Customer Reviews for

So Much Closer

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

I loves this book. I thought that it was very ebntertaining and it had a good plot. It was not my favorite book she has writen but it was really good!

posted by KK7L1 on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Hobbitsies Reviews: Quick, fun book with a psycho stalker main character

Alright. Let me just say this straight up - So Much Closer has a very, very creepy premise. Like, crazy psycho main character premise. But it's supposed to be in a light-hearted way, I guess.

And Brooke certainly follows through with the crazy. I mean, this girl is a...
Alright. Let me just say this straight up - So Much Closer has a very, very creepy premise. Like, crazy psycho main character premise. But it's supposed to be in a light-hearted way, I guess.

And Brooke certainly follows through with the crazy. I mean, this girl is a STALKER. What high school girl moves to a whole new city to follow a guy she's spoken to ONCE in two years? A STALKER, that's what kind of girl. And the weirdest thing was - nobody batted an eye. No one commented on how creepy or psycho she was!

And even though I was so creeped out and annoyed with Brooke for being a stalker, I could not put So Much Closer down! I just flew through it over the course of one day.

Brooke - she annoyed me, clearly. I mean, she definitely had some issues from her messed up home-life. And she was angry and bitter and freaking nutso. But she kind of grew on me? And I really, really liked the characters of John and Sadie, and their stories. I never understood the appeal of Scott or Brooke's friends from New Jersey.

There was a lot of message pushing at the end - do your homework, go to college, make good decisions, etc. which grated on my nerves a bit, but I definitely glad Brooke was finally starting to figure everything out.

Overall, I did enjoy So Much Closer. It was a fun and quick read. But I will tell you - if I ever met Brooke, I might have slapped some sense into her. If you're looking for a light contemporary with WTFs and giggles aplenty, be sure to check out So Much Closer.

posted by hobbitsies on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    So much closer

    So i literally just got done reading this book and i have to admit at first i was kinda creeped out, i mean Brooke just gets up and moves to NY bc of a guy she liked but thats not what got me, it was that they have literally talked like twice and she is saying she is in love. After i got over that and the book went on it became sweet that she moved. It made me sad and happy. It was such a fast book and it was.overall good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kelsey Jones for TeensReadToo

    SO MUCH CLOSER was an entertaining and heartbreaking read that proved love can be found in the most unlikely of places. Susane Colasanti is an author I can always count on for writing a solid, realistic YA novel, and while SO MUCH CLOSER didn't make my list of favorites, this was still a novel I will recommend to fans of contemporary YA. Brooke has had a crush on Scott for a long time, but has never been able to confess her feelings to him. So when Scott moves to NYC, Brooke follows him there. Since Brooke's father already lived in NYC, it was relatively easy for her to leave New Jersey and move to the Big Apple. Starting at a new school and leaving her old life behind, Brooke doesn't know what to expect. All she cares about is Scott. Unfortunately, Brooke soon learns that Scott already has a girlfriend and she is losing touch with her old friends. But things in NYC are never as they seem, and soon Brooke is learning more about herself and the new people she has met. Brooke is about to have the experience of a lifetime. The setting was my favorite aspect of SO MUCH CLOSER. Susane Colasanti is obviously a New Yorker, and all of the scenery and places that Brooke visits were described in flawless detail. I love New York, and seeing it through Brooke's eyes was a new experience. She visited so many fantastic places and learned so much about the city from the new friends she made. Every day she spent in the city, Brooke discovered something new and exciting. At first, I wasn't sure what I thought of Brooke. She followed a boy she barely new to an entirely new place, leaving behind her friends and family, all because she felt she loved him. As the novel progressed, Brooke learned a lot about herself and those around her, and I liked seeing who she became by the end of SO MUCH CLOSER. Each of the characters introduced in the book had an important role, although some were less developed than I would have liked, but my favorite had to be John. John was such a well-done character and I only wish he had more page time. John opened Brooke's eyes to the true NYC and he was such a unique and realistic character. There were many folds to this story and I liked the different twists in the plot. Brooke was an intriguing character and her experiences truly shaped her in so many ways. I wish there was a bit more character development, and at times the story felt a little unrealistic but, all in all, I enjoyed SO MUCH CLOSER and am looking forward to reading more stories by Susane Colasanti. For anyone looking for an original, contemporary read, I do recommend checking this out. The ending was sweet and just what I had hoped for and, as I've said many times before, the setting was presented perfectly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    :)

    This is an okay book with some twists!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Addition to previous review...

    You may be "so much closer" than you know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Goood book

    Its really good book reccomend 13 and older

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Okay lets first say Brooke is a stalker. Who follows a guy to an

    Okay lets first say Brooke is a stalker. Who follows a guy to another city when they don't even talk in the town there in. But I have to say I did enjoy the book very much, Brook was just following her heart not knowing what was going to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    So much closer

    This book is so good! I reccomend it to teen girls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    If you can look past the "stalker aspect" of the story

    If you can look past the "stalker aspect" of the story it is really enjoyable. Although a highschooler moving to a new city for a boy she doesn't know is unrealistic, the story was still fun to read. This was the first time I have read a book by Colasanti and I will definitely be reading more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Kerri

    This is actually a really good book. Yes i think it is more for the teen readers but no need to dis on a book that wasn't meant for old people. :) Reallly good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Romance Books<3

    It was a really good I read it in 3 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    When i read Susane's book "Something Like Fate" I wasn

    When i read Susane's book &quot;Something Like Fate&quot; I wasnt sure if i would like her books. I mean the Story line was great and i really liked it. What i wasn't a fan of was i guess the sentences were sort of hard to read. To the point were i would have to read them a couple of times over so when i picked up &quot;So Much Closer&quot; I was expecting the same thing. But Oh boy was i wrong! This story line was much better and the sentences were well written as well. I'm excited to read &quot;When It happens&quot; And her other books. Very good read for YA book. The people who say its unrealistic probably doesnt realize that in Barnes and Noble its under TEEN FICTION so its not suppose to be realistic. Just sayin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Awesome

    I could not put my nook down once i started to read this.i loved all the romance between lani and jason .i wish it was a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    Happy is what happens when all your dreams come true. well, isn't it?

    So Much Closer has an excellent premise, and those too apprehensive to pursue someone they love across state lines will enjoy living vicariously through Brooke, who takes a huge risk to make her dreams come true, only to realize that the fantasy may have been better than the reality. Colasanti's novel tackles themes like the idea of a person versus the actual person, rebelling against a system (in this case, school) versus using the system to one's advantage, and relocating for one reason, only to discover a more compelling reason later. Brooke is trying to figure out who she is and what she wants in every area of her life - romance, school, career, friends, and location. The ups and downs as Brooke gets to know Scott in New York City keep the pages turning. There are moments of horrified embarrassment and 'movie moments' in which everything seems to come together. Although I was not entirely convinced by the ending, and wanted it to grab me in the way the first sentence did ("Today I'm telling Scott Abrams that I'm in love with him"), the novel as a whole stands up well, and covers all different relationships in Brooke's life, from love interests to friends to parents to teachers, demonstrating how each person has an impact on her growth and development as a person about to graduate from high school. Meanwhile, Brooke makes her own impact on others without realizing it, in both positive and negative ways. This book describes New York City in a fun, refreshing manner, as if the reader had her own personal tour guide. Rather than focusing on the famous sights, So Much Closer points out the special aspects in different neighborhoods of the city that the locals enjoy, such as the High Line, quirky coffee shops, classic cobblestone New York streets, movies in the park, and a Zen garden. The city energy is present in the novel, and it's easy to understand why Brooke's move to New York is helping her come into her own. This would be a great book to read in August, right before a new school year begins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2