it, it just wasnt very good. All there was, was fluff there was nothing about this story that made you want to keep reading. i actually read half of it and then stopped, after a while i just got board. i did finish it and it was disappointing, but i guess you cant always expect the best. I hope this review saves you your time and some money. Trust me there are way better books than this out there just keep looking. Try the author Ally Carter, Shes an amazing author and has two GREAT book series. Each keeping you reading to the very end. Trust me when i say theres hope for books, you just need to keep looking.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Great Book

    I loves this book. I thought that it was very ebntertaining and it had a good plot. It was not my favorite book she has writen but it was really good!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazed(:

    Anyone who doesnt like crappy books- buy this. This is beyond amazing, as are all books from susane.(:<3

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    WWWHHHAAATTT?????

    The main character is a stalker. Who follows a boy that has no clue if he likes her by moving in witjh her unknown dad? Dont get it!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    So much closer

    So i literally just got done reading this book and i have to admit at first i was kinda creeped out, i mean Brooke just gets up and moves to NY bc of a guy she liked but thats not what got me, it was that they have literally talked like twice and she is saying she is in love. After i got over that and the book went on it became sweet that she moved. It made me sad and happy. It was such a fast book and it was.overall good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Stalker girl

    The main character gave off a stalker vibe. I mean seriously who follows a boy to new york? Overall it was a good book the central idea was good. So, you should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    I am a fan of Susane's work

    But this book makes me feel awkward and i cant relate to it at all, like i can in her other books. The main character is by far the creepest person ever, if you think like her get checked out or something for being a psycopath. Really am not impressed at all. Her other work is way better

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Weird

    She sounds kinda creepy and annoying = {

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kelsey Jones for TeensReadToo

    SO MUCH CLOSER was an entertaining and heartbreaking read that proved love can be found in the most unlikely of places. Susane Colasanti is an author I can always count on for writing a solid, realistic YA novel, and while SO MUCH CLOSER didn't make my list of favorites, this was still a novel I will recommend to fans of contemporary YA. Brooke has had a crush on Scott for a long time, but has never been able to confess her feelings to him. So when Scott moves to NYC, Brooke follows him there. Since Brooke's father already lived in NYC, it was relatively easy for her to leave New Jersey and move to the Big Apple. Starting at a new school and leaving her old life behind, Brooke doesn't know what to expect. All she cares about is Scott. Unfortunately, Brooke soon learns that Scott already has a girlfriend and she is losing touch with her old friends. But things in NYC are never as they seem, and soon Brooke is learning more about herself and the new people she has met. Brooke is about to have the experience of a lifetime. The setting was my favorite aspect of SO MUCH CLOSER. Susane Colasanti is obviously a New Yorker, and all of the scenery and places that Brooke visits were described in flawless detail. I love New York, and seeing it through Brooke's eyes was a new experience. She visited so many fantastic places and learned so much about the city from the new friends she made. Every day she spent in the city, Brooke discovered something new and exciting. At first, I wasn't sure what I thought of Brooke. She followed a boy she barely new to an entirely new place, leaving behind her friends and family, all because she felt she loved him. As the novel progressed, Brooke learned a lot about herself and those around her, and I liked seeing who she became by the end of SO MUCH CLOSER. Each of the characters introduced in the book had an important role, although some were less developed than I would have liked, but my favorite had to be John. John was such a well-done character and I only wish he had more page time. John opened Brooke's eyes to the true NYC and he was such a unique and realistic character. There were many folds to this story and I liked the different twists in the plot. Brooke was an intriguing character and her experiences truly shaped her in so many ways. I wish there was a bit more character development, and at times the story felt a little unrealistic but, all in all, I enjoyed SO MUCH CLOSER and am looking forward to reading more stories by Susane Colasanti. For anyone looking for an original, contemporary read, I do recommend checking this out. The ending was sweet and just what I had hoped for and, as I've said many times before, the setting was presented perfectly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Cliche

    This book was full of cliches, very predictable and unrealistic. I read this for my creative writing class, and hoped it be good since I was a fan of Colansanti's older work. Sadly this was just a dud that had me annoyed and rolling my eyes throughout the read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Colasanti's Best

    i LOVED when it happens, take me there, and waiting for you by susane colasanti..but this one just wasn't her best. For about the first half, i honestly couldn't put it down, but then it became very predictable and too similar to her other books. I just felt like i had read it all before. I recommend this book to anyone who has never read other books by susane colasanti, but for those of you who have, you may be disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Colasanti's Best...

    I was really excited for this book to come out and I am a major Colasanti fan, but this book just fell flat. The characters were underdeveloped and way too completely 'teen movie.' Normally, Colasanti's books are deep and meaningful, but this one had no meaning at a all. The main character never truly showed her emotions and buried everything so that we did not see any of her real feelings. Her relationship with everyone was underdeveloped and lost. Really wish this book had been better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    D

    I love this book and have read most of this authors books and loved each one so you should ignore all the other reviews because those people are stupid and probley loney and single losers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    FAVORITE BOOK EVER

    I got this book for a project in honors english. I usually hate reading, but last night i could not put tis book down! I very strongly recomend this book, especially because i read it in one night!!! I love this book, and I'm sure you will too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quick, fun read! I loved this book and couldn't put it down. The

    Quick, fun read! I loved this book and couldn't put it down. The writing is swift and easy and the characters and story just pull you in. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Great!!!

    This is for all the teens out there who love much romance, an unexpected ending, and finding who you are (with the help of new friends and family.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Not her best

    I have read all of susanne collasantis books and this wasnt the greatest. It was a good book but it didnt end the way i wanted it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Awesome, 1 day read!!

    I found this book amazing. I think that I liked it so much because I actually found myself like Brooke. As I was reading the book, I became frustrated with Brooke she was ruining the whole thing!! She was becoming infatucated with Scott.. she became so paranoid that she runined it all. Although I think it was one of the best books I've ever read, Susane Colasanti

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6