BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

So Much Closer

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

I loves this book. I thought that it was very ebntertaining and it had a good plot. It was not my favorite book she has writen but it was really good!

posted by KK7L1 on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Hobbitsies Reviews: Quick, fun book with a psycho stalker main character

Alright. Let me just say this straight up - So Much Closer has a very, very creepy premise. Like, crazy psycho main character premise. But it's supposed to be in a light-hearted way, I guess.

And Brooke certainly follows through with the crazy. I mean, this girl is a...
Alright. Let me just say this straight up - So Much Closer has a very, very creepy premise. Like, crazy psycho main character premise. But it's supposed to be in a light-hearted way, I guess.

And Brooke certainly follows through with the crazy. I mean, this girl is a STALKER. What high school girl moves to a whole new city to follow a guy she's spoken to ONCE in two years? A STALKER, that's what kind of girl. And the weirdest thing was - nobody batted an eye. No one commented on how creepy or psycho she was!

And even though I was so creeped out and annoyed with Brooke for being a stalker, I could not put So Much Closer down! I just flew through it over the course of one day.

Brooke - she annoyed me, clearly. I mean, she definitely had some issues from her messed up home-life. And she was angry and bitter and freaking nutso. But she kind of grew on me? And I really, really liked the characters of John and Sadie, and their stories. I never understood the appeal of Scott or Brooke's friends from New Jersey.

There was a lot of message pushing at the end - do your homework, go to college, make good decisions, etc. which grated on my nerves a bit, but I definitely glad Brooke was finally starting to figure everything out.

Overall, I did enjoy So Much Closer. It was a fun and quick read. But I will tell you - if I ever met Brooke, I might have slapped some sense into her. If you're looking for a light contemporary with WTFs and giggles aplenty, be sure to check out So Much Closer.

posted by hobbitsies on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Great Book

    I loves this book. I thought that it was very ebntertaining and it had a good plot. It was not my favorite book she has writen but it was really good!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazed(:

    Anyone who doesnt like crappy books- buy this. This is beyond amazing, as are all books from susane.(:<3

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    D

    I love this book and have read most of this authors books and loved each one so you should ignore all the other reviews because those people are stupid and probley loney and single losers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    FAVORITE BOOK EVER

    I got this book for a project in honors english. I usually hate reading, but last night i could not put tis book down! I very strongly recomend this book, especially because i read it in one night!!! I love this book, and I'm sure you will too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quick, fun read! I loved this book and couldn't put it down. The

    Quick, fun read! I loved this book and couldn't put it down. The writing is swift and easy and the characters and story just pull you in. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Great!!!

    This is for all the teens out there who love much romance, an unexpected ending, and finding who you are (with the help of new friends and family.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Awesome, 1 day read!!

    I found this book amazing. I think that I liked it so much because I actually found myself like Brooke. As I was reading the book, I became frustrated with Brooke she was ruining the whole thing!! She was becoming infatucated with Scott.. she became so paranoid that she runined it all. Although I think it was one of the best books I've ever read, Susane Colasanti

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Hi o

    Looks very intresting my friend hates books but shes reread this book at least 10 times in one day no joke. Brooke looks like a stalker but its cute that shes following her crush

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Amazing

    I though this book just pulls you in and holds you there. This book is ment for teens because it has some real lofe situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Kaela Question

    How many pages are in this book???????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    Truly Inspired me! I loved this book. It taught me a lot of abou

    Truly Inspired me!
    I loved this book. It taught me a lot of about following your heart, dream BIG, believe in yourself, that there IS a such as second chances, and that sometimes, when so focused on other things, that at the time you think are SO crucially important, you miss the little things around you. You're blinded by what your so focused on, but when you're least expecting it, Love happens. You finally find yourself; who you want to be, what you want to achieve. The story is beautiful, extremely well-written, and I loved it. I can actually say that THIS book has enlightened me, make me want to achieve my goals, become a better person, reinvent myself, and SO MUCH MORE. This book taught me that life is beautiful. They are so many things around you, that you miss COMPLETELY, but if you just stop and observe, you'll be mind blown at what you finally notice.

    &quot;Follow your heart . . . no matter where it takes you.&quot; and remeber to &quot;Always Look Up&quot;. I hope everyone enjoyed this book, as much as I did :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Not what u think

    Shes not all that stalkerish like ya she moved for a guy and everything but she knew he had to go deep in her heart for a total different reason: to uncover herself. Its her knowing of wjere her life is going. I think its realy inspiring and sweet totally worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    My favorite author!!!

    Im totally in love with every single one of susane colasanti's books! Each one is so relatable and real but in an insanely creative way. This one is no different. If you are between the ages of 12 and 18 and you need a new set of books to read, susane colasanti writes amazing books. The only one i havent read yet is "Keep Holding On". Susane if your reading this, please write more books!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Awesome

    Im only on chapter 8 and it is really good i would recomend thid for the ages of 11-any age after

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    AEESOME!!!!

    I liked this book. Yes it was predictsble, but still it really good. Ans sweet. The author is amazing. So stop being haters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Read this book

    I could not put it down! Really good book! Each character is developed pretty well and i have a soft spot in my heart for john dalton!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Yes!

    This is one of my favorite books by her. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    I dont know what people are talking about! i thought this book w

    I dont know what people are talking about!
    i thought this book was super amazing! absolutely loved it!!!
    I could also relate to the character a lot though, like in almost every way.
    that may have played a part in it.
    i still HIGHLY recommended this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's a story about finding out that the things you want aren't always the best for you.

    Sometimes Brooke just knows things, partly thanks to her excellent memory. But sometimes she just knows for reasons that have nothing to do with that.

    That's the way it is with Scott Abrams. Brooke is certain that they are meant to be together. The only problem is Scott doesn't know it yet. And also that he doesn't really know Brooke. His moving away to New York City the summer before senior year doesn't really help either.

    It's risky and kind of crazy, but Brooke knows that this is her chance. She can follow him, she can tell him they're meant to be together. It's her last chance. It has to work.

    New York isn't what Brooke expected and neither is Scott Abrams or any of the people she meets at her new school. Brooke moved to New York City for Scott Abrams. Will she wind up staying for herself in So Much Closer (2011) by Susane Colasanti?

    So Much Closer is Colasanti's fifth novel and her own personal ode to the city that never sleeps.

    This is a story about a girl who pinned all of her hopes on a boy and has to figure out what to do when that boy might not be the right one. It's a story about New York City. It's a story about finding out that the things you want aren't always the best for you.

    There are a lot of romances out there and a lot of books about New York City. Colasanti looks at both with fresh eyes to create a story that is as vibrant and as vivid as its setting. So Much Closer is a splendid book filled with quirky characters, an evocative story, and writing that is funny, sharp and absorbing.

    Possible Pairings: The Secret Life of Prince Charming by Deb Caletti, Dash and Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson, What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen, Moonglass by Jessi Kirby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    So Much Closer

    I think this book was totally awesome:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3