Customer Reviews for

So Much It Hurts

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Holy hell! I was a crying mess at the end of this one! You know

    Holy hell! I was a crying mess at the end of this one! You know those books that touch you so deeply and leave you crying at the end? The bittersweet ones where you know how real the end is and how honest yet it leaves you aching for a glimpse into an epilogue that is 10 years later and makes your 'what if?' dreams come true? Well, So Much It Hurts was one of those books for me. I am still emotional days after reading it!

    Melanie Dawn's debut novel was one that once I started reading was immediately consumed by it and couldn't put it down. It starts out with Kaitlyn and Michael who are married with a young son. Their relationship is one that seems more of convenience than love. Kaitlyn heads out on a girls' weekend with some of her other married friends, only to run into Chris King, a man from her past and one that never quite left her heart.

    Connecting with Chris brings up all of their history for Kaitlyn. The story flips back to the past to when they meet and become forever part of each others' lives. We also meet Trevor, the douche bag high school boyfriend. My heart hurt for Kaitlyn and what she dealt with at his hands! I wanted to personally kick the crap out of him! I could feel the internal conflict and guilt that Kaitlyn felt and how she believed she didn't have a choice; that she needed to do what was expected but not necessarily what she wanted. It irritated me and made me want to shake her, but I can only imagine how helpless she felt. And then the moments with Chris! Wow - I was instantly connected with him and his sexy self! I loved the sweet, tender moments between him and Kaitlyn. Chris was everything Trevor was not, even if Chris wasn't from 'the right crowd'.

    The story then moves back to the present and girls' weekend. Choices are made, consequences abound. People are hurt. Bonds are questioned. More choices are made and accepted. No spoilers here, though, so I'll leave it at that. I really feel that Melanie Dawn did a phenomenal job of capturing how difficult life choices can be and how we handle the consequences. I think the part that was the hardest for me at the end was that I felt Kaitlyn was again doing what was expected. Did she really learn from her past or was she repeating the same patterns in a slightly different way?

    In the end, I highly recommend this book! It brought on some ugly crying for me, so be prepared! Oh, and Melanie Dawn...PLEASE, I beg of you...please give us a 10 or 15 years later epilogue!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Mixed feelings

    I absolutely loved the way this book was written. I cried at times because i could feel it. I really didnt like the way it ended and i'm hoping there's another book to come. I would have given it five stars had it ended better.... a sequel could give it another star from me :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    As a frequent indulger of escapist romance novels, I was in for

    As a frequent indulger of escapist romance novels, I was in for a pleasant surprise with Melanie Dawn's first book. It defies the typical formula and raises awareness of important issues while captivating the reader. Anyone who survived high school can relate to Kaitlyn's character, and the struggles she lives through make the reader sympathetic when Chris re-enters her life years later. Dawn accurately portrays the challenges of marriage and parenthood and the power of first love. There were surprises throughout the book, and despite one's own moral compass, at the end of the book you feel at peace and that the ending was perfect. A must read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a pretty good book. There is a lot to deal with in here.

    This is a pretty good book. There is a lot to deal with in here. Kaitlyn goes on her girl weekend and is feeling very low in life. She is unhappy and feels like she is not connected with her husband anymore. There is a lot of uncertainty in her life and I can see why and how she ended up where she did. I do like that a lot her book is flashback. You get to see her past and it was horrible. I think that a lot people will think there is no way that could happen and why didn't anyone do or say anything but in small towns (maybe bigger towns too...I don't know...I went to school in a small football town) Kaitlyn's life could have been a true story. I mean the way Chris handled things when he realized what was going on was wrong but since he was a kid too I think that he did the best that he could. He tried to take care of and protect Kaitlyn as much as he could. The way this book ended was a little bit crazy and I think I am going to read the next book just to see what happens with Chris.


    I am giving this book 4 out of 5 stars. I think there are a lot of people that will love this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Hated it

    What a depressing book, kept hoping something good would happen for Chris and Kaitlyn, the Husband should have been killed off so Chris and Kaitlyn, with their 2 sons lived HEA!!!!!! I was not Blessed with children so I don't read books with children involved so I feel the decision that was made about Ethan was so wrong!!!!! Not going to read the next book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    Melanie Dawn surprised me with So Much It Hurts. We start out wi

    Melanie Dawn surprised me with So Much It Hurts. We start out with Kaitlyn and her girlfriends enjoying a fun weekend away from the daily responsibilities. Kaitlyn is at a point in her life where she feels taken for granted, something that seemed very real since many Mom's face this daily. What she didn't expect is to see someone from her high school years that had a major impact on her life and was probably her first real love, Chris. From here we step back in time and find out how Chris truly impacted her life. I don't want to say too much, you need to experience this for yourself as you step into Kaitlyn's life. Boundaries do get pushed and mistakes are made, how this will impact Kaitlyn and her family is raw, real and smacks you in the gut. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    A MUST-READ

    Such a well written book. Pulls at so many emotions! Love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Great read

    Really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    the book was good ,sad hopefully there will another book coming

    the book was good ,sad hopefully there will another book coming out soon !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    hmm..

    loved it. great flow. great read. i wasnt sure wat to expect in the ending but when i got there...i was a little disappointed. i wanted more to what was given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    .

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book, once I started I couldn't put ot down. I hope there will be a second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Recommend.

    Ouch. The conclusion is painful and will definitely stay with me. The storyline seemed a little rushed to me, I wanted to feel more deeply about the situation and characters. Very different story than what I'm use to reading about, creative in some ways, very predictable in others. That last line.... and the implications. I was going to give this story 3 stars as I was reading it but, that ending changed my mind. Granted I wasn't happy about the ending but, boy, did it make me feel! I recommend this book.
    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Great book

    This book was so great, i read it when it first came out and read it againand loved it again. It will have u laughing, crying, and so shocked. Great book loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Very good

    This story had me in tears! It was a beautiful and very realistic story! This book is something alot of people can relate to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    My thought

    Loved this book very much. But the last part of the book was not my style. I would like to see more written to tie this book up one day. Characters were great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    I loved this book. I read a lot and this was different. I still

    I loved this book. I read a lot and this was different. I still can't decide if I like the ending, but it makes you wonder about the choices people make and how they live with them.

    Great debut book by Melanie Dawn. I would definitely read her next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    This book was AMAZING!! LOVED IT!!! I couldn't put it down. Had

    This book was AMAZING!! LOVED IT!!! I couldn't put it down. Had me crying through the whole thing. This is one of those books that stays
    with for days after you've finished. Can't wait to more of Melanie's books. This is a must read well worth the money!!!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Incredible

    Im so glad i picked this book to read. Whata beatiful love story. To have this in a lifetime is both a curse and a blessing. So many intense emotions, i cried,tears streaming down my face. Im with other readers..i hope this isnt the end of their story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Absolutely LOVED this book!! I read it the day after it came ou

    Absolutely LOVED this book!! I read it the day after it came out, and it is still on my mind!! I can't wait to read Melanie's next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3