BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

So Over My Head

Average Rating 5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So Over My Head -- Great Read!

    Jenny B. Jones ends The Charmed Life trilogy with another book that is IMPOSSIBLE to put down. Out of necessity (well, and a huge love of good fiction) I read dozens of books to present to fellow educators during summer in-service trainings. I also chat them to students during the school year. After introducing any Jone's book, it flies off the shelf - and stays off the shelf. I've learned to buy multiple copies because teens get a littllllle cross when they have to wait on a hot title.

    So Over My Head begins with a murder of Betty-the-Bearded-lady and ends with a surprise ending that will have your jaw dropping. Like Bella, none of us ... adult or teen, has just one problem to deal with at a time. In this true-to-life tale, Bella is faced with decisions that will have her turning to her family, her friends and most importantly God. It's a good, strong snapshot of what real Christian kids do and how they handle awkward, difficult and sometimes dangerous situations. In this story, Bella's faced with a conniving rival who wants her Luke, a step-father's absence from the family and her real father's upcoming marriange to a mysterious woman who has a secret agenda. In the midst of it all, Bella shines - as does Jones with her remarkable ability to tell a great story.

    The witty dialogue is pure genius and you'll find each character has his or her own charm - even Ashley, the snarky little ex-girlfriend who keeps popping up at the most inopportune times. Red and Stewart, well, they are the perfect bad guys. Like me, you may find yourself booing and hissing at them when no one is nearby to hear you.

    Whether you're a young adult or simply a fan of YA fiction, you'll love the story of Bella Kirkwood and her friends. Personally, I adored Ruthie, side-kick extraordinaire. I wish Ms. Jones next book would be The Side-Kick's How-To Book. Best-seller list? You betcha! Just like the rest of her books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    SO OVER MY HEAD...that's exactly where Bella Kirkwood finds herself in the third CHARMED LIFE novel.

    Before the story even gets going, Bella stumbles across a dead body. For those who have read either of the previous two books in the series, you will know that bad luck has a way of finding Bella. And Bella is the kind of girl who refuses to let that bad luck get the best of her.

    But not only is there a dead body in her way, now there's a conniving ex-girlfriend of Luke's in the picture. Ashley and her family have moved back to Truman - and Ashley is ready to resume her spot next to Luke.

    So not only is Bella dealing with this, she's watching her new family start to come apart. Her step-father has started his career in professional wrestling, but he's on the road more than he's home. Bella's mother is trying to keep the family together, but is frustrated that Jake isn't around, especially when Bella winds up in trouble again...and again....and again...

    Bella sticks her nose into the murder that has happened at the visiting circus. With her friend, Ruthie, (thank you for giving her a bigger role in this novel!) as her loyal sidekick (though there is much discussion between Bella and Ruthie regarding this said role), the two sign up to be temporary clowns. This gives them pretty much all access to the under workings of the circus to solve the murder. Ever-vigilant Luke is never far behind. He is determined to make Bella realize that she has to trust someone, and that Ashley means nothing to him. Oh, and to also rescue her time and time and time again...

    Ms Jones never disappoints! SO OVER MY HEAD is a great addition to the CHARMED LIFE series. Bella is such a fun and wonderful character. No matter what Bella gets herself into, she remembers that ultimately God is guiding her through the good and the bad. Bella may not always choose the right path in her decisions, but eventually she does what needs to be done. The story may be a bit unbelievable, but I think that's what makes it half the fun. The writing style is quirky and entertaining, and anyone who picks up any of the books in the series will come away feeling just a little bit better about themselves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love me a good Jenny B. Jones book

    Review by Jill Williamson

    Just when we all thought that Bella's life was roses, things start to smell bad. While she's on assignment, covering the circus that's come to town, Bella discovers a dead body. The police make an arrest, but Bella is sure they've got the wrong guy. Then Bella catches her boyfriend kissing his ex! So she focuses on finding the real killer. Only problem, the real killer might be focusing on her!

    Sigh. I love me a good Jenny B. Jones book. Yes I do. Here's another wild tale of Miss Bella Kirkwood and her charmed life. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and I may have had to lock the door just in case there were any deranged circus performers in my neck of the woods. All in all, a completely satisfying end to this series. Nothing left to do but make everyone else read these books while we wait for Jenny B. Jones' next installment of hysterical teen novels. Hope the wait isn't too long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    What this book REALLY is about...

    I woun't give anything away, but basically th main character Bella joins the circus. All the while, sh is trying to solve a mystery- before it's too late! Added to everything else, Bella feels like her crush (Luke) has rejected her for some othe new girl! This is a great read- even if you hven't read the first books. (Although I would read the first before- So not happening and I'm so sure!) ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    I am just going to do this...

    I'm am just going to do this just because i wont this book to get a good review so i also read this book and it is really cool i really wish that more peole would rate this book five stars and not just four .If you rated this four stars why your four stars madd this book only get a four star rating because of two people's stupid four reviews so WHY would you put it four stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Love

    I loved this series and absolutly loved this book. A great way to end to the series!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great Series

    A wonderful tale in three books of a high school junior going from stuck up Manhatten socialite to really knowing what love, family and God is all about. On this journey, Bella is funny, witty and nosey.... The nosiness gets her into tough spots but she solves the mystery! The author writes a good teen mystery with God, prayer, boyfriend stuff and love without ever using a swear word or graphic sex scenes. I recommend this series to all kids between 12 and 18... And if your an adult, jump right in! The books are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    So good!

    I LOVE this series! I finnished them all in a month:D Jenny Jones is gifted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!

    Must read this book! Yull love it ive read it about 4 times now and about to start to read it again........so if you havent read it yet i suggest you read it now so hurry up and buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Plz plz plz plz write more!!!!best series ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    This author is amazing!!!!

    I've continued to read books by Jenny B. Jones and she never lets me down! Her books are a great read! She is an extremely talented writer that keeps me intrigued and laughing out loud! She's in tune with today's teen reader and is super witty! I really enjoyed So Over My Head and will continue to read ANYTHING that she writes!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    A Great Summer Read

    I love how everything Jenny B. Jones writes is bursting with personality. Even the dedications in her books are fun to read.

    It felt like this book had more going on plot-wise than the previous two. Bella was balancing two mysteries, working undercover, dealing with murky family stuff both in Truman and New York, and sorting out her own trust/relationship issues. All these story lines were woven together skillfully. And I thought the "behind the scenes" stuff in this book were really fun. Though I only noticed the asterisks about half the time because of how involved in the story I was.

    And, obviously, it was funny. But I just expect that when I see "Jenny B. Jones" on the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So Over My Head - I Recommend for a just for fun read

    You know you're in for a refreshing treat when you read:
    "Newly single, stalked by a killer, and in desperate need of some chic clown shoes--Bella is one skinny mocha frapp away from total meltdown."

    What a fun book, and yet thought provoking. Not that I recommend this book to make you think too hard, just enough to appreciate the depth of the story beyond the pure fun of it.

    Jenny B. Jones, known as JBJ to her blog fans, has written the third in her series, The Charmed Life with the same energy and chic of the first two, So Not Happening and I'm So Sure.

    I recommend this book for all ages, although teens and young adults will especially appreciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    Better than deep-fried cotton candy at the circus

    What's better than a circus with clowns, a unicycle ballet (a skill I've been meaning to take up), and a bearded lady? Aside from a good waxing (for the bearded lady, of course), nothing! Ms. Jenny B. Jones writes yet another knee-slapping, laugh out loud, hysterical book that is a must, must, must read!

    Our favorite accidental detective, Bella Kirkwood, finds herself in over her head when she stumbles across the dead body of the Fritz Family Carnival's fat (and also bearded) lady. Although another carnival member is arrested, Bella doubts his culpability, and decides to find the real murderer. Even though Bella doubts this man's guilt, there are a few things she doesn't doubt. For one, she's certain Luke's ex-girlfriend's is interested in nothing other than stealing Luke back. Bella also knows her dad's fiancée is up to no good. All she needs now is to prove it!

    Expect nothing short of crazy schemes, a ride on a Ferris wheel, a creeper, and an undercover operation for Bella to bring a murderer to justice, figure out what to do with Luke's ex, and stop her dad's wedding. All in a day's work, right? Bella's friends and family are a whole cast of characters, and I love Ruthie (a kooky, crack-up), her stepbrother Budge (who works at the Weiner Palace-that alone is hilarious), her step-dad's crazy wrestler friends, and a 13-year-old trapeze artist. If you've read books one and two, book three is a requirement. And if you have yet to pick up a book by Ms. Jones, definitely check this series out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Uber funny and overall, awesome!!

    Wow. This series completer was absolutely outstanding! Here's a brief summary: Bella Kirkwood's life seems to be royally flushed. Her father is about to get married to a horrible woman and, worst,he hardly remembers who she is anymore. On top of that, Bella's natural reporter's instincts kick into overdrive when a murder takes place at the big top that's currently performing in Truman, Oklahoma, and Bella is, as usual, just the sleuth to crack the case. Take that and add it to the sudden appearance of Luke Sullivan's ex-girlfriend Ashley...and her life has definitely been thrown into a whirlwind.
    This book-actually all of the books in the Charmed Life series-is so funny, I laughed on almost every other sentence. : ) Jenny B Jones is one of my favorite authors, and I loved the new characters, the suspense, the twists and turns that the story gives. I also loved how Bella's love for God grew yet again in this installment. She finally realizes that no matter the present circumstances, she can trust in Him.and in the great people He has placed in her life.
    You will love reading this page-turning, suspenseful book. I definitely did. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    A Great Finish to the Series!

    The third book in "A Charmed Life" series, So Over My Head packs in a bearded lady, murder, parent troubles, and romance with humor and fun. A satisfying conclusion to the series, but can it be read as a stand alone. However, just for fun read all 3 books because I guarantee you won't regret it! It's perfect for the teen in your life, or for yourself if you love a quirky blend of humor, mystery, and a dash of teen drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Great YA read

    In this latest edition of the Charmed Life series, Jenny B Jones pulls out all the punches. Characters full of..well, character and a plot that keeps twisting that will keep readers turning the pages make this book a don't miss treat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2