BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

So Not Happening

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Is this girl trouble or what?

    I loved this book. I have actually read it more than once! This book takes you through all the emotions: laughing, crying, tension, nail-biting, confusion, frustration, love, can't believe it, and more laughing. I am in love with the main boy Luke. This is a great book for teen girls and young at heart ladies and everyone in between and outside this description. Read this, then go read Jenny's other books! I have loved them all!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book With Take Home Value

    Jenny B. Jones characters are people you enjoy spending time with. Even the spoiled little rich girl who learns how to cope with her new life and doesn't die. How many of us are thrown out of our comfort zone? This hilarious book makes me stop and think about serious things. I like that in a book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This story has everything I love in fiction!

    Jenny B. Jones is the queen of all things funny. So Not Happening has it all. Romance, intrigue, humor, mystery, yummy kisses, hilarious and memorable moments, etc. The author's unusual way of phrasing things is always original and the character's internal dialog is often downright hysterical (like one character's thoughts about the mixture of pills they are forced to take.) I've learned to read Jenny's books in the privacy of my own home to avoid potential embarrassment in public.

    Yet, the author has her serious moments, too. While dealt with in a light-hearted manner, the issues her characters encounter are not easy. On a stress scale from one to ten Bella ranks about a twenty in this story. When things get bad the author turn it up another notch and increases the pressure. She had me squirming with the suspense element, too. The plot was very strong and the tension kept building.

    The subtle attraction between Bella and several other characters made me smile, too. I loved the way the author drew her characters together in a romantic sense. That undercover stuff was especially delicious in one particular scene. It's hard not to impart a spoiler here because I want to tell you what I loved so much about that scene, but I'll refrain. There were so many great things that happened in this book. I just don't want to share them and ruin your fun. I am desperately wanting to read the next installment.

    Bottom line...I'm hooked on this series and I've only just started it. Not only is this book making my best fiction of 2009 list, it's also presently my favorite Jenny B. Jones story. I didn't think anything could top her other YA series with the psycho grandma, but she did it with this book.

    I highly recommend anything this author writes because there is always a solid message underlying the story that inspires me. The author knows human behavior and her characterization is flawless. She's the best author in the CBA when it comes to developing likeable, unique, quirky characters who are memorable, and yet very real at the same time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I love this book

    This book was the first teen book ive ever read! Its amazing how everything happens......in the third book i can really relate ro Bella and her relationship with her real dad...a really good read i recomend it :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Washington Wildcat

    One of the best books ever!!!>:^)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Close

    I live soo close to okalohoma this is such a goid book btw¿¿¿¿¿¿¿

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Best book ever

    This book is superb. I have read it like 5000 times!!! It keeps u hooked and the whole series is great. If u like these u will like the katy parker series too

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Love this book

    Read this like five times. a hilarius book. really well written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    best book ever

    i just finished reading this book and i cannot express in words how wonderful and interesting it is. a total page turner BUY THIS BOOK NOW!!!!!!you wont regret it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Great!!! ;)

    I got this book at Lifeway Christisn Bookstore and i didnt know if I would like it but it was amazing!! it has a great meaning!!! I would definatly recomend it to any teen girll!! It doesnt cuss any in this book which made me smile!!! :) Overall great book!! :) Jesus loves you:):):)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Adjusting to change.

    So Not Happening is about change. Bella is the lead character. She lived a life that most teens only dream of, a private school, her own credit card and Broadway plays. After her parents' divorce she is forced to follow her mother to rural Oklahoma. Her mother fell in love and married a factory worker that lived on a farm with his two children. Bella found it hard to adjust and plotted to destroy the family so she could move back to New York.

    So Not Happening will appeal to tweens, teens and adults. There were several scenes that had me laughing and a few that had me crying. I became very attached to the characters and didn't want the book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    So worth the read

    So Not Happening possesses every characteristic I've come to love in Jenny B. Jones's books-an effortless flow that keeps me turning pages, a wit that makes me laugh out loud, and wonderful, cringe-worthy catastrophes that make me both wince and chuckle.

    At the start of So Not Happening, I was so not sure how I'd like spending 326 pages with Bella Kirkwood. The girl's a snob and needs some serious work. But within the first chapter, Jones had me rooting for her. Watching Bella's transformation from local pariah to local hero was a delight, and I'm counting the days until book two releases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    An amazing read!

    I adore this book! It is a perfect mix of: teen drama, mystery, romance, faith, comedy, and hilarity. I laughed the whole time! Jones is an author who can make you live the story right along with the characters, throw twists and turns that you never see coming, and make you learn a lesson even when you don't realize you are learning anything-besides how long it takes to literally laugh your head off. I hope you read this book, because I'm pretty sure you would love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's SO Happening!

    Hat of to Jenny B. Jones for a great start to a new series! I don't typically enjoy reading YA but after reading the Katie Parker series I knew I had to give this a shot and I LOVED it! What a fun, exciting, emotional and realistic story. I am looking forward to find out what Bella does next in the little town of Truman - just wish I didn't have to wait until November.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    Awesome book!

    I loved the style of the writing. It was very fun and humorous to read. I ecspecially loved the characters. They were well developed, and I felt like I could relate to all of the on some level. Luke was definitely my favorite.
    The story was good. I really had no idea what the football players were up to, so I was never bored reading it! Overall it was a really fun well written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jones' new series had me laughing out loud

    Review by Jill Williamson

    Bella Kirkwood's mother is getting remarried, whether Bella likes it or not. But that's not the worst thing that could happen to this Manhattan girl. Bella's new stepfather lives in Truman, Oklahoma, and, since Bella's dad is going through a selfish phase, she has no choice to move from her fast-paced uptown life to Cow Town, USA.

    Bella start out okay, but a harsh venting session about small town life on her old Ask Miss Hillard blog gets the wrong kind of attention: the Truman kind. She quickly becomes a social outcast in Truman and must start over if she is going to survive at all. She joins the school paper. While sitting in a dumpster on the lowest assignment ever, she overhears something more rotten than the banana peel stuck to her arm: a real story!

    This could be Bella's chance to move from social outcast to acceptable human being. She chases the story of a lifetime, despite the fact that her super hot-but extremely bossy and annoying-editor tells her it's too dangerous. But as usual, Bella gets more than she bargained for.

    Having absolutely loved the Katie Parker books, I was not at all surprised that Jenny B. Jones' new series would have me laughing out loud. Jones has a knack for wonderfully sarcastic characters and books you can't put down. Her characters are true to life in the best ways. I highly recommend this new series and am anxiously awaiting Bella's next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved reading So Not Happening!!!

    After reading the Katie Parker Production series, I knew that I would love anything that Jenny B. Jones wrote and I was satisfied again when I recently read her latest book, So Not Happening. This book has the witty, funny humor that seriously made me laugh out loud but it also had a mystery/dramatic twist to it that I really enjoyed.

    Jenny B. Jones writes humorous fiction novels for young adults that are fun and easy to read! It's great to finally find an author that can write about spiritual journeys in a relevant, modern way! I highly recommend this book to any teenagers or young adults! I can't wait to read the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious Prose

    So Not Happening totally happens. I spent a day reading and laughing myself silly with my eighteen-year-old looking daggers at me, making me shut up till she could get her mitts on Jones' fourth outing. The book was so captivating, I took it with me to friends' and finished reading it over pizza. My rudeness is so the fault of Jenny B. Jones' hilarious prose. I refused to give the book up until I went back and reread my favorite parts-like the kiss-while my daughter stood by tapping her foot.

    Lest you think So Not Happening only appeals to women old enough to have eighteen-year-olds, my daughter devoured the book in one day-guffawing all the way. The opinion of two generations at my house is that we so, so adore Bella's romance. The love interest has brains, brawn, and Jesus. What more could a girl want? Seriously.

    Bella is lands on an Oklahoma cow patty with a new step father in lycra, a loathing step brother and a high school that turns on her in twenty-four hours. She copes through sarcasm that is both laugh-out-loud funny and full of angst. So Not Happening's rapid-fire pace and well-conceived plot knock Jones' novel out of the park, making her four for four.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Teen Must Read!

    So Not Happening is a must read for all you pre-teen to teen age girls out there! You will totally be able to connect with Bella, the star of the story. She's funny, full of mischief, has great fashion sense, and doesn't adjust very well to change! You will laugh, and if you're a cat lover, you may shed a tear! I teach 5th graders and they LOVE it, but I also know high schoolers and even grown ups who just couldn't put the book down! Get your copy from B & N today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hello Bella Kirkwood!

    What do you get when you take Paris Hilton, marry her mom to a small town Oklahoma farmer with a secret regarding spandex, one step brother that is a brilliant, 6 year old, wannabe super hero and another step brother who drives a hearse to school. Mix in some mysterious deaths, some friend issues and the downside of blogging and what do you have? You have Bella Kirkwood, Jenny B. Jones' newest heroine and you have a hit!

    I loved this book! I ate it up and can not wait until the next book comes out. This is listed as a YA book and is wonderful for that, but lest you think it is not for adults, let me settle that issue right now - if you love a little humor mixed in with your mystery, drama and comedy then you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2